We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Metropolitan

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
2 Lapwing Lane | West Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WS, England
+44 161 438 2332
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 459: English reviews
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is very much are local. Always a good atmosphere all year round and features guest beers(which are kept well). Food is OK, but nothing special, and slightly overpriced for the quality that is delivered.

Helpful?
Thank peterwithing
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
541 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Called in for a drink early evening. Very large pub with plenty of seating. Nice décor, good selection of draught beers/lagers, average prices. Didn't eat but food menu looked nice with lots of choices. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank 2010mustang
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great food, well cooked , good range for different dietary needs. Friendly service - attentive but not pushy. But please take the soap dispenser decorated with kiddy drawings down from accessible toilet ; it is patronising and please make more space for getting to and from the lavatory.

Helpful?
Thank jan_southworth
MANCHESTER ENGLAND
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've known this pub for very many years in its many guises but now it's a really lovely peaceful venue during the day but gets very busy in the evenings. The coffee and cakes are great, the food menu is good and the beer selection is also above par. It's location is great for the many varied delights of West... More 

Helpful?
Thank MCREGSKI
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great food and perfect service. We had fish and chips and the superfood salad, all were delicious. The young French waiter provided excellent service. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank aldgj
li150, General Manager at The Metropolitan, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review, we're so glad you had an enjoyable experience with us. I will certainly pass on your comments to Brandon your waiter. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Mel More 

Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a second visit for six friends on a birthday celebration. The old table would have been good for four but those at each end were encumbered by a large, ornate table leg and at one end a pillar requiring the diner to sit askew to the table. Starters were decent all round and the wine good value. But... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ulmey1951
li150, General Manager at The Metropolitan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your detailed feedback. I am truly sorry that your visit did not live up to previous expectations and that the food was not entirely up to scratch on this occasion. We have had some similar comments regarding the oxtail dish and it has subsequently been removed from the... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Attended for lunch with family and friends. We found most the dishes were missing items that were mentioned on the menu without replacements and it wasn't mentioned by the waiter. Overpriced for basic food, service was good. I won't be back as there is lots of better competition in Didsbury with better food.

Helpful?
Thank fluffypinksoda
li150, General Manager at The Metropolitan, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback and I'm sorry that you had a disappointing experience dining with us on this occasion. I cannot understand why so many of the dishes you received were apparently incomplete and I can only apologise. I wish you would have let us know at the time so we could have rectified it for you, as we are... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We went with friends mid afternoon on Sunday, suggest avoiding the very busy early lunch time. The roast is very good, the trio of meats is a winner. We had a slice of cake from the bar rather than the dessert menu. Service started to slow down and by the end we were pretty much ignored. Didn't ruin lunch but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank _cbayley2012
li150, General Manager at The Metropolitan, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we're very pleased that on the whole, you had a positive experience dining with us. I'm so sorry if you felt that the level of service began to decline during your visit, I hope that is something we can make up to you on your next visit. Kind regards, Mel More 

Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
114 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We called in here for lunch and was not disappointed. Great food served with a smile. We would thoroughly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank jmac13746
li150, General Manager at The Metropolitan, responded to this review

Thanks for the recommendation, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Mel More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I tried this pub lunch as we are thinking of moving into the area. We really liked the pub decor and atmosphere but the food wasn't up to scratch. We paid £15 each for our meals. I had the ox tail casserole which claimed to be served with vegetables but didn't have any unfortunately. The ox tail... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sian P
li150, General Manager at The Metropolitan, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback and I sincerely apologise that the food you had was not up to our usually high standards on this occasion. I hope you were able to speak to a manager at the time of your visit, to be compensated for your unfortunate disappointment. I would urge you to think about... More 

Travellers who viewed The Metropolitan also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Metropolitan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$38
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Buffet
Good for
Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Lapwing Lane | West Didsbury, Manchester M20 2WS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Manchester
  • Phone Number: +44 161 438 2332
Description
The Metropolitan's smart & classic decor reflects the building’s colourful history as a fine Victorian railway hotel. Behind the bar, tall library-style ladders reaching almost to the ceiling rest on a display of fine wines and premium spirits.Treat yourself to an afternoon tea in the relaxing library area with its comfortable armchairs, open fire and well-stacked bookshelves. Ifyou’re dining, take a seat in our elegant conservatory restaurant – light and airy in the daytime and warm and intimate come the evening, it’s the perfect setting to indulge in gorgeous home-cooked cuisine. We serve food all day from breakfast onwards and a there’s a selection of seasonal menus and daily specials to choose from. Our outdoor bar is a wonderful place to enjoy quality drink, fine food and balmy temperatures. You don’t have to wait for a sunny daythough; with its huge outdoor canopy you can dine alfresco whatever theweather.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Metropolitan and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Manchester, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Metropolitan staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?