We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#1,111 of 1,141 Italian in Venice
#1,234 of 1,272 Restaurants in Venice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Italian, Pizza
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service

Location and contact

Castello
0.2 km from Piazza San Marco
Improve this listing
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
44
54
47
48
209
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
44
54
47
48
209
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 October 2020

We got a weird vibe from the workers. When we walked past the restaurant menu he was friendly but quite annoying. They stood next to us and watched us whilst we were sat at our table looking through our menu until we picked something off...it which we found very uncomfortable and pressurising. We ordered a glass of wine but asked for some tap water after our food and all of the workers told us not to drink the tap water because it was “salty” despite the tap water in Italy being fine to drink. 5 minutes later they come back to us and told us that they didn't have a tap in the restaurant and that we must buy water. After an intense discussion he brought out some tap water for us but seemed angry about it. Finally we asked for the bill and when he brought it over and we paid he asked what the sum of our bill was in pounds then rudely walked off without saying “bye” or “thank you”More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
wmaster2019, Owner at Trattoria Canonica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020
Google Translation

Wenn Sie in diesem Restaurant Wasser trinken möchten, müssen Sie eine Flasche kaufen. Wenn Sie Leitungswasser möchten, lade ich Sie...More

Reviewed 23 September 2020 via mobile

TRAP!! Lasagne overcooked, no meat and too salty. Pizza 3/10 - maximal lower standard expectation. Avoid this place and don‘t be fooled by the waiter at the corner.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
wmaster2019, Owner at Trattoria Canonica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Dear customer, if the lasagna was too salty, just raise your hand and say it, ... we would have replaced the plate. Having a savory dish can happen from time to time. For us, the trap is having customers like her, who don't have the...More

Reviewed 6 September 2020

The staff were so lovely and helpful. The pizza was fab just as wished for. The pasta was more to the uncooked side than cooked but the flavours were amazing. Ended up going back there for another evening of our stay. Would 100% recommend

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
wmaster2019, Owner at Trattoria Canonica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2020

Thanks dear customer for the nice words. Pizza is our core business, an ancient Italian tradition !!! Thanks thanks thanks

Reviewed 10 August 2020 via mobile

Tasteless food, pushy waiters. Avvoid these location. The location is really strategic with the entrance between two streets near San Marco. The waiters push you in and order as much possible in the first minute. Terrible.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
wmaster2019, Proprietario at Trattoria Canonica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2020
Google Translation

Buongiorno Vasjar, grazie per la sua recensione. Mah, che dire, il fatto che dica che i cibi sono insapori lo...More

Reviewed 22 July 2020 via mobile

Typical tourist trap. Unfriendly staff, pizza very tasteless. The pasta was not „al dente“ but nearly raw. When complaining telling them that the pasta was too raw - the waiter turned around and walked away. Avoid this place, rather go another 50 Meter into another...trattoria where they are more friendly and better food.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?3  
wmaster2019, Proprietario at Trattoria Canonica, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2020
Google Translation

Buongiorno Alexander, ci scusiamo per l'accaduto.

Reviewed 25 February 2020

Be careful menu prices and your final account could vary! As soon as you will start to read menu, waiter gives you 2-3 min to understand, that prices in menu are more or less in the line of your expectation (it's not about the wine,...wine prices are terrible and you can't buy glass, only bottle), but than.... waiters come to table and start to push you to take some other dishes than in menu, "from cheef" or "day offer" and for some reasons you don't see these dishes in menu. Also they are trying to take your menu from hands not to allow you to find the price of their "good offer". We have ordered stake for 3 persons and were really surprised, when we have received the bill with stake final price 160 eur. It was nothing special, just meat on bone. Ok it wasn't split in pieces, but was on one big plate. But average price of stake in other Venice restaurants is 20-25 eur. So we have to pay so much for serving on big plate?! Don't believe waiters here. They just cheat people.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
wmaster2019, Proprietario at Trattoria Canonica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

What he writes is shameful. We prefer not to comment. with regard

Reviewed 23 February 2020 via mobile

The restaurant is busy and close to San Marco square. Tables very close together and waiters rushing you to order and pick up your plates, I’m guessing hoping you’ll leave quicker to get more people in. My mom actually had to say she’s a slow...eater and not done as two waiters tried to take her plate. Not possible to purchase glass of wine but small bottle for around €20 at the cheapest. The spaghetti pesto and pizza were good. Spaghetti with meatballs lacked flavor. Also didn’t get bread with meal when everyone else did. Maybe another charge for that? To top it off they charge a 12% maggiorazione on the bill, when questioned they said it was a tax but the IVA is on the bill. After googling it, the 12% is actually a service charge. Just be up front about it, but don’t say it’s a tax. Probably find a more relaxing atmosphere and less expensive place elsewhere.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?2  
wmaster2019, Proprietario at Trattoria Canonica, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Dear customer, 12% of service is written in all menus and is applied by all restaurants, so I really don't understand why! I'm sorry, but he made a lot of mistakes in what he wrote

Reviewed 26 January 2020

Stopped for lunch, good wine selection, great bruschetta and pizza. Service was fine, didn’t experience any problems at all. Portion size good, staff friendly

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
wmaster2019, Proprietario at Trattoria Canonica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Thank you customer for your review. Being kind to customers is one of the most important things.

Reviewed 5 January 2020

Stopped here for a quick lunch and it was fine. Ordered the standards, pizza, pasta, wine and we enjoyed it. The food was hot, prepared well, and the service was good. The location was just ok and there wasn't much opportunity for people watching, but...we were pleased with the lunch and overall experience. Was it the best we had during our Venice trip - no, but it was far from the worst. Would go back here.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?2  
wmaster2019, Proprietario at Trattoria Canonica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Thanks for your review. We will wait for you the next time you are in Venice

Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

Whorse experience during our 3 day staying in Venice.. "nice" gentelman in front of the restorant made huge effort to get us in.. so we did because pricess were exceptable to us and the kids wanted pizza.. after we entered the prices were at least...40% higher than stated outside, they are always looking in your plate and if you are finished to make place for new guests..More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?3  
wmaster2019, Proprietario at Trattoria Canonica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Dear customer, what you write is absurd. The prices are displayed outside the shop and are the official ones, THERE ARE NO DIFFERENCES. Before writing such things you should be careful: if we had the possibility of having your official name and surname I guarantee...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Castello
Castello is the largest of the six sestieri
(districts), and the only one not facing onto the
Grand Canal. More than half of Castello is situated
within Arsenale, the naval base, which occupies over
one-fifth the area of Venice. This gentrified maritime
neighbourhood feels busy but casual. Castello’s side
streets are laid back, with small boats lining canals
criss-crossed by laundry. Semiannual exhibitions add a
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel al Ponte dei Sospiri
538 reviews
.02 km away
Hotel Dona Palace
1,655 reviews
.06 km away
Hotel Colombina
2,272 reviews
.07 km away
Hotel Rio
566 reviews
.07 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pasticceria Da Bonifacio
226 reviews
.08 km away
Ristorante Centrale
742 reviews
.10 km away
Al Chianti
1,123 reviews
.09 km away
Ristorante Marciana San Marco
588 reviews
.09 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Basilica di San Marco
28,572 reviews
.08 km away
Ponte dei Sospiri
7,050 reviews
.12 km away
Museo di San Marco
71 reviews
.13 km away
Ateneo di San Basso
56 reviews
.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Trattoria Canonica staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing