We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lime Leaf

25/25A London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
+44 1256 355272
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good32%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“thai food” (52 reviews)
“weeping tiger” (17 reviews)
“prawn tempura” (6 reviews)
Open Now
5:30 PM - 10:15 PM Hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
25/25A London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I’ve become a regular Lime Leaf visitor since moving to Basingstoke and its by far the best restaurant in town. Basingstoke is unfortunately full of chain restaurants which lack individuality. The Lime Leaf serve authentic Thai food in a lovely atmosphere with fantastic staff. I...More

Thank SoCo25
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Many thanks for this review. It's good to know we are your favourite restaurant in Basingstoke.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Have eaten twice at this lovely restaurant. The shared platter, scallops and prawns in a lemongrass / chilli sauce, Duck in Tamarind sauce were excellent. The staff were very friendly. Would recommend to anyone who loves Thai food.

Thank BARBARA51155
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for this review and your comments on the dishes you chose.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten here twice now and both times we had a great meal with really good service. We like Thai food and particularly like it how it is served here. They were very busy for early in the evening - we thought we might...More

Thank Kate F
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for this review. We are glad you have enjoyed your meals. Sorry about the oversight with the prawn crackers.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited due to the reviews on Trip advisor and we weren’t disappointed. Food was excellent and so tasty. If we are ever passing from Durham again we would definitely return

Thank paulmusgrave1959
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for this review. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.

Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

My 6th vist since January as a couple and with family and friends . Never disappointed perfect food and plenty, perfect friendly staff , perfect atmosphere. can’t wait for my 7th vist.

Thank jenny199093
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Many thanks for this review. We are glad you have enjoyed all your visits. We look forward to your 7th.

Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Went to the Lime Leaf with a group of friends for my Birthday. As always the food was lovely and service was great. Couldn't fault the restaurant.

1  Thank Rob M
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Many thanks for this review. We really appreciate your comments.

Reviewed 7 April 2018

Thai food is fantastic. Not in this restaurant. It was bland, boring, miles to go to reach the greatness of Thai cooking. Real disappointment. Won't be back. Which is a hard choice to make as if the quality was good, we would be there every...More

Thank janab007
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for this review. You are entitled to your opinion. It happens not to be shared by the vast majority of reviewers on this site.

Reviewed 7 April 2018

Excellent variety of dishes, authentic Thai food, fast service. I've been here several times now and will always come back, the sizzling duck is particular good.

Thank Jasmine M
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for this review. Glad you like the sizzling duck.

Reviewed 19 March 2018

Arrived a bit early and was seated in the front window downstairs by the door leading upstairs, drinks and the early bird menu ordered. When the starters arrived we still hadn't received our drinks which resulted in raised voices from our table back to the...More

Thank jellybelly10001
Reviewed 6 March 2018

Firstly, We had been recommended to try the Lime Leaf, Good position top of Basingstoke town, Very welcoming and good setting.... Only one major issue, The service was so slow.... We were served our food before our drinks and that took sometime....Our friends were really...More

Thank TheGambler66
David W, Owner at The Lime Leaf, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

I am sorry you found the service slow on the occasion of your visit. Our staff work hard to provide good service as is acknowledged by the vast majority of reviwers on this site. I am sorry if we fell short on this occcasion..

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 hotels in Basingstoke
Red Lion Hotel Basingstoke
435 reviews
.03 km away
Premier Inn Basingstoke Town Centre Hotel
386 reviews
.29 km away
Copper Beeches Hotel
9 reviews
.89 km away
Cliddesden Place by House of Fisher
1 review
.94 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Mayflower
306 reviews
.10 km away
Zizzi - Basingstoke
232 reviews
.10 km away
Thai Knight
23 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Anvil
262 reviews
.54 km away
Eastrop Park
142 reviews
.33 km away
Festival Place Shopping Centre
130 reviews
.39 km away
Willis Museum
80 reviews
.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
DanDan91
2 January 2018|
Answer
Response from David W | Property representative |
Hi Dan. We have a baby changing facility on the ground floor.
0
Votes
31 July 2016|
Answer
Response from David W | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. We do try to cater for special requests but some sauces are an integral part of the dish and may be difficult to remove. It might be better for you to tell us what you do like and we'll see what... More
1
Vote
Dropkicknm
17 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from David W | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. Most of our vegetarian dishes marked with a V on the menu are also suitable for vegans. The exceptions are egg fried rice and Vegetable Pad Thai. The latter normally contains egg but can be... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
5:30 PM - 10:15 PM
Tuesday
5:30 PM - 10:15 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Wednesday
5:30 PM - 10:15 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Thursday
5:30 PM - 10:15 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Friday
5:30 PM - 10:15 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 10:15 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25/25A London Street, Basingstoke RG21 7PG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Basingstoke
  • Phone Number: +44 1256 355272
  • E-mail
Description
Restaurant serving authentic Thai food. Situated in a 16th century two storey building in Basingstoke's Top of Town area. Small intimate dining areas suitable for small group bookings up to 16 persons.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;