We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canvas

) #1,545 of 3,267 Restaurants in Amsterdam $$ - $$$ , European,
Wibautstraat 150, 1091 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 261 2100
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good41%
  • Average19%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“salad” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, Dutch, International, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wibautstraat 150, 1091 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

The view and general setting of this place are really good. On top of the Volkshotel it is a great place to sit down and relax. Drinks are overpriced, but it's OK to pay for the view. Just stay away from the food. It seems...More

Thank Roelvdk
AnnekeCanvas, Public Relations Manager at Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for the feedback, Roel. Of course our goal is to serve tasty food. But hey, we can understand that not everyone likes all dishes. We'll take your remarks with us for the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went there for the second time last week. First time was three years ago and I was disappointed back then, but since it still is running I thought to give it another shot. Made a reservation for 7, and pointed out in the reservation that...More

Thank Tane A
AnnekeCanvas, Public Relations Manager at Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the feedback, Tane. We can understand that you're not happy after this. We'll take your remarks with us straight away, so we can improve things. As we aim to give good service to all of our guests.

Reviewed 1 week ago

The coffee wasn't great and the salad was really not good at all. Very little imagination and made as cheaply as possible. Staff was friendly

Thank travel_natje
AnnekeCanvas, Public Relations Manager at Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. We'll take your feedback with us for the future.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

- very nice location of the restaurant (rooftop) with a view on the city - good and quick service - we took the "Chateaubriand" which was perfectly grilled like requested (medium rare) - there were street artist performing due to festival in the hotel, first...More

Thank Tijl S
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Canvas in the 7th floor of the Volkshotel offers a simple and satisfying menu with an outstanding view. The interior is somewhere between cafeteria and gastro pub in a good way. Starters under 10 euro and mains hover just under 20 euro. The dishes are...More

Thank Eliza M
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Lovely rooftop terrace with a good fun vibe. But don't go here for the food. Really crappy. I had mushroom ravioli with butter and sage but I got plate with packet racotta spinach ravioli with bland margerine and a few sage leaves. Terrible meal. But...More

Thank Tilvk
Reviewed 25 March 2017

Been here three times, the terrace was closed twice, and when it was open, it was instantly flooded with people. The food is great though. Staff were also accommodating to lactose intolerant and celiac disease suffering guest. Based on the 7th story in the Volkshotel.

Thank W B
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Nice scene, but the evening was let down by terrible service and average food. It was as if everything was going in slow motion - drinks took ages, starter came after 45min, followed by main another 1 1/4hr later. No apologies from staff, who could...More

1  Thank David R
Alex v, Public Relations Manager at Canvas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

We're sorry that you had this bad experience, David. Of course, service should be quick and friendly and food should be good. We'll take your feedback back to our team straight away, so we can improve things. Thanks for sharing your honest opinion.

Reviewed 18 January 2017

Friends managed to book a last-minute table for our group of 8. Music was funky throughout dinner and then the beats were turned up by the DJ as the tables were removed to create a dance floor. Would definitely recommend if you're up for a...More

Thank Roland B
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Canvas is located on the top floor of the Volkshotel, which is super quirky and hip but not in an obnoxious way. Limited menu but the food was very good and timely. Their drink special was absolutely delicious. Atmosphere is very fun. We went in...More

Thank Mérida M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
C
227 reviews
.09 km away
Rijsel
193 reviews
.27 km away
Drovers Dog
58 reviews
.24 km away
Stek
59 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Oosterpark
64 reviews
.82 km away
House with the Gnomes
12 reviews
.56 km away
Former Town Hall of Nieuwer-Amstel
7 reviews
.32 km away
CtheCity
129 reviews
.38 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Canvas staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 01:00
Monday
07:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 01:00
Thursday
07:00 - 01:00
Friday
07:00 - 04:00
Saturday
08:00 - 04:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wibautstraat 150, 1091 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Location: Europe  >  The Netherlands  >  North Holland Province  >  Amsterdam
  • Phone Number: +31 20 261 2100
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing