We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Market House Restaurant

| The Abbey Hotel, Donegal Town, Ireland
+353 74 972 1014
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good18%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (53 reviews)
“tuna” (4 reviews)
“ribs” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Seafood, European, Healthy, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
| The Abbey Hotel, Donegal Town, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 260 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

This was, by far, the fanciest meal we had while visiting Ireland; and it was well worth the cost. Surf & Turf on the Stone was unique, filling, and quite an experience. This restaurant has nice, linen napkins, gives excellent service, and is right on...More

Thank Clayton H
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The food was really good and the service was very attentive. We experienced a really good dinner: superlative experience the fillet and the fish on the stone!

Thank RoLuSaMaFe
Reviewed 4 days ago

Enjoyed a lovely meal at The Market House recently. Great choice on the menu with an additional menu of seafood specials. Salads, mussels, chowder & scallops for starters were delicious. We all went for steak on the stone as a main. A real showstopper- absolutely...More

Thank HazyBaby1968
Reviewed 5 days ago

Ate here recently with some work mates. We opted for their new Tapas menu as we did not want a full dinner. I have to say it hit the spot, each of us tried something different from the menu and shared out the spoils. The...More

Thank CaroGgDonegal
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having dined in your restaurant loads before was very disappointed this time. I dined in your restaurant last Thursday evening with my husband and son. I was very disappointed that you have no kids menu for kids in your restaurant that when I ordered a...More

1  Thank Dee6114
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself, my partner and our 9 week old baby where staying in the central hotel for three days. It was beautiful, great service and very accommodating to our newborn. We ate here two days and could nor fault the food, it was beautiful and great...More

Thank trisha57615
Elaine M, Director of Sales at Market House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Trisha Having read your review i was quite taken back to read that you felt your baby was not allowed into our Restaurant, i have been speaking with our Hostess and understand that at the time you enterted the restaurant we did not have...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stay locally for the night and decided to try MHR for a meal. We were pleasantly surprised with the hospitality and the standard of service. The food was AWESOME too. We had chowder and scallops for starter followed by Surf and...More

Thank Joseph S
Elaine M, Director of Sales at Market House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Joseph Thank you kindly for your review of your recent dining experience in the Market House Restaurant I would have to agree with you our food is awesome and we give full credit to our wonderful culinary team and staff for making your experience...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had Sunday carvery lunch in the Market House restaurant and was very disappointed with the quality of the food. Really nice décor and great service but unfortunately the food was really poor. Everything was overcooked, there was very little choice of starters and the desserts...More

Thank Pamela2002
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

With excitement was so looking forward to returning to this restaurant when in donegal town. This was our 3rd visit and can only repeat what I said in 2 previous reviews as it was as excellent as before. Wonderful friendly professional Staff, exceptional food( with...More

Thank lizzycath
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our group of four couldn't decide which of the dishes to order off the menu, so we ordered it ALL. Dishes to meet all tastes arrived, calamari, mussels, chicken, cheeses, anti-pasti sharing board was a feast for the eyes. The food was scrumptious with the...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 hotels in Donegal Town
The Central Hotel - Donegal
831 reviews
.01 km away
The Abbey Hotel
869 reviews
.01 km away
Mill Park Hotel
1,083 reviews
.76 km away
Donegal Manor
453 reviews
2.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Chandpur Indian Restaurant
893 reviews
.16 km away
Quay West Restaurant
217 reviews
.19 km away
Aroma Coffee Shop & Mini Bakery
196 reviews
1.44 km away
The Blueberry Tea Room
645 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Donegal Railway Heritage Centre
52 reviews
.38 km away
Famine Graveyard
5 reviews
.79 km away
Magee Clothing
117 reviews
.06 km away
The Reel Inn
361 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Market House Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$34
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | The Abbey Hotel, Donegal Town, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  County Donegal  >  Donegal Town
  • Phone Number: +353 74 972 1014
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Abbey Hotel
Description
The Market House restaurant on the Diamond, Donegal Town, has built up an enviable reputation for quality food at affordable prices. Capitalising on its views overlooking the Diamond’s Iconic Monument, the restaurants interior setting is spacious and traditional with a clever twist of modern décor. The Market House name originated from the old historical Market Hall which was located in the current building. The perfect place to stop and dine along the Wild Atlantic Way. Our guests can dine in our newly refurbished, award winning Market House Steak & Seafood Restaurant where they are treated to a range of high quality menus served with creativity and flair to suit everyone’s needs. Our whole ethos is fresh local produce complimented with a fantastic Wine & Gin Bar Menu All dishes are prepared with the freshest of locally sourced produce and meats. Our speciality seafood comes 'straight off the boat' from the popular fishing village of Killybegs on the Wild Atlantic Way. For guest looking to avail of an early bite, the Market Value Menus is ideal, available from 6.00 pm to 7.00pm daily. Our award winning chef creates an excellent three course menu daily from local sourced fresh produce at a fantastic value. For a more fine dining experience why not try our A La Carte Menu? With so many top quality dishes to choose from, to cater to every taste, you really are spoiled for choice with our this extensive menu. Available daily, the A La Carte menu is most favourable by locals and visitors alike. Our famous Steak on the Stone is a meal experience like no other, consisting of a 100% Irish 8 oz Prime Fillet Steak cooked to your own liking, served with a trio of sauces and a side order of our highly desired twice cooked homemade chips and onion rings. For special occasions, parties or get togethers for groups of 12 or more we offer two set menus - The Deluxe Menu and The Superior Menu. The Food Hall at The Market House is an exciting new dining concept for Lunchtime in Donegal Town incorporating Gourmet Salads from our Healthy Garden, Artisan Breads , Daily Specials, Homemade Soups, Sandwiches, Wraps and Baps and Freda’s Homemade Bakes. Breakfast served from 9am - 11am Daily Specials served from 12 noon - 3pm Light Snacks served from 3pm - 4pm
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing