We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bull

Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
04198371396
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (33 reviews)
“wings” (17 reviews)
“fish and chips” (11 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 436 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Really friendly place both staff and locals Great food great Guinness Excellent bar to watch sports Would definitely recommend

Thank mfmmason
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely meal in the black bull, service was quick and food was fabulous, bar was busy but well managed everything was lovely we will definitely be back! Even have restaurant booked for a communion

Thank lisabrowne352
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Lisa Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are delighted that you enjoyed everything and look forward to seeing you and looking after you again for your Communion party. Kind Regards Niamh

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself & my Mam are locals from the Restaurant, we decided we would have a nice dinner here together only to be extremely disappointed. Totally new menu & half of the popular old dishes aren’t on the new menu...for example no garlic mushrooms, no wedges,...More

2  Thank Shayleigh M
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Shayleigh Thank you for taking time to write your review and we always welcome feedback wether it is good or bad. We have recently changed our menu adding new and exciting dishes but keeping the favorite popular dishes. We have listened very carefully to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointing visit . We go here once a month at least for dinner and glass of wine for the last 5 Years. Could not believe re vamp in menu - completely different no regular / popular meals remain. Price has also gone up considerably...More

Thank LisaM046
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Lisa Thank you for your review and we always welcome feedback wether it is good or bad. I am sorry you were dissappointed with your last visit. We serve or Early Bull Menu Mon-Fri from 5pm till 7.30pm just as always. We have added...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for dinner and drinks and apart from the chicken wings the whole meal was very disappointed. My partner ordered the king prawns as a starter, 4 tiny little prawns for €11!!! The steak wasn’t much better, not worth the money at all. Service...More

Thank Frances S
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Frances Thank you for taking time to write your review and we welcome feedback wether it is good or bad. I am sorry to hear you were dissapointed on you last visit to us and if you would like to discuss it further then...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went for Breakfast with a friend. Had been here before but not for a while. It was v empty when we arrived and no Staff in sight. We took a seat and waited. Eventually a staff member arrived and gave us some Menus and disappeared...More

Thank Greekwife10
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Thank you for taking time to write your review and we welcome feedback wether it is good or bad. I am sorry you were dissappointed on your recent visit to us. Normally the morning shift is not the busiest part of the day and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Out last night with friends, menu has been changed, our meal from start to finish was lovely, didn’t have breads or starters. We tried the grilled pizzarettes Fabulous, I had the one with pork and cubed potatoes with rosemary and spinach, reminded me so much...More

Thank LizDoyle1
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Liz Thank you for your amazing review. We are always delighted to recieve such great comments and I will make sure to share it with the team. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind Regards Niamh

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch to try out the new menu food was good but let down by the service and everyone giving out around us. Main course took 50 mins to arrive wasn’t even offered a drink had to go to the bar to get...More

1  Thank Tray52
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tray Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback and we always welcome it whether it is good or bad. I would however like the opportunity to discuss your issues further, if you would like to contact me on 041-9837139. Kind Regards...More

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Had the lunch special at e12 today. Tasty soup followed by main course of chips and fish cakes. Was tasty enough and service was good. Had a coffee to finish so very good value. Great as bar food so for a quick lunch recommended.

Thank 734runnerbrady
Jay E, Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovey comments

Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Went here for lunch today with hubbie and our 2 little ones, we were quite disappointed to be honest.... service was really slow, it took 25 minutes for them to take our food order and that was only after I got up and asked lady...More

Thank jennyaquinn
Jay E, Owner at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jenny Thank you for taking time to write your review, we alsways welcome feedback whether it is good or bad. I am sorry you didnt enjoy your overall experience with us and if you would like to discuss it further then please dont hesitate...More

PreviousNext
12345644
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Drogheda
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
470 reviews
.93 km away
The d Hotel Drogheda
1,307 reviews
1.36 km away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
536 reviews
1.76 km away
Westcourt Hotel
399 reviews
1.90 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Simona Cafe
258 reviews
1.51 km away
Il Ponte
94 reviews
1.36 km away
De Lacy's Steak & Seafood Restaurant Drogheda
261 reviews
1.34 km away
Eastern Seaboard
843 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Laurence Gate
98 reviews
1.56 km away
Monasterboice Monastic Site
240 reviews
.53 km away
Drogheda Museum Millmount
59 reviews
1.53 km away
Highlanes Gallery
35 reviews
1.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
scowley
15 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Tonnahy | Reviewed this property |
Hi Yes it is.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 12:30 AM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 12:30 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dublin Road, Drogheda, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Louth  >  Drogheda
  • Phone Number: 04198371396
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing