We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Port House

#209 of 2,000 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
South City Centre
As featured in One Day in Dublin
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
64a South William St | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 1 677 0298
Website
Today
11:30 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 00:00
Mon - Wed 11:30 - 00:00
Thu - Sat 11:30 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 612: English reviews
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A lovely little Restaurant with excellent Tapas, we eat here on every visit to Dublin. Very friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Sandra Q
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great selection of fresh tapas, seafood is brilliant. Staff were very attentive and food and booze kept flowing at just the right pace. Cheese board was great as well as the seafood platter, especially the whitebait.

Helpful?
Thank BosB2017
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your wonderfully positive dining experience with us. We are so pleased you had a great afternoon dining with us and hope to see you again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This tapas restaurant has elevated to my top Tapas in Dublin. The atmosphere is brilliant. Mainly by candlelight (all over the place - like Castle von Dracula). The food is 'to die for' (pardon the pun) and a really great price. Staff are great craic. Go for it

Helpful?
Thank Mick C
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this fantastic review, it was a pleasure to read puns intended or not! We look forward to seeing you again soon where you can work your way through some more of our delicious food menu. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An enjoyable tapas experience - great food and atmosphere. Would recommend the chorizo in wine, patatas mojo and duck and cheese cannelloni. We were disappointed that one of the dishes served to us wasn't heated through. It was dealt with properly and a fresh dish served up to us. Lunch for two with one glass of wine came to €50... More 

Helpful?
Thank Foxredlabrador
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our food and indeed the ambience of our restaurant. We take great pride in offering the most authentic Spanish experience we can possibly deliver to our customers. Some of our dishes are priced higher than others due to their ingredients, we source majority of our ingredients directly from Spain therefore... More 

Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bar is a little unassuming with a couple of glass doors at the front and rustic brick and undressed wood inside. It is also a little cramped. However, the place was heaving, clean and servers going at full tilt to serve the customers. We'd opted for multi mixed Tapas. The choice was excellent, with a full complement of meats,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Are_we_there_yet158
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your dining experience in our restaurant with us. We are thrilled you had such an enjoyable time with us and enjoyed your beers with your tapas too! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again. More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have eaten in this restaurant on a few trips to Dublin and it never disappoints. The selection of tapas dishes is fantastic, with both great meat and vegetarian options. The prices are reasonable with the majority of dishes between 5-6 euros, and 2 or 3 dishes per person is plenty. The deserts are also really good, and not very... More 

Helpful?
Thank SiobhanFox
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review and rating of our restaurant. We are delighted you so thoroughly enjoy dining with us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to our restaurant. More 

County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lunch with my son... waitress terribly rude... asked where a specific dish was twice ...it finally arrived when we had finished eating. The waitress blamed her colleague even though she took the initial order...food bland.... bread with garlic and tomatoes, soggy. Very very disappointing. Restaurant much better in Dundrum

Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is a pity you didn't bring this matter to the attention of the Management on the day to allow us to deal with it instantly. Nonetheless, we are grateful you have brought this to our attention now. We do hope to see you in our restaurant again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely little intimate restaurant (though tables are jammed in, so beware if you are tall), with good tapas, an even-better wine list and lovely service. We ate there twice on a recent business trip. Highly recommended. Though would probably better for an intimate romantic dinner than a business meeting!

Helpful?
Thank skimeld
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for this review and indeed for choosing to dine with us during your business trip. We get lots of people holding business meetings while eating in our opulent surroundings so please do join us again! More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We fell into this restaurant while looking for a place to late-lunch on a Friday. The interior is so lovely, small and dark with candle lights, stone walls lined with bottles of wine - very nice ambiance. I imagine it would be lovely for a romantic date in the evening! The 3 of us ordered tapas from the lunch menu,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pauline D
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic review Pauline. We agree, our €12 lunch deal is fantastic value and indeed very popular. We would love to have you all in for dinner some evening. We don't reservations as we offer a walk in service so please do come along at a time that suits you. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

The food is amazing here. Good portion sizes. Friendly atmosphere. Lovely little place to stop for lunch while exploring the city.

Helpful?
Thank Jemma H
ThePortH0use, Customer Services at The Port House, responded to this review

Thanks for the fantastic review Jemma. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed The Port House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Port House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$11
Cuisine
Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
11:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 00:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 00:00
Thursday
11:30 - 02:00
Friday
11:30 - 02:00
Saturday
11:30 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 64a South William St | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Dublin>  > South City Centre
  • Neighbourhood: South City Centre
  • Phone Number: +353 1 677 0298
Description
Located at 64A South William Street this beautiful and solely candle lit wine cavern has been stripped back to its original features. As a traditional Spanish tapas bar it boasts a fantastic selection of authentic tapas.
The Port House wine menu is varied and full of interesting wines, ports and sherries at a very reasonable price, carefully selected from Spanish and Portuguese regions.
It is the ideal place for one to relax, enjoy some tapas with a glass of wine and soak up the ambiance that makes this spot a must try.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Port House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?