We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant Johannes

Herengracht 413, 1017 BP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 626 9503
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good17%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“amuse bouche” (47 reviews)
“oysters” (45 reviews)
“tasting menu” (33 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
French, European, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Herengracht 413, 1017 BP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 742 reviews

Reviewed today

There is no menu, and you have to eat what the chef wants to serve. It took an hour to serve the first dish. It took more than three hours to eat four dull dishes. The only thing that was a little better were a...More

Thank LJGBR
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had eaten at Johannes four years or so ago; it was excellent, if a touch cautious. Now (with a new chef, I think), it has become freer, more adventurous ... and even better. One dish after another was surprising and delicious, as were the...More

Thank jrifkinma
Johannes413, Manager at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear jrifkinma, Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad you enjoyed your time at Restaurant Johannes and hope to welcome you again! With kind regards. Team Restaurant Johannes

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We looked for something that was out of the Downtown Crowds but was close to our hotel. Thanks to Rod R, someone who visited the restaurant twice. Great Food & Wine pairings on the tasting menu. What we will remember most was the service.Exceptional!

Thank Curtis S
Johannes413, Manager at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Curtis S, Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad you enjoyed your time at Restaurant Johannes and hope to welcome you again! With kind regards. Team Restaurant Johannes

Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to Johannes, the first four years ago. It was fabulous then and I think it’s better now. My wife and I arrived and were seated immediately at a lovely table. The first thing the waiter asked was regarding any allergies....More

Thank Rod R
Johannes413, Manager at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Rod R, Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad you enjoyed your time at Restaurant Johannes and hope to welcome you again! With kind regards. Team Restaurant Johannes

Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Had surprise 5 course menu and was absolutely superb. Each dish was explained and beautifully presented. Flovours were excellent. Will definitely go back

Thank Janice B
Johannes413, Manager at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Janice B, Thank you kindly for your compliments, we are very happy to welcome you again at Restaurant Johannes. Kind regards, Team Johannes

Reviewed 15 May 2018

Generally the food was very nice, good wine pairing although not excellent. We enjoyed the dinner but I was quite disappointed that you could easily taste the added salt water on the oysters which made them taste less fresh than expected. Nice restaurant but wouldn't...More

Thank Kristiina83
Johannes413, Manager at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear Kristiina83, Thank you kindly for review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our food and wine. However, we were quite surprised about the comment of our oysters. We can ensure you, madam, that we do not add salt water to our oysters,...More

Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Not really a warm welcome.. Asking twice did you really make a reservation? Food is delicious, service very arrogant! We had dinner with friends we hadn’t seen for 8 years. We all travelled all around the world and know what good service means! Highly priced!More

Thank charlotteanke05
Johannes413, Eigenaar at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Mrs. Charlotteanke05, First, we would like to thank you for your feedback and review. We are very sorry to hear that your evening was not as pleasant as you first had in mind. We have had an internal discussion about the evening, and your...More

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

If you're looking for a special meal while in Amsterdam Johannes is a great choice. We had our anniversary dinner here and were not disappointed. The food was delicious and interesting, the service was fantastic, and the wine choices spot on. They graciously accommodated my...More

Thank SaEofDoom
Johannes413, Owner at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Dear Mr SaEofDoom, We are very happy to hear that everything was to your wishes on your special anniversary dinner. We really appreciate your review. Maybe in the future, you'll do us the honors of welcoming you again? Kind regards, Team Johannes

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

We loved it so much, we chose the 5 course surprise menu and we loved every dish. We really recommend it!

Thank AdrianVrinceanu
Johannes413, Owner at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Dear AdrianVrinceanu, Thank you kindly for your review, we really appreciate it! Team Johannes hopes to welcome you sometime again in the future. Kind regards, Team Johannes

Reviewed 20 April 2018

At the suggestion of our B&B host, my wife and I went to this lovely restaurant for dinner last night. It offers a choice of 4 to 7-course meals, prepared according to the inspiration of the chef. The courses can be paired with a glass...More

Thank Marek_Jana
Johannes413, Eigenaar at Restaurant Johannes, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Dear Marek_Jana, Thank you so much for your kind words, we really appreciate your lovely compliments. We are a very passionate team, and reviews like this one always make us feel appreciated for our work. Thank you. Kind regards, Team Johannes

Nearby
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically
significant as it is perennially popular. Whether
you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast,
shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the
Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the
Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get
lost in a moody meander and a key component to any
sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 380 hotels in Amsterdam
Flower Market Hotel
227 reviews
.13 km away
Hotel Agora
347 reviews
.13 km away
Ambassade Hotel
1,451 reviews
.21 km away
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
315 reviews
.24 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Lebanese Sajeria
187 reviews
.14 km away
Pianeta Terra
295 reviews
.07 km away
Eetcafe Singel 404
531 reviews
.16 km away
Frens Haringhandel
491 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Amsterdam Canal Ring
317 reviews
.03 km away
Herengracht
1,991 reviews
.15 km away
Dutch Costume Museum and Dutch Costume Photo Studio
116 reviews
.05 km away
Museum of the Canals
557 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
enelson2430
5 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from JuPereira | Reviewed this property |
Not only in Johannes Restaurant but in general in the Netherlands a tip is not necessarily expected of if so, it goes a very small tip. However, you can surprise the house in giving a tip according to what you consider a... More
2
Votes
cleon19
14 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Olejakob | Reviewed this property |
they serve on or two set menus (evenings).
1
Vote
Google Translation
Kevinliny
26 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Helen H |
The restaurant is open 7 days a week from 18:00 until 22:30
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Digital Payments
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Herengracht 413, 1017 BP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Location: Europe  >  The Netherlands  >  North Holland Province  >  Amsterdam>  > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
  • Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
  • Phone Number: +31 20 626 9503
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing