We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Pepe Nero

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Valletta Waterfront | Pinto Wharf Valletta Waterfront, Valletta, Island of Malta vlt, Malta
+356 2122 2220
Website
Today
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 264: English reviews
Malta
Level Contributor
179 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It has been 4 years since my last review of this restaurant, and I am glad to say that they are still one of the better restaurants on the Waterfront. For meat lovers, they offer a number of different cuts as well as a pasta and good pizza (wood-fired oven). Well worth visiting

Helpful?
Thank SLM_Malta
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Good morning, We are really grateful for the recognition and warmth you have showed us . These are small joys that motivate us to move forward and keep on improving. Thank you so much for everything and really hope to see you again Best wishes More 

Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was working on a ship and we were moored just a few metres down the road at pinto wharf. My crew (all italian) would eat here once or twice a week for 4 whole months. Now of an italian tells you that the local pizza is good, it means something... I had to try it myself and I have to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexei B
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and you are always welcome whenever you are on our beautiful island More 

Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Service was nice, quick and kind waiters. Meat was ok. Huge plates, too big for one person))) I ordered risotto marinara. Is was good, but it wasn't exactly classic risotto. Maybe they cook it by their own way, I don't know. Any way, we enjoyed. Please take a look about the way of cooking classic risotto. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank Л Б
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Thank you for your review More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked Pepe Nero for the first time for my bf's birthday . We both ordered pasta which was very good, however I must say that the service was slightly slow and for certain instances we felt forgotten, which is a pity . I would visit again since the food is of a good standard however I would probably avoid busy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rossana F
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Thank you for trying our restaurant and for your review , we shall immediately work on your comment to improve . More 

Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

I will never set foot in this place due to the arrogant behavior of the head waiter. We used to go every fortnight. It is a pity since the food is good but the head waiter shoved us out last Sunday since we asked to be seated somewhere outside where we can smoke. Never back again.

Helpful?
Thank Pikku007
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Hi good morning , We take our complaints very seriously and quite honestly I cannot understand what happened. Would you be so kind to contact me on tavio@onvol.net please so we can clarify all ? More 

San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

We had a delicious pizza and salad to share and both were fresh and very tasty with delicious ingredients. The service was a bit slow on a busy Saturday night but it's to be expected, and when the staff is so efficient and friendly you just don't mind the wait that much. Definitely recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pizzi
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Thank you for dining at Pepe Nero More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

Fast, very efficient and top notch food! We were a table of 16, very good customer service and the taste of the food was absolutely perfect. Highly recommended I am definitely coming again :))

Helpful?
2 Thank Graceanne M
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

May I thank you for your custom and review More 

Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Visited as a family lunch Starters ordered were the duck pate and calamari. Both were pleasant! Mains were very disappointing though, ordered seafood risotto X2, tortellini with ham and spare ribs. Both seafood dishes were disappointing...it had all the right seafood contents but lacked the skill to bring all together for flavour. Way too much tomato... My ribs were "ok",... More 

Helpful?
Thank Realmcgregor
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Hi first of all may I thank you for your custom and review, may I excuse myself for the bad experience you encountered at one of our restaurants. Today we had a management meeting as we always treat all criticism as constructive as possible, and we rectified wherever needed change . I hope that you will give us another chance... More 

Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Wonderful location Excelllent service Perfect food Prices on the higher side but recommend Thumbs up

Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald G
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Thank you for your custom and review More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We went on a public holiday and restaurant was full so service was a bit slow, we had no issue about that since it was expected. Who love meat they offer different types but had 2 items not available. To issue food all together some of the main courses were a bit cold but we didn't feel like complaining since... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Svetlana D
Ottavio S, General Manager at Pepe Nero, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we will work on your comments to provide a better service for our clients . More 

Travellers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Swieqi, Island of Malta
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta
 
Valletta, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$30
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 15:30
19:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Valletta Waterfront | Pinto Wharf Valletta Waterfront, Valletta, Island of Malta vlt, Malta
  • Location: Europe  >  Malta  >  Island of Malta  >  Valletta
  • Phone Number: +356 2122 2220
Description
Located in one of the most picturesque areas of the island, Pepe Nero offers its customers an outstanding dining experience. Our exquisite menu features hand stretched artisan pizza, fantastic selection of fresh salads, pasta and rice dishes, different cuts of the finest aged prime beef and market-fresh seafood. We pride ourselves on offering you a combination of the freshest ingredients and delicious flavors that will make your experience of tasting our pizza truly unforgettable. Served in just a few minutes, and cooked in a wood-fired lava stone pizza oven, Pepe Nero will change your expectations of pizza for good. Meat lovers will be spoilt for choice with high quality meats from around the world. Whether you choose a T-bone, Rib-eye, New York Striploin or Porterhouse, you are in for a treat. We dry-age our meats on site in a temperature-controlled dehumidified environment for 21-28 days depending on the cut. At Pepe Nero we also offer prime game meats, such as venison and wild boar, as well as an excellent selection of fresh fish and shellfish.Complementing the excellent menu, our comprehensive wine list caters for every taste, occasion and budget, ranging from simple rustic reds by the glass to celebrity bottles of Champagne. Welcome to Pepe Nero Artisan Pizzeria and Grill and let us spoil you with an unforgettable dining experience.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pepe Nero staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?