We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillside Inn

$$ - $$$, British,
Pound Hill Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
+44 1293 880911
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good38%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (28 reviews)
“pudding” (20 reviews)
“calamari” (7 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Pound Hill Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok this place is pretty amazing. The staff make u feel very welcome and have never let us down. And if you are looking for food that is delicious then this is the place , the food is amazing. It's a cozy welcoming place with...More

Thank Kelly O
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a late lunch there . A reasonable choice. Dog friendly. Parking does get rather full and it is very popular in the summer months

Thank Ros W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very average food, not bad but also nothing noteworthy. Ordered a flat white got given an americano. Ordered the chicken BLT with skin on fries and was surprised at the very small piece of chicken in the sandwich. The ciabatta roll really should have been...More

Thank brightonbelle2015
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really love the hillside, meet there regularly with the girls for lunch. We are always made to feel welcome & greeted with a genuine smile. Love the introduction of pie Wednesday & vegan menu. Service was excellent as always & was seated at are usual...More

Thank DQBY
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First things first it would have been a 5 star review but everytime I go there always out of something and I think there should be more waiters or waitresses on site espically in the evenings... The food is very good I've been after the...More

Thank Jessica D
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We went to the hillside 5pm on Saturday night, all booked online with no issues, our waitress Carly was friendly and attentive without being over powering, the food was nice and hot and came out very promptly, the roaring fires made a lovely ambiance, added...More

Thank Jody M
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Jody, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us this feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the food and received great service from Carly!

Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Hi We had a very nice meal last night but somethings were missing. Your steak menu clearly state chips, onion rings and thyme roasted tomato. We ended up with just chips , no onion rings and 3 baby vine tomatoes which were not oven roasted....More

Thank Kevin R
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Kevin, thank you; we appreciate your feedback! We will do our best to make sur eguests receivs the meals as described on a menu with no missing items. Thank you for taking time to leave the feedback, it helps us to improve the quality...More

Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Have been to the Hillside many many times mainly as pre theatre meal but have to say it wasn’t quite at its best on this occasion. Had booked a table for tues at 5.30pm and when we arrived we were just left waiting and person...More

1  Thank Valerie C
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Valerie, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. On Tuesday afternoon we have just one waiter serving our guests because usually its quieter time of the day, But on the particular day it...More

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Went in for lunch and man behind bar really could be bothered to serve me he cleaned the the coffee machine without acknowledging me then grunted ‘what you want’ I ordered my drinks and food when I said sorry to disturb you he said ‘you...More

Thank Roger J
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Hi Roger, we can assure you that we do not find this type of behavior acceptable, and we would like to address the situation you have described. Every guest who comes in to our pub is a very valued customer to us and I am...More

Reviewed 15 January 2018

I went to the Hillside Inn with my Fiancé for my birthday. We booked on the day at about 17:30 for a table at 19:00. There were no issues with booking and when we arrived they were aware of our reservation. The system works! We...More

Thank Jackie M
General Manager A, Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Hi Jackie, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Hillside Inn. We're happy we could meet your expectations! Big Thank You from Hillside Inn!

Nearby HotelsSee all 28 hotels in Crawley
Holiday Inn London Gatwick Worth
1,262 reviews
.86 km away
Regency Hotel Gatwick
185 reviews
1.46 km away
Europa Gatwick Hotel
2,955 reviews
1.48 km away
Sandman Signature London Gatwick Hotel
1,909 reviews
1.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Real Barbecue and Bar
226 reviews
1.07 km away
Coaching Halt
679 reviews
1.25 km away
Kims Kitchen
29 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tilgate Park
1,032 reviews
3.39 km away
The Hawth
184 reviews
2.04 km away
Crawley Memorial Gardens
109 reviews
2.32 km away
Worth Park
34 reviews
.85 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
14 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Gill R | Reviewed this property |
You can definatley walk probably 15 to 20 minutes. Will ve well worth it. Portions are large so always good to wslk it off, enjoy
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pound Hill Balcombe Road, Crawley RH10 7SX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Crawley
  • Phone Number: +44 1293 880911
The Hillside Inn in Crawley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing