We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pepe Nero

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Valletta Waterfront | Pinto Wharf Valletta Waterfront, Valletta, Island of Malta vlt, Malta
+356 2122 2220
Today
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 271: English reviews
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Tried Pepe Nero on various occasions, as I never was disappointed I booked for Nye, once again a great night out, great food and very good service. Thank you all for the wonderful atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank charliefri
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Good morning , Thank you once again for your comments and your recognition towards our new restaurant. As always these are small joys that motivate us to move forward and keep on improving. May we take this opportunity to wish you and your loved ones a great 2017. Best regards Pepe Nero Team More 

Melissia, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great time on New Year's Eve! The menu provided two options for the starter: a vegetable soup, really nice, and pasta with octopus, amazing! For main course the options were three : seabass with vegetables and parmigiana cheese, the best seabass ever, argentinian rib eye, great cooked, really delicious and another plate for vegetarians that we didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank spyg13
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Good morning, First of all may we thank you for the recognition you have given us. We are really happy that you enjoyed your evening with our Suggested set menu and service. Words like these fills us with joy and enthusiasm to continue improving on what we are doing. May I take this opportunity to wish you and your loved... More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dinned here on new years eve. Limited menu, couple of starter choices, likewise with the main and a take-it or leave-it dessert option. Needless to say the place was rammed both inside and some braver peeps sat outside. Plenty of staff on duty. Enjoyed what we had and felt we had plenty of it. Wasn't hunting for a kebab on... More 

Helpful?
Thank GuliverSantinni
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Good morning , Thank you for the recognition you have given us. New Year's Eve is the only dinner in the whole year that we serve as a set menu, you are more than welcome, if you happen to be on our lovely island and look forward to host you again. What we suggest is that next time you reserve... More 

Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ordered two pizzas and pasta, none of us remained satisfied at the end of the dinner. Dough was literally tasteless, toppings just few with tiny drops of sauce. Unfortunately, being so close to Italy and having Italian cousine integrated into local, doesn't mean that every cook knows how to make pizza.

Helpful?
Thank Vivalila
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Good morning , Thank you for your review ,and for trying our cuisine but you could have helped us if you indicated which items from the menu you chose as we always assess each review and use it as constructive criticism. We are very proud of our product as we put passion in preparing the dough and the response of... More 

Malta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Happened to stop here by chance while looking where to eat after 10pm. Took a table for 8 people. Food didn't take too long to arrive since the time we ordered. We ordered various food from the menu but all was up to our expectations. Deserts were to die for. Nothing to complain at all. Service was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank audrey s
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Good morning , First of all may we thank you for giving us the opportunity and try our restaurant, also for the recognition you have given us . Comments like this fills us with joy and motivation to continue improving on what we're doing. May we take this opportunity to wish you and your family a wonderful new year. Best... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been there on a Saturday with my friend for the first time. I hear people say that pizza is the best from there but I was more in the mood for pasta. I had the Garganelli chicken and it was very very Good! Nice selection of menu as well. Staff are nice and outgoing. Will surely return 😊

Helpful?
Thank Danika M
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Good morning , First of all may I thank you for trying out Pepe Nero and for the recognition you have given us. It's always a pleasure receiving good comments as they fill us with joy and motivate us even further to continue on improving on what we are doing. We look forward to host you again and take this... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Food is very good and all fresh.. I tried the meat and it as expected as we ordered.. I tried the fish and it was fresh and well cocked and today I'm going to trie there famous pizza.. I'm sure that it's going to be amazing..

Helpful?
Thank Daniel Paul Z
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Good morning , Thank you for your review and you are always welcome . Best regards Pepe Nero Team More 

Malta
Level Contributor
198 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2016

It has been 4 years since my last review of this restaurant, and I am glad to say that they are still one of the better restaurants on the Waterfront. For meat lovers, they offer a number of different cuts as well as a pasta and good pizza (wood-fired oven). Well worth visiting

Helpful?
1 Thank SLM_Malta
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Good morning, We are really grateful for the recognition and warmth you have showed us . These are small joys that motivate us to move forward and keep on improving. Thank you so much for everything and really hope to see you again Best wishes More 

Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Was working on a ship and we were moored just a few metres down the road at pinto wharf. My crew (all italian) would eat here once or twice a week for 4 whole months. Now of an italian tells you that the local pizza is good, it means something... I had to try it myself and I have to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexei B
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and you are always welcome whenever you are on our beautiful island More 

Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Service was nice, quick and kind waiters. Meat was ok. Huge plates, too big for one person))) I ordered risotto marinara. Is was good, but it wasn't exactly classic risotto. Maybe they cook it by their own way, I don't know. Any way, we enjoyed. Please take a look about the way of cooking classic risotto. Thanks

Helpful?
1 Thank Л Б
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Thank you for your review More 

Travellers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Swieqi, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$30
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Valletta Waterfront | Pinto Wharf Valletta Waterfront, Valletta, Island of Malta vlt, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Valletta
  • Phone Number: +356 2122 2220
Description
Located in one of the most picturesque areas of the island, Pepe Nero offers its customers an outstanding dining experience. Our exquisite menu features hand stretched artisan pizza, fantastic selection of fresh salads, pasta and rice dishes, different cuts of the finest aged prime beef and market-fresh seafood. We pride ourselves on offering you a combination of the freshest ingredients and delicious flavors that will make your experience of tasting our pizza truly unforgettable. Served in just a few minutes, and cooked in a wood-fired lava stone pizza oven, Pepe Nero will change your expectations of pizza for good. Meat lovers will be spoilt for choice with high quality meats from around the world. Whether you choose a T-bone, Rib-eye, New York Striploin or Porterhouse, you are in for a treat. We dry-age our meats on site in a temperature-controlled dehumidified environment for 21-28 days depending on the cut. At Pepe Nero we also offer prime game meats, such as venison and wild boar, as well as an excellent selection of fresh fish and shellfish.Complementing the excellent menu, our comprehensive wine list caters for every taste, occasion and budget, ranging from simple rustic reds by the glass to celebrity bottles of Champagne. Welcome to Pepe Nero Artisan Pizzeria and Grill and let us spoil you with an unforgettable dining experience.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pepe Nero staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?