We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holbergstuen

Torgallmenningen 6, Bergen 5014, Norway
+47 55 55 20 55
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good44%
  • Average23%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“fish soup” (5 reviews)
“steak” (3 reviews)
“nice meal” (2 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, Scandinavian, Norwegian, Soups
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Torgallmenningen 6, Bergen 5014, Norway
Neighbourhood: Sentrum
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2017

Friendly greeting and good service. It was a quiet night as it was mid-week. We both had the lamb as recommended by the waitress and were not disappointed. It was cooked perfectly and very tasty.

Thank Kevin U
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this review

Hello Kevin. Thanks for your comments regarding your mid-week visit here at Holbergstuen. We are glad that we met your expectations regarding the lamb. Welcome back any time!

Reviewed 28 January 2017

Went there to have the traditional norwegian "Raspaballer", after ordering I waited for 20 minutes, and when the food arrived there was a piece of salted meat, purree of sweede and 2 small potatoes. When I asked the waiter where the Raspaballer was I was...More

Thank bjalmest
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this review

Hey again. I am sorry to hear about your experience here at Holbergstuen when you were going to have the famous "Raspeballer". We were sold out and we are sorry if the waiter didn't communicate that to you when you were ordering. We will be...More

Reviewed 5 January 2017

I was here with my family on a late saturday evening. We needed to book a table as late as 9.30 pm, and it was not a problem. The waitress was giving good service from the start. My grandmother and her sister had a fish...More

Thank Erik E
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting us, and we are glad that you enjoyed both the food and service. We will gladly welcome you back next time you are in Bergen! See you then.

Reviewed 18 October 2016

We had booked dinner here one Friday night. They serve traditional Norwegian cooking and they do it well. Friendly and helpful staff made it a perfect evening. The food was good, the restaurant rustic and the staff excellent. Situated just in the middle of the...More

Thank Jarlen2014
Holbergstuen, Manager at Holbergstuen, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such nice words regarding your visit at Holbergstuen. You describe everything we want to be in your review! Welcome back!

Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We met with some friends from our time at the university in the seventies. Back then we also met here. The raindeer steak I had was average. Of course it was nice to meet old friends.

Thank Jon Ingve L
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Visiting Bergen meet up with some old friends at this establishment! The food, service and location is very central in midst of the city. Food was good and so was the service, however rather on the expensive side!

Thank Norway1944
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We had a very nice meal here. Service was great and the people were friendly. I had a chicken dish that was very tasty and nicely presented. My friend had salmon that was very good.

Thank Rosanne D
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

I visited Holbergstuen with my family last year. One of the oldest restaurants in Bergen, been around since 1927. Not so many guests at the time we visited. We chose one fish- and one meat course. The food was amazing and the staff showed excellent...More

Thank passion4foodwine
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Right in the main square. Had a very reasonable steak with chips, mushrooms, onions and sauce. Pleasant atmosphere and attentive staff.

Thank mdsbohiggins
Reviewed 25 January 2016

We had the best Bergensk fish soup. It's kind of obligatory when you go to Bergen to at least have their fish soup once. Nice "old fashioned" decoration. Good service.

Thank Bodil L
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bare Vestland
404 reviews
.15 km away
Bare Restaurant
136 reviews
.16 km away
Sostrene Hagelin
168 reviews
.07 km away
Take Sushi
41 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bergen Tourist Information
1,224 reviews
.15 km away
Fish Market
3,970 reviews
.18 km away
Byparken
109 reviews
.18 km away
Sailor's Monument
33 reviews
.03 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Holbergstuen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$34
Cuisine
European, Scandinavian, Norwegian, Soups
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
14:00 - 23:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:30
Thursday
11:00 - 23:30
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Torgallmenningen 6, Bergen 5014, Norway
  • Location: Europe  >  Norway  >  Western Norway  >  Hordaland  >  Bergen>  > Sentrum
  • Neighbourhood: Sentrum
  • Phone Number: +47 55 55 20 55
  • E-mail
Description
In 90 years has local guests frequented Holbegstuen restaurant. Holbergstuen holds Norwegian and western Norwegian food traditions alive in traditional atmosphere.