We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1-3 Devizes Road | Old Town, Swindon SN1 4BJ, England
+44 1793 488450
Website
Today
09:30 - 23:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon 17:00 - 23:00
Tue - Thu 11:00 - 23:00
Fri 11:00 - 23:30
Sat 09:30 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

679 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 674: English reviews
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Swindon is not famed for its great restaurants but this gem is one of the exceptions. It is what it says on the tin, a tapas bar. That said it does that well, sit at the bar and have a few drinks and plates of their lovely fresh cooked food or book a table (advisable towards the end of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank KKE130
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

As per usual the welcome from Phil was warm and welcoming. The overall service was excellent. The menu was vast and indeed took a while for the four of us to establish what we wanted across the table. The drinks arrived quickly and food soon followed. The table was full and over flowing - we are ordered too much. However,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely food! So well prepared. Interesting menu plus the daily specials. Very busy with a real buzz, all the food is delivered speedily. There is a great wine list too. Not to mention the gins....

Helpful?
Thank y0sieb
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed this tapas restaurant with my husband and family. The food was authentic and the portions generous. The drinks were fab too, gin and tonics served in balloon glasses with lovely garnish. My only critique would be that it was quite hard to get a drink once our food had arrived, the waiter was rushed off his feet. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle_McG86
Swindon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The restaurant was busy, which is always a good sign. The service was faultless, menu provided a wide variety of choices and the quality and quantity of the food were both superb. I will certainly be going back and would recommend a visit to anyone. Good idea to book because of its popularity.

Helpful?
Thank Jinnywren
Swindon
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wide range of tapas dishes in a restaurant with a warm atmosphere. Service is pleasant and the food arrived very quickly. Paid £35 for two of us so not too pricey either. Recommend booking as it is very popular, especially on a Monday night when not a lot else is open in the area in the way of restaurants.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart F
Midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went back to this Tapas bar after several years to see if it had improved from my first visit. Unfortunately it had not changed. When I entered the bar I was not greeted with a smile, but a frown. The owner seemed pre-occupied and he definitely displayed some attitude and when customers asked any questions, he seemed defensive. After... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank SeanBean1
Phil S, Owner at Los Gatos, responded to this review

Well, perhaps it was good of you to give us another chance after writing your first review of Los Gatos almost 5 years ago, when you also complained you were hungry and went off to sate yourself with KFC. However, against all your hopes, we haven't changed. We're still a Tapas Bar. Perhaps you should take your own advice and... More 

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A good menu and a specials board to choose from: spoilt for choice! A quite memorable lunch; the only downside was that it was rather noisy.

Helpful?
Thank Roger W
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend turned up on a Tuesday evening around half six without a booking. We were VERY lucky as there was only one table which wasn't reserved. If you're going during the week I'd recommend booking as Los Gatos is very small. I believe you can't book on a Friday or Saturday night though. We were welcomed with a smile... More 

Helpful?
Thank sootica6
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went with a bunch of friends and the staff weren't friendly and could do nothing to meet our simple requests. Food was good though. Over half of our party agreed the staff were rude. Very disappointing

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
Phil S, Owner at Los Gatos, responded to this review

This experience is so unusual for us that we'd very much like to know more. Please do contact me directly by phone or email and let me know when you were here and what went wrong, so that I can make sure it doesn't happen again. Best wishes, Phil More 

Travellers who viewed Los Gatos also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$31
Cuisine
Mediterranean, Spanish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
17:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
09:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1-3 Devizes Road | Old Town, Swindon SN1 4BJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Swindon
  • Phone Number: +44 1793 488450
Description
Who we are: We are a Spanish style TAPAS BAR. Independently owned and run, which relocated to larger premises in October 2014. This means we are a bar that serves tapas, not a restaurant. Because we are often busy and buzzing, we are not the ideal place for a quiet romantic night out, but we offer a warm welcome to all our and aim to restore you, whether you're in need of food, drink or company. What we do: All our food is prepared here from fresh, locally sourced or imported Spanish ingredients. Our extensive hot and cold tapas menu changes regularly and we list 6-8 daily specials. We have a range of Spanish wines, sherries, beers and spirits. We have some tables in the bar, which can be booked (max 8 people) at lunchtimes or evenings, except Friday and Saturday evenings, when it's first come, first served. Closed Monday lunchtime only, open 6 lunchtimes and 7 nights a week. On Sunday lunchtimes, we serve paella, as is the tradition in Spain, with a choice of mixed, seafood or vegetarian paellas. Advance booking for paella is essential.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Los Gatos and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Los Gatos staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?