We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clock Warehouse

) #163 of 469 Restaurants in Derby $$ - $$$ , British,
London Road | Shardlow, Derby DE72 2GL, England
+44 1332 650556
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good29%
  • Average19%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (7 reviews)
“cod” (4 reviews)
“gammon” (3 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
London Road | Shardlow, Derby DE72 2GL, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 96 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

We traveled to the location, and a lovely summers evening. The table was prebooked, and we were welcomed by name when we went to the restaurant area of the pub! The service was friendly and efficient, and the food was delivered fairly quickly.

Thank Chris M
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I live locally and often visit the clock for food. The food is always well cooked and the staff are always friendly. I've not had a bad meal since it reopened and I've had many, many meals there. The only issue is is that I...More

Thank Blondie1992xx
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Very nice place. Decent food, well presented. Lasagne and Steak pie. No wait on arrival, decent service... Job done

Thank jamesPattersonthree
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review and for choosing our restaurant. I'm happy that you enjoyed your visit and I'm looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My grandparents used to bring us here as kids to watch the barges go through the lock. It's a beautiful location and you can sit outside right beside the canal. The inside it's quite large and nicely decorated too. We only went for some afternoon...More

Thank Traveller S
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. I hope your next visit is just around the corner.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice choice of ales and food, only missing Gluten Free options (come on Marstons). Friendly staff and spacious dining areas inside and outside with view of the canal. Was very quiet when I visited but I suspect it gets packed. Will definately visit again.

Thank Ralph B
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We hope to welcome you back to the restaurant in the near future.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This isn't our first visit. We were not impressed the last time, but wanted to give it another chance. The building is lovely, the setting is really nice too. The beer is good and the food isn't bad for the money....BUT.....the service is embarassingly poor....More

Thank DerbyshireBikerbabe
MatthewDeans, Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Sorry to hear your visit wasn't good. The issues are not acceptable and not up to the standard I expect so accept my apologises. I will discuss the issues raised with all the senior team and front of house team to ensure they don't happen...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Burnt rosti and beef pie that was black on the inside - how long does it take to do that? Limited menu with nothing special - just basic stuff. Presentation was good but could play drums in pie top. Not worth visiting for food -...More

Thank Steve H
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your candid feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your visit at The Clock Warehouse was not up to par. Please note that this information has been passed on to our concerned staff. Despite this, we hope to be able to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called here a few weeks ago with our two greyhounds for lunch. Very friendly towards us and the dogs, food was excellent home made burgers delish, staff friendly and attentive, food came quickly and good selection of beers and ciders. Hidden gem! Get yourself listed...More

Thank Alison H
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow! What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate your business and your trust in us. I am very happy to hear that our staff and service met your needs and expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I decided to go for a meal late on Sunday afternoon and this place is local. I had eaten years previously and it was lacklustre with bland food. Not this time. Service was quick, meals were delicious. I had salad with chicken and this was...More

Thank conways516
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and for choosing our restaurant. I'm happy that you enjoyed your visit and I'm looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

visited here on our way back from the national arboretum,national arm forces day.went straight to the part of the restaurant overlooking the canal in the conservatory,was told there was a large part coming in and it was reserved,so the only option was to move to...More

Thank mick m
MatthewDeans, General Manager at The Clock Warehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that our service didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in training our staff. Thank you and look forward to seeing...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Malt Shovel
80 reviews
.45 km away
New Inn
159 reviews
.50 km away
Golden Dragon
109 reviews
.73 km away
Navigation Inn Shardlow
112 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Draycott Tap House
12 reviews
2.97 km away
Elvaston Castle
250 reviews
4.26 km away
Download Rock Festival
59 reviews
4.88 km away
The Chequered Flag
37 reviews
2.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Adam N
4 April 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from MatthewDeans | Property representative |
Hi, yes our restaurant is suitable for disabled and you can book table online on our website or over the phone.
0
Votes
Neil P
13 March 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from MatthewDeans | Property representative |
Hi, no we don't have indoor or outdoor play area.
0
Votes
ANTHONY P
7 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Graeme S | Property representative |
Hello. We do have a range of vegetarian dishes on our menu and can also cater for many food allergies as well. Our steaks start at £10.20 however we do have a special offer that runs Monday to Thursday all day where you can... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$7 - US$20
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:30
Monday
11:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Shardlow, Derby DE72 2GL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Derby
  • Phone Number: +44 1332 650556
  • E-mail
Description
The Clock Warehouse, situated in what is considered to be Britain's most complete surviving example of a canal village, is now open after a major renovation. Visit us and sample our food menu in new surroundings! We offer a wide range of delicious meals from bar snacks, sandwiches and sizzling steaks, through to a full home-made Sunday roast (best accompanied by a pint of one of our ales!). Real Ale and delicious food in a charming pub! We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing