We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Paulo Giannis

15 New Street, Lancaster LA1 1EG, England
+44 1524 581640
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good24%
  • Average16%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“pavlova” (6 reviews)
“pasta dishes” (19 reviews)
“salad” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Vegan Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
15 New Street, Lancaster LA1 1EG, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Visited during happy hour before going to see Lloyd cole at the grand theatre. Great service, friendly staff and food really nice. Choice of different pizza's and pastas for 4.99.

Thank janette t
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Went for a birthday meal, was colder inside than outside. The food was poor as was the service, cold soup, waited 10 minutes for them to microwave it 😂 😂 😂. Meals came out sporadically, didn't really eat together as intended. A couple of staff...More

Thank jamie c
Reviewed 26 February 2018

The restaurant is beautifully decorated although the blue lights at the bar were a bit out of place. They offer a great drinks list with lots of coctails, beers and wines. The service was great although there was not much time between starters and mains,...More

Thank dfshk
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Love this Italian in Lancaster. Good price for food, good range of food and drink, good atmosphere. For a Friday / Saturday night I would recommend booking in advance. For any good restaurant this is the case so it is a good sign. Staff were...More

Thank HubbaHoob1401
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

Restaurant was extremely cold had to dine with coats on ! 2 starters from 12 missing when they did eventually arrive the soup was cold not even like warm ! Returned to kitchen took 10 mins to arrive soup had been microwaved in the same...More

Thank scampi74
PRManager2017, Manager at Paulo Giannis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, sorry to hear things weren’t up to standard. Unfortunately when larger groups don't pre order it leaves more room for error and on this occasion the member of staff missed two dishes off the order. Going forward we will ensure that orders are...More

Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Booked a table for myself and four friends today. When we arrived it was absolutely freezing in the restaurant and two of my friends had to sit in their coats!! Also people at the table next to us as their coat on too, when we...More

Thank nicril
PRManager2017, Public Relations Manager at Paulo Giannis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thanks for your feedback, sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion. Are you able to email me on gemma@paulogiannis.co.uk with some details of when you visited so we can find out what has gone wrong and put measures in place...More

Reviewed 12 February 2018

My first time at Paulo Giannis was in January 2018 for a birthday meal. I had heard mixed reports from friends over the years, so I didn't know what to expect. The decor inside is modern and the atmosphere was pleasant, not too stuffy or...More

Thank wizardswitch
PRManager2017, Public Relations Manager at Paulo Giannis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Great to hear your feedback, we use these reviews as a tool in our team training, and your comments are really helpful. We hope you do give us another try, we do occasionally have a curry on the specials 😊

Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Tasteless creamed mushrooms, mediocre steak, inedible burnt chocolate brownie, dirty toilet with overflowing bin. Disappointing. Sorry.

Thank Rachel T
PRManager2017, Public Relations Manager at Paulo Giannis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thanks for your feedback, I'm sorry to hear you weren't impressed on your visit. We are always working to improve and will pass your feedback on to the relevant team members to ensure these points are acted on.

Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

My son and I booked a table at 5.45 and were surprised how packed the restaurant was so early. It was our first visit so wasn't sure what to expect . We were seated immediately and drinks order taken. Our waitress took our food order...More

Thank Lynsey B
PRManager2017, Public Relations Manager at Paulo Giannis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Hello, thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back. Your review helped contribute towards Grace being awarded our employee of the year at our staff awards this month,...More

Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Went after panto at Xmas we were a bit early so sat in there bar and waited till opening. We got seated and ordered drinks. Food came after a bit of a wait but it was heaving by this point so we understood. It was...More

Thank Kevin John H
PRManager2017, Public Relations Manager at Paulo Giannis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Hello, thanks for taking the time to review our restaurant, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back 😊

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Lancaster
Royal Kings Arms
162 reviews
.16 km away
Travelodge Lancaster Central Hotel
658 reviews
.30 km away
Toll House Inn
594 reviews
.55 km away
Premier Inn Lancaster Hotel
911 reviews
2.73 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Sun Cafe Restaurant
231 reviews
.07 km away
The Sun Hotel & Bar
331 reviews
.04 km away
The Butcher and Tonic
117 reviews
.06 km away
Sunbury Coffee House
150 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lancaster Castle
1,714 reviews
.21 km away
Lancaster Priory Church
124 reviews
.26 km away
Lancaster City Museum
285 reviews
.10 km away
The Grand Theatre
108 reviews
.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Paulo Giannis staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 4:30 PM
Monday
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Tuesday
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Wednesday
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Thursday
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Friday
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
12:00 PM - 4:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 New Street, Lancaster LA1 1EG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Lancaster District  >  Lancaster
  • Phone Number: +44 1524 581640
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing