We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Bell

) #72 of 334 Restaurants in Harrogate $$ - $$$ , British,
6 Royal Parade, Harrogate HG1 2SZ, England
+44 1423 507930
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good35%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
6 Royal Parade, Harrogate HG1 2SZ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Clean friendly pub that serves 7 cask ales and has a couple of draught ciders too. Wooden floors and seems locals use it so good testament.

Thank Ken C
Reviewed 1 week ago

I took my wife there for Sunday lunch Arrived at around 4-30pm Staff and service fine ; the meal was the worst we have had in Harrogate I have lived here 30yrs, and this was by far the worst ; we could not eat it...More

1  Thank michael c
MarketTownTaverns, Marketing Administrator at The Old Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate all feedback and are disappointed you did not receive the level of service we aim to achieve across our family of pubs. We would like to contact you further regarding this...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had friday night drinks here, all the serving staff were nice and it seemed a friendly old pub , chatted to a couple of old regular gents who offered us a seat at their table, everyone seemed friendly, nice place to visit didnt eat here...More

Thank terrierz
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ignore the rubbish about vegetarians and go here it is a great English proper pub. The barman was charming & knew his stuff about the delicious gin menu & the tasty real ales. We sat next to people who were eating & decided to try...More

Thank steveissy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Since the much debated revamp I came in for the first time to see what all the fuss is about. The refurbishment isn't as bad as I feared and the main bar is light and roomy. Having said that, I share the opinion of some...More

4  Thank johnhouston2
MarketTownTaverns, Marketing Administrator at The Old Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are disappointed you feel that way regarding the refurbishment. When we refurbed the site, we were keen to retain the essential character and history of the pub whilst updating the furnishings and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So dissapointed to be told they have a vegetarian option for Sunday lunch only to be handed a plate of food with Yorkshire pudding, vegetables and mashed potato ... nothing else! This is not a vegetarian option it's just Sunday lunch without any meat and...More

1  Thank Shelagh777
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Old Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate all feedback and are disappointed you did not receive the level of service we aim to achieve across our family of pubs. We would like to contact you further regarding this...More

Reviewed 21 May 2017

Never been in and didn't know served food ,the staff were really helpful and friendly as we ordered two G&Ts we were seated at the back of the right hand room on entering it was very busy loud and male meeting room but once we...More

Thank jolesa
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Have been going to old bell for years. Have not been for a while so it was a nice surprise to see they have done it up, it looks very clean and somehow lighter. The staff are friendly and polite and the drinks, I had...More

Thank Joanne H
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Went back to this pub 12 months on from previous visit. As other reveiwers have indicated standards have slipped a little. The beer was still very good and whilst the choice may have reduced there was still at least 6 cask ales and our party...More

Thank morgd3
HeronBrearleyPubs, Marketing Administrator at The Old Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate all feedback and are disappointed you did not receive the level of service we aim to achieve across our family of pubs. We would like to contact you further regarding this...More

Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

We visited the Old Bell after the Yorkshire Bike Ride so it was very crowded so not able to see the full effects of the refurbishment.We only called in for pre dinner drinks as we had booked a table elsewhere that night. There is a...More

Thank Lyn132
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Quantro Restaurant
820 reviews
.03 km away
The Orchid Restaurant at the Studley Hotel
1,188 reviews
.13 km away
William & Victoria
896 reviews
.14 km away
Jenny's Tea Shop
215 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Valley Gardens
1,612 reviews
.30 km away
Spirit of Harrogate Ltd
98 reviews
.19 km away
The Champagne Concept
135 reviews
.35 km away
Royal Hall Theatre
297 reviews
.26 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
taylorfish
Do they serve food in the evening?
7 November 2016|
Answer
Response from MarketTownTaverns | Property representative |
Hi there we serve food from 6pm - 9.30pm on weekdays and from 5pm - 9.30pm on Fri/Sat but just till 8.30pm on Sun. Many thanks,
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Royal Parade, Harrogate HG1 2SZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 507930
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing