We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tokyo Season

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
52 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4QU, England
+44 161 236 7898
Today
11:50 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:50 - 22:00
Mon - Thu 11:50 - 22:30
Fri - Sat 11:50 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and my husband fancied something different so we decided on Japanese we wasn't disappointed it was so nice and fresh. I had noodles and they were the best noodles I have ever tasted. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The price was reasonable.

Helpful?
2 Thank Canti1
Management response:

Thanks for your comment, it is our pleasure to serve the best food to our customer! More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After being to Japan it's been hard to find anywhere that serves Okonomiyaki. This place serves it and it was excellent. Service was quick and Machi drinks was also nice. Defo will come again!

Helpful?
Thank Jamie W
Management response:

Thanks! Your satisfaction is our greatest pleasure! More 

1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Came here with friends for a birthday and all was fine until our food came. The main I ordered came with a free soup, so I asked for it to be served as a starter as other was having starters. When it came, a lot later than everyone else's starters, it was just spring onions in water, then my main... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teneesha D
Management response:

I'm sorry to bring you so much trouble and unhappiness. But I have to explain that you order the food , we make it to you as required, and as your personal reasons you do not like the kind of taste that is not our fault. You refuse to pay is also considered here to slander us. It's unfair to... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

AVOID!!!! Awful smell on entering the premises, awful staff they were rude, unhelpful and didn't make any effort to rectify mistakes. Overcharged by £10 at the end and had to demand a breakdown to be told what is been charged for. Other members of the party equally as unsatisfied as wrong meals were provided and were also overcharged. I will... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Management response:

You order the food and we make it for you ,but you do not like it, Is that our fault? We charge you half price you still refuse to pay. where is about overcharged? We welcome guests to write the right advice, but do not accept malicious evaluation! More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

I've been many times whenever I crave sushi. The workers are a bit slow (I do tend to go on Sunday quite late in the evening) but they are so friendly. I've eaten here in big groups also and every time, their sushi is one of the best I've had for such a great price and I have tried many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mai Vi G
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

I've been here a few times now every time it never fails to impress prices are good and authentic Japanese food

Helpful?
Thank David P
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017

It's not the best Japanese restaurant in Manchester, but it's still one of my favorites that I would always go to. It's humble, it's nothing flashy. You're not going to expect the best sushi you've ever tasted, or the best noodles. But it is still very very satisfying to eat here on a casual occasion. You should start off with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kamwcheng
cardiff
Level Contributor
363 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Arrived as a group of ten for dinner. The restaurant was almost empty, only had one table of guests who were on their way out. A good range of option on menu, reasonably priced and quality, but our dinner arrived at such different time, sushi rice arrived within 5 mins after ordered; beef wrapped mushroom and rice arrived almost an... More 

Helpful?
Thank rebecca m
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

First time we've tried this place and will probably be the last. The atmosphere was ok and we liked the traditional Japanese seating. However the food wasn't great compared to other Japanese places we've been to. It was quite pricey too. The only thing we really enjoyed was our drinks. The place is owned by Chinese people so definitely not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz H
Bad Vilbel, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Sushi a bit tasteless, Udon soup watery. Eaten here years before, but certainly went down hill. Too bad.

Helpful?
Thank eclhardtpasenau

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Season also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Tokyo Season? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$19 - US$26
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Takeout
Open Hours
Sunday
11:50 - 22:00
Monday
11:50 - 22:30
Tuesday
11:50 - 22:30
Wednesday
11:50 - 22:30
Thursday
11:50 - 22:30
Friday
11:50 - 23:00
Saturday
11:50 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 Portland Street, Manchester M1 4QU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +44 161 236 7898

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Tokyo Season staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?