We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fodder Cafe

Great Yorkshire Showground Railway Road | Great Yorkshire Showground, Harrogate HG2 8NZ, England
+44 1423 546111
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“salad” (60 reviews)
“cake” (54 reviews)
“quiche” (22 reviews)
Closed Now
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
$$ - $$$
Great Yorkshire Showground Railway Road | Great Yorkshire Showground, Harrogate HG2 8NZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Called whilst visiting the area , recommended by a friend. Had the cheesie rarebit and not disappointed really nice. Waitress very obliging and helpful. Will return. This cafe also doubles as a Farm Shop with some lovely produce. Certainly worth a look

Thank Hostahousey
Management response:Responded yesterday

Thanks so much for the lovely review, hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We regularly have breakfast here and always find the service and food quality good. Great to have a little shop on the way through too.

Thank Cragrat70
Management response:Responded yesterday

Thanks for been one of our loyal customers, and for enjoying your visits. We will look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago

So maybe it was my fault for ordering a sausage sandwich at 2.30pm but the menu states they are served all day - but I didn't expect to be presented with sausages that had obviously been cooked a very long time ago so were dry...More

Thank royston63
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

We are so sorry to have let you down. Please can you contact us on 01423 546111 – we look forward to hearing from you.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A visit to Harlow Carr and then, at mum's request, lunch here. Contacted prior to see if we could book and politely informed it was queuing and expect a wait. Arrived and joined a queue but seated within ten minutes. Had the Mushroom Wellington with...More

Thank Libby W
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback, much appreciated. Glad to hear you both enjoyed your lunches, coffee and cakes, we hope to see you both again soon in Fodder.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were staying close by and called in here for some shopping and lunch. The lunch we had was excellent - fresh local ingredients and well cooked and presented. You have to wait for tables which is fine as there is a regular ‘turn’ of...More

1  Thank olibot
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

We pride ourselves with our local Yorkshire produce, and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We will look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Promised my teen sons lunch on their training day, we don't live too far from Fodder and enjoyed a walk down. The cafe had a decent queue; eldest teen suggested we eat outside. A bit nippy out there but it made sense. Youngest is gluten...More

Thank MrsGandherboys
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Were glad to here you and your sons enjoyed your visit and experience from Fodder on the Hoof. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic local produce and delightful staff. We had the traditional Sunday Lunch, plenty of succulent meat, full of flavour, served with the best Yorkshire’s in the area, plenty of veg and roast potatoes and very reasonably priced. Very busy when we visited, but soon got...More

Thank Fred196053
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

We pride ourselves with our local Yorkshire produce, and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and Sunday lunch with us. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

£9 for a so called full breakfast poor bacon hard egg and not much of it. Overpriced and overated and why do you have to que when there are empty tables ? Need to get someone in who can organise the place. Wont go backMore

Thank Stuart G
Management response:Responded 2 weeks ago

Dear Phil, thank you for letting us know about your experience with us at breakfast, we apologise that you were disappointed with what you received. We take pride in the quality in our breakfasts using the best local produce available including free range pork sausages...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great Sunday lunch. As a veggie the Mushroom Wellington with all the trimmings was fantastic. The falafel salad was huge, the burger one of my family had looked absolutely succulent whole the carrot soup was also very good. Highly recommend this place!!! The...More

Thank Mark J
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Hi Mark, thanks for your comments, we are pleased you and your family enjoyed your Sunday lunches and we had something on the menu for everyone. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited with friends for lunch. It was incredibly busy, about a 15 minute wait for a table. When we were seated, it was a window seat with a great view. We were offered free samples from the deli whilst queuing. The food was lovely when...More

Thank casabuff13
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit for lunch. We hope you enjoy our shop as much as our cafe on your next visit, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nearby HotelsSee all 28 hotels in Harrogate
Rudding Park Hotel
4,837 reviews
1.14 km away
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel
902 reviews
1.68 km away
Cedar Court Hotel
2,401 reviews
2.15 km away
Travelodge Harrogate West Park Hotel
336 reviews
2.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Horto Restaurant
183 reviews
1.08 km away
Clocktower Bar & Restaurant
1,145 reviews
1.15 km away
Deer House Family Pub
29 reviews
1.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Great Yorkshire Show
58 reviews
.30 km away
Harrogate Climbing Centre
39 reviews
1.55 km away
Pavilions of Harrogate
12 reviews
.27 km away
Rudding Park Spa
170 reviews
1.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
16 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jane T | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Our menu can be found on our website under the café option on the top menu bar. We also have daily seasonal specials. I hope this information helps.
19 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Luigi M | Reviewed this property |
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
9:30 AM - 5:00 PM
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Great Yorkshire Showground Railway Road | Great Yorkshire Showground, Harrogate HG2 8NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Harrogate
  • Phone Number: +44 1423 546111
  • E-mail
Fodder is the home of tasty, local, food based on the Great Yorkshire Showground in Harrogate. Fodder sells the very best food and drink from Yorkshire; with a fully stocked butchery counter, a deli counter laden with fresh pies, pasties and amazing cheese. Fruit and veg straight from the farms and lots of lovely jams and chutneys alongside freshly baked local bread and mouthwatering cakes. Fodder also has a lovely cafe which serves everything from a full Yorkshire Breakfast through to cream teas and an extensive lunch menu. Fodder is run and championed by the Yorkshire Agricultural Society and acts as a shop window for local farmers and producers giving a crucial local market for their produce. The shop is Britain's first charitable food hall with all profits re-invested to benefit the rural community. Fodder is dedicated to delivering the best possible service to its customers. In fact, we have regular mystery shopping reviews to help maintain their high standards of customer care.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Looking for a great restaurant?
Our global travel community is ready to help.
Join TripAdvisor