We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hofnin

Geirsgata 7C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 511 2300
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good30%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (93 reviews)
“pulled lamb” (13 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Soups, Scandinavian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Geirsgata 7C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We ate here on our first night in Reykjavik and we were so tempted to go back every night! Perfectly situated in the old harbour, we walked in and were asked if we had a reservation, which we didn’t. Our delightful server said he would...More

Thank lau_hel1988
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a 4 course meal which we really enjoyed, even the liquorice ice cream! Beware of the 'holiday pricing' though!

Thank B3ardy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We lucked out getting a table here on New Year’s Eve without a reservation by stopping in early and getting a table when another guest no showed. From the moment we walked in the host was kind and friendly, asking us to wait and he...More

Thank Linnaea N
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely evening at hofnin. Great food maybe a little on the small side but very fresh and yummy. For iceland not bad prices either. Beautiful view of the harbour

Thank FrancescaWar
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We pre-booked here as read previous reviews regarding the popularity of the restaurant. Also requested a window seat. We weren’t disappointed. We were taken to our requested table and staff were lovely and friendly. We were served by a young lady from Netherlands and she...More

Thank lisao00
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed a lovely meal with friends from Canada thanks to Arnor and the staff at the Hofnin restaurant. My son had the fish stew from the children's menu and finished it completely! The view and restaurant decor are very pleasant, thanks for a memorable...More

Thank TFanzone
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for posting the review, it's much appreciate. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your meals and our restaurant. Hopefully you had a great stay in Iceland and welcome back. Happy New Year. The Höfnin Team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is not generally known among Icelanders, which is strange since the place is not packed with tourists like so many restaurants in the area. Their main idea seems to be a fusion of traditional Icelandic dishes and more worldly cuisine. I truly liked...More

Thank lokadirskor
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Great to hear, thank you for the review. Our clientele is mixed, locals and foreigners. We like to keep the traditional dishes with a twist on the menu and most guests like them. We do hope you had a great time in Iceland. Happy New...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This review is from a Mayflower tour, welcome dinner. My beef once presented was chewy and way too rare. However, I complained and the chef presented my dinner and it was absolutely perfect!!! It melted in my mouth, this is the best piece of beef...More

Thank Sandra S
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for posting the review. Great to hear you liked the beef and that you sent the first one back. We like all our guests to leave full and happy. We hope you had a great time in Iceland and welcome back. Happy New...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a discovery! It is a place not to be missed when in Reykjavik. Food is extremely good. Fish is fresh and really well cooked and mussels are extremely tasty.

Thank Marta G
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review, it's a great read. We are happy to see you liked the food and found the mussels tasty. Hopefully your stay in Iceland was fun and welcome back. Happy New Year The Höfnin Team

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

There are several small (fish) restaurants at the harbour of Reykjavik. This one is really good, I have tried it some times before. I had salted cod (ask to have the sauce beside), because it is best plain. The cod was served on top of...More

Thank einar e
Sigrun S, Guest Relations Manager at Hofnin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the review. We are happy that you liked our food and restaurant. We hope you had a good time in Iceland and welcome back. Happy New Year. The Höfnin Team

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 54 hotels in Reykjavik
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
2,211 reviews
.11 km away
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
314 reviews
.12 km away
Metropolitan Hotel
369 reviews
.17 km away
Reykjavik Marina Residence
32 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Forrettabarinn
912 reviews
.14 km away
The Steak House
732 reviews
.03 km away
Kopar
1,215 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Volcano House
1,491 reviews
.10 km away
Reykjavik Museum of Photography
76 reviews
.18 km away
Reykjavik Bike Tours
512 reviews
.13 km away
Elding Adventure at Sea
1,895 reviews
.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Marina D
3 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Andrew S |
I would advise you contact the restaurant directly for a reservation this large on such a busy night. hofnin@hofnin.is
0
Votes
rusAKAzaza
8 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from swigle | Reviewed this property |
The website states closing time is 10pm.
1
Vote
Holualoa
1 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Philip H | Reviewed this property |
You park in a city car park or in a nearby street.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Geirsgata 7C, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
  • Location: Europe  >  Iceland  >  Capital Region  >  Reykjavik
  • Phone Number: +354 511 2300
  • E-mail
Description
Hofnin has a beautiful seaside view overlooking the harbour.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing