We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Vecchia Enoteca

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Via San Martino E Solferino 32, 35122, Padua, Italy
+39 049 875 2856
Website
Today
12:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 36: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
119 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We would definitely return. The menu was straightforward, but the ingredients and presentation were excellent. We enjoyed grilled octopus, pasta with rabbit and a lamb dish and a memorable orange crème brulee. Service was short, but polite, which is fine with me. I don't comment much on décor but this place really had a nice feel, like a country kitchen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gamberioni
Roberto C, Direttore at La Vecchia Enoteca, responded to this review
Google Translation

😊😊😊 More 

Arezzo
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2016

This is an attractive restaurant. The food was very good: my octopus starter was first class and the lamb chops just right as was the pork. It is in interesting menu. The soft chocolate desert was superb. Worth going for that alone. A good interesting selection of regional wines. The staff were helpful and pleasant and I was happy with... More 

Helpful?
Thank m0ntesansavin0
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I specifically chose this restaurant, which was located very close to my hotel, because the food sounded delicious. However, the staff were extremely rude. They would not seat an unaccompanied woman, and they were quite nasty about it.

Helpful?
Thank jsuej
Roberto C, Proprietario at La Vecchia Enoteca, responded to this review

I would like to tell a story to all the readers of trip advisor. A few months ago I made a reservation in a restaurant in Padua and when we arrived the owner told us that that evening it was possible only to eat in their pizzeria while the restaurant was occupied from a group. So we decided not to... More 

San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I will second the comment made by another reviewer about the extraordinarily poor attitude of the wait staff - which was unfortunate because the food was very good. This is the first restaurant in Italy where the waiter asked whether he could give us the bill because he needed the table for someone else. This was after a remarkably rude... More 

Helpful?
Thank plannersf
Roberto C, Proprietario at La Vecchia Enoteca, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your opinion, we are happy to know that our food is a great food. The waiter you are talking about is the owner who kindly ask you to leave the table because there were other customers waiting to be seated and sinché you have finished to eat I ask you to bring the bill so... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

I ordered a tagliata of angus beef ( medium rear) and my boyfriend had tagliata of tuna, both over cooked. All the juice's lost. I felt sorry for the ingredient ( which seems fairly fresh) and my money. For the same price (20€ each plate) I expected better food. The service is as other reviews mentioned, cold and slow, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank SHANYU S
Level Contributor
130 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

The food is amazing. Traditions are acknowledged and respected and then reinvented into amazing Masterpieces. The artichoke salad is to die for. A bit messy but worth the effort. The risotto, rabbit, octopus and squid where all great. The poached pears are amazing too. We enjoyed it so much that we just had to go back and eat there another... More 

Helpful?
Thank TaniaProsdocimo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2016

You would have thought in this day and age of travel and the importance of tourist revenue you would be hard pressed to find bad attitudes towards tourists. Not so in this restaurant. Padua is hardly a backwater of Italy with just 50 miles separating it from Venice and with some historical attractions that make it a prime stopover for... More 

Helpful?
Thank TDM4
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2015 via mobile

Stopped for lunch during our Christmas shopping. They have menu in English. The restaurant is not too big but the tables are spacious. Very clean and nicely decorated. We had orecchiette with broccoli and scallops and risotto with seabass and dill. Both were delicious, freshly made and large portions. The house wine was also very good. The waiter spoke good... More 

Helpful?
Thank sellocello
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2015

We came across this very pleasant little restaurant having recently arrived in town on a Friday evening and finding several of the best-known places already booked. They seated us promptly and we enjoyed a high-quality dinner in a cheerful and comfortable room with efficient and courteous service. Grilled octopus starter was a standout and the fruit plate for dessert was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey L
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Dined here but was definitely expecting a better experience. Decor is nice, service seems a bit uninterested and slow and I do not think the value is there. Dessert wine too tiny for 6 euro a glass and mains come without any side: need to order something on top I dislike cover charge and even more seeing the same table... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank pi-esse72

Travellers who viewed La Vecchia Enoteca also viewed

Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 
Padua, Province of Padua
Padua, Province of Padua
 

Been to La Vecchia Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$27 - US$54
Cuisine
Italian, Mediterranean
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
12:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
12:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Thursday
12:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Friday
12:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Saturday
12:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Via San Martino E Solferino 32, 35122, Padua, Italy
  • Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Veneto  >  Province of Padua  >  Padua
  • Phone Number: +39 049 875 2856
Description
The restaurant is located in the ancient Ghetto near Piazza delle Erbe. The dining room is not very big but very intimate and romantic. The dishes proposed from our Chef Mario together with Mattia and Constance are mainly of fish during the spring and summer season and mainly of meat during the winter season. If you like fish you have to try our tuna fish tartare served with a lime sorbet and crispy celery while you prefer meat you can start with our steak tartare with wild mushrooms. Ask to Mattia for a wine, he will give you the right advise combined to your choice.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of La Vecchia Enoteca and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from La Vecchia Enoteca staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?