We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brasserie Schiller

$$ - $$$
Hochschulen
French, Swiss, Bar, European, Central European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Sechselautenplatz 10 | Goethestrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
+41 44 222 20 30
Website
Today
07:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 00:00
Mon - Thu 07:00 - 00:00
Fri 07:00 - 02:00
Sat 09:00 - 02:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 137: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I visited in April on a warm evening with some colleagues and friends. On a warm day you can sit outside with a view on the lake at a distance, the Zurich Opera House and Sechseläutenplatz - a very nice setting. The setting comes unfortunately at a price - many of us ordered a Caesar salad either with shrimps or... More 

Helpful?
Thank KOgrosseholz
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

All pretty nice except don't order cheese platter for dessert. Semi-professional service but great location.. have a great one...

Helpful?
1 Thank Smuel W
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Smuel W, thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the cheese platter and the semi-professional service, however what should have been done better? Nevertheless, we hope to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely, More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Very bad service with not good food. We paid 200 fr for two plates and our food has too much salt, so we couldn't enjoy it.

Helpful?
1 Thank annaxm31
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Schiller, responded to this review

Dear annaxm31, Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience at The Brasserie Schiller and therefore we would like to apologies. However have you had the chance to talk to the Maitre d' during the meal or prior leaving the restaurant? It is our aim to correct any... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent, wonderful experience. The service was amazing, the food phenomenal, drink options plenty and location can not be beat. My new go to!

Helpful?
Thank travelbable
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Schiller, responded to this review

Dear travelbable, Many thanks for this great review and five points on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal at The Brasserie Schiller. It is our aim to provide top quality in food and service. Therefore we look forward to your next visit. Yours sincerely, More 

Recife, PE
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Very well located in Bellevue, has a nice environment. It is very busy and we were lucky finding a table on Friday evening. We just had a drink there (prosecco and red wine Malbec, both very good, but it is not a cheap place. Nice electronic music playing and allows conversation!

Helpful?
Thank RitaAAlmeida
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Schiller, responded to this review

Dear RitaAAlmeida, Thank you so much for leaving this wonderful review and four points on Tripadvisor. We look forward to your next visit at The Goethe Bar. Yours sincerely, More 

Zurich
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We were a table of four, on a busy Saturday night, during the pre-Christmas period, with the Christmas market right outside. Great, festive atmosphere a given. We were running late for our reservation, gave the restaurant a heads up on the phone, but whoever answered was a bit clueless and had difficulties in both English and German. The waiter was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hochreutiner
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Hochreutiner, Thank you very much for your four points and the review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that the handling of your comment was not well taken care. However we understand that overall everything was at your expectations. We hope to have you back soon. Yours sincerely, More 

Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2016

The bar was loaded with people on a Sunday afternoon, but luckily there was a table available at the brasserie side. The atmosphere was cozy, there were families having a Sunday lunch with small children, but that did not disturb anyone. The service was very good, and polite. The food experience was good, very good, and excellent: tuna tartar was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Juhani P
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Juhani P, Thank you so much for this nice review and four points on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your sunday late luncheon. The Brasserie Schiller is well known for great tartars, entrecote and mussels. Therefore we hope to have you back soon. Yours sincerely, More 

Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Restaurant is in a great location, right by the Opera House so the prices are high because it's in such a local place. Food and service was just ok. Atmosphere was comfortable and service was attentive.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherarthur
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Heatherarthur, With much appreciation we read your review. The Brasserie Schiller is perfectly located next to the Opera House. Ideal for a pre-opera drink or dinner at prices average to any other known restaurants in the city. We sincerely hope to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards, More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

I went there with a friend of mine on Saturday evening and after being treated so rudely by the bar chief I decided to write a review here. Don't go there, until and unless you want to be insulted and mistreated. First he didn't want to serve my friend any tea. We asked he said they only serve Long Island... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne a
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Suzanne a, Thank you for taking the time writing a review. We are really sorry to hear that your experience at the Goethe Bar was not top and therefore would like to extend our apology. Nevertheless, we hope you will give us a second chance and therefore we look forward to your next visit. Yours sincerely, More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2016

I was there around last year and I have to say it was not what I expected servicewise. However I was around this area with my girlfriend and we gave it a second try. It still looks good and classy. We sat down at the bar and have been served very quickly by in Indian guy (Ranjit I guess was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy_Ginnings
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Schiller, responded to this review

Dear Newsaktuell P, Thank you so much for great review and the five points on Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to hear that you gave a second try and enjoyed great drinks and snacks at the Goethe Bar. We look forward to your next visit. Yours sincerely, More 

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Schiller also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Brasserie Schiller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$20 - US$50
Cuisine
French, Swiss, Bar, European, Central European
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Romantic, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
07:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 00:00
Thursday
07:00 - 00:00
Friday
07:00 - 02:00
Saturday
09:00 - 02:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sechselautenplatz 10 | Goethestrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
  • Location: Europe  >  Switzerland  >  Canton of Zurich  >  Zurich>  > Hochschulen
  • Neighbourhood: Hochschulen
  • Phone Number: +41 44 222 20 30
Description
In the heart of Zurich within the historic building of Neue Zurcher Zeitung you find Brasserie Schiller & Goethe Bar. The Brasserie provides a lively modern french cuisine. The Goethe Bar provides trendy drinks and snacks througout the day. The summer terrasse is the place to see and to be seen.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Brasserie Schiller and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Brasserie Schiller staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?