We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Wellington

$$ - $$$, British,
4 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
+44 161 839 5179
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good38%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pies” (24 reviews)
“pastry” (6 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
4 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 565 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Haven’t visted for a while and seems to have really gone down . Staff are lovely but the food was very disappointing. They had run out of two of the roast dinner selection at 3.30pm on a Sunday afternoon ( and also roast potatoes) ,...More

Thank FloridaGirl1950
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

A really interesting building with a fascinating history. The bar staff and security staff were helpful and friendly. The range of drinks seemed good and service was quick when we visited, which was a Saturday night and St Patrick's day. Being a match day drinks...More

Thank claire0nthem0ve
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My partner and I were going to see Royal Blood and just stopped off randomly for food and a couple of pints. The ale was lovely, the food was well priced and really tasty. We shared a camembert platter and had a side of chips....More

1  Thank Gaz M
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you very much, Gaz! Lovely to hear that our decorations had a lasting impression on you from Christmas :) Thanks so much for such lovely feedback on our food and the building itself!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I called in for a drink and light lunch. I ordered fish finger sandwich. It was horrible. Greasy and minimal fish and all batter and bread. Waste of money. Nice pint but food dreadful. I won’t eat here againMore

Thank Julie B
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

hi Julie I'm disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your fish finger sandwich it normally is well received and contains half an Atlantic cod battered in our Nicholson's pale ale, between 2 pieces of farmhouse bread with delicious samphire tartare sauce. If you had told...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely meals. I had the lentil cottage pie really tasty. Relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff would definitely visit again and close to the Arena too

Thank Elaine J
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback, Elaine! I have to agree with that one - our lentil cottage pie is delicious! Hopefully you'll be heading back this way soon. You're always welcome here!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a meeting with work here. The room on the top floor is absolutely perfect and the staff were incredible. We decided to stay for dinner too. We were made to feel welcome and special. Everything about the pub is great. The gin selection...More

Thank Brendan S
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Spot on! Sounds like that you had an outstanding visit, Brendan, and we're super happy to hear it! We see you have a keen eye for detail too... Our crystal glasses really are something! You're always welcome to pop back in next time you're in...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stumbled across this pub by mistake , first of all what a beautiful building . We were greeted as soon as we walked in and while my friends decided what to have I just asked the barman . Straight to nicholsons pale , did...More

Thank Jack M
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow! Thank you very much, Jack! We're delighted to hear such wonderful feedback from you... and hopefully this means next time we won't be a "mistake"! We can only apologise about your joke not translating... We have some die hard Lancastrians working here! ;) You're...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely pub with good choice of beers and a good bar snack selection. Popped in for a quick few refreshing pints... beer was good so no complaints

Thank burfandsu
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Haven't been here before and although they have several beers on draft, they major on lacking in taste. Two of us just couldn't be bothered to finish them. Ironically, the people who wanted gin got the preference of usual gins or some great, craft gins....More

Thank david n
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi David strange you say that, people normally compliment us on our beers, having 8 cask pumps 3 which stay the same and 5 rotating which change every few days from all around the country. Maybe you just happened to come on a day where...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Myself and my partner popped in Saturday afternoon for a quick drink and to have a look at the menu for a Sunday Roast the next day. I think it was the manager behind the bar who advised booking so we did. Next day we...More

Thank ianthejock
OldWellington, Manager at The Old Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your lovely review! We can only apologise about the problems you encountered but we’re very happy to hear that you felt it was dealt with efficiently and not too detrimental to your visit :) we’re absolutely looking forward to your...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 121 hotels in Manchester
Mitre Hotel
1,006 reviews
.01 km away
Roomzzz Manchester Corn Exchange
11 reviews
.09 km away
The Penthouse Apartment Hotel
3 reviews
.09 km away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
1,723 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Alston Bar & Beef
278 reviews
.08 km away
Crown & Anchor
267 reviews
.03 km away
331 reviews
.06 km away
316 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chetham's Library
256 reviews
.20 km away
Royal Exchange Theatre
989 reviews
.23 km away
National Football Museum
2,997 reviews
.18 km away
Manchester Cathedral
1,057 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pam O
28 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from OldWellington | Property representative |
HI Its less than 5 minutes walk
David V
10 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Lee C | Reviewed this property |
City centre prices I'm afraid especially wine
12 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Joanna H | Reviewed this property |
We didn't book when we went, there was only 2 of us and it was early tea time. With any where if it's the weekend or for a larger party I would always book. x
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$11 - US$21
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
10:00 AM - 10:30 PM
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Cathedral Gates, Manchester M3 1SW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +44 161 839 5179
  • E-mail
You will find The Old Wellington (est. 1552) in Manchester within a short stroll of Manchester Cathedral, Victoria Station and Exchange Square - however, you won't find another like it. Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served - as they should be - with a generous measure of famous British hospitality. The Old Wellington is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Save your favourites!
Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now