We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Wellington

$$ - $$$, British,
4 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
+44 161 839 5179
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good38%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (22 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 23:00All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
4 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 502 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Food was seriously bad and service was even worse. Normally I would check reviews before eating somewhere new but was out & about in Manchester and called in for Sunday lunch. I had the roast beef which was over cooked and dry. The mash potatoes...More

Thank Valderama85
Reviewed 4 days ago

My wife and I made several visits to The Old Wellington during our recent four night break in Manchester.We had great food there on a previous visit a few years back,so we were very keen to revisit this terrific old lub.On our first night my...More

Thank holidaynaker
Reviewed 6 days ago

We spent a very enjoyable evening here eating and drinking. The food is of a very good quality and the service was excellent. A lot of establishments could learn from the staff here. The range of beers and ales served was good. The history surrounding...More

Thank Brian H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Second visit here and it wasn't as crowded. There is plenty of seating outside if the pub is full. Nice little pub in the square and we enjoyed our visit this time. Some good lagers which were reasonably priced.More

Thank John K
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi John, and thank you for leaving us with your feedback. We're very happy to hear that you had a better experience with us this time around. When the sun is out or there's a big event on, we do get very busy, which just...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The answer is Too Many To Count !!!! My wife and I went here for some nibbles and a sneaky G and T. They have an exceptional bar snack ( not snacks more like small meals). We ordered 5 and WOW. I had spent more...More

Thank Andy F
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Amazing! Thank you so much for your kind feedback, Andy. Our bar snacks are indeed super filling - the team love them too! You're right in saying they all tasted fresh: everything we cook is made to order and nothing is made beforehand. We'd love...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went as a party of four for a drink and hopefully a meal at this pub on Sunday 3rd of September, based on the recommendation of my Daughter who we were visiting at the time. The pub was great, and the real ale was...More

2  Thank Davann1
OldWellington, General Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I sincerely would like to apologise that your experience was not the best due to the nature of one of our team members. This is one area we normally score very highly as you can see from previous reviews, I am disappointed that we did...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly and great little atmosphere , great selection of drinks , lots of history to read ...loved it

Thank olliecat8
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your kind words! It's so nice to hear when our guests have had a fabulous time with us and enjoyed our drink selection - we'd love to see you come back.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went with the family and they have a great menu with something for everyone. Food was all good and the service was great.More

Thank OzGla
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow, what kind words. Thank you so much! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I will pass your comments on to our front of house service team - they'll be so glad to hear that you appreciated their hard...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely punt of Titanic in the oldest building in Manchester. Nice friendly service, Will enjoy a pint in Sinclair's Oyster Bar next door tooMore

Thank Terri D
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much, Terri! We agree - Plum Porter is one of the best ales around. Alas, it is no longer on our buying list... But we're doing our best to get it back! Hope to see you again soon - and don't worry,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rainy morning (it's Manchester, of course). Sign outside with a nice breakfast deal. We went in and asked if they were still serving breakfast. The man working the bar said yes so we went to sit down. Both he and the woman working there walked...More

1  Thank Bill K
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Bill, and thank you for taking the taking the time to leave us with some feedback. Unfortunately it seems that there has been a miscommunication here. As with the majority of pubs and bars in the UK, our bar area has a full menu...More

Nearby Restaurants
Mowgli Street Food
820 reviews
.08 km away
Wahaca Manchester
947 reviews
.09 km away
478 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal Exchange Theatre
943 reviews
.23 km away
National Football Museum
2,736 reviews
.18 km away
Chetham's Library
228 reviews
.20 km away
Manchester Cathedral
988 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pam O
28 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from OldWellington | Property representative |
HI Its less than 5 minutes walk
David V
10 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lee C | Reviewed this property |
City centre prices I'm afraid especially wine
12 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Joanna H | Reviewed this property |
We didn't book when we went, there was only 2 of us and it was early tea time. With any where if it's the weekend or for a larger party I would always book. x
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$11 - US$20
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
10:00 - 22:30
10:00 - 23:00
10:00 - 23:00
10:00 - 23:00
10:00 - 23:00
10:00 - 00:00
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +44 161 839 5179
  • E-mail
You will find The Old Wellington (est. 1552) in Manchester within a short stroll of Manchester Cathedral, Victoria Station and Exchange Square - however, you won't find another like it. Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served - as they should be - with a generous measure of famous British hospitality. The Old Wellington is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing