We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arlingtons

13 Museum Street, Ipswich IP1 1HE, England
+44 1473 230293
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good25%
  • Average14%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (13 reviews)
“side salad” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
13 Museum Street, Ipswich IP1 1HE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Looking forward to a meal before the cinema - checked opening times and menus online - special pre-theatre menu which sounded good. The website did not mention the need to book in advance and at 6.15pm on a wet Tuesday evening, I would not expect...More

Thank Jan H
Caroline H, Manager at Arlingtons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jan We are sorry to hear of your disappointment and can only deeply apologise for our lack of clarity over closures. We are currently in the process of a complete refurbishment of the restaurant, and so at certain periods we have had to close...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A last minute decision lead to a very pleasant meal in great surrounds. Food was very nice, service a little slow, but there was a large party also in, so to be expected. Staff and service very good. The environment of an old dance hall...More

Thank Ade-the-great
Caroline H, Manager at Arlingtons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you had a fantastic experience at our restaurant, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Caroline

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely time here. The restaurant is large so its great for larger groups. The food was delicious and the staff were very helpful.

Thank L0uby99
Caroline H, Manager at Arlingtons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We look very much forward to seeing you again in the future Kind regards Caroline

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to Arlingtons at lunch. I ordered an Earl Grey, jug of water and a sausage sandwich, without coleslaw or salad and expected chips, as the menu said I would get. What I got was an Earl Grey, a half pint of water (and...More

1  Thank Louis F
Caroline H, Manager at Arlingtons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Louis We can only sincerely apologise for your experience on this occasion, and are incredibly sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction. We can empathise with you completely and we have investigated this situation and the members of staff on shift to ensure that this...More

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Visited Arlingtons for the first time and was very impressed, the food was excellent, the service was spot on. Would definitely make a return visit

Thank linda s
Caroline H, Manager at Arlingtons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Linda Thank you very much for your incredibly kind review. We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards Caroline

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Four of us visited for dinner had sea bass.... Dry.. with herby mash....not herby.chicken gougons overdone spaghetti carbonara was good however...... puddings ice cream and sorbet full of crystals fondant dry and squirtycream spoiled the lemon mousse.....didn't seem to be anyone in charge service slow...More

1  Thank Gladys A
Caroline H, Manager at Arlingtons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Gladys We always appreciate any feedback that customers provide, as it allows us to improve our service and standards. We are sorry that you felt you couldn't inform us of problems during the day, and we can only deeply apologise for any disappointment you...More

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Went for lunch today and ordered the meal deal including a sandwich and chips. It took a while to come and the sandwich arrived before the cutlery. The chips then took nearly 10 minutes to follow by which time my son had eaten the other...More

2  Thank Janemet
Caroline H, Manager at Arlingtons, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are disappointed to hear of your experience at our cafe on this occasion. This was a particularly busy lunchtime period and we can only apologise for your upset on this day. We strive for excellent food and standards, and we believe this is a...More

Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Visited Arlingtons for lunch before heading into town, on arrival we were greeted by a very helpful staff at the bar, we ordered our food/coffee, we were tight for time which we explained to the staff and the food arrived promptly which was a great....More

Thank James N
Caroline H, Owner at Arlingtons, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you so much for the positive feedback, hopefully you come back soon to try our food! :)

Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Comfortable eatery, clean and comfortable. Staff helpful and courteous. Full cooked breakfast was delicious, good portion and able to swap items if you want. To be recommended.

Thank Tanomoore
Caroline H, Owner at Arlingtons, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

Thank you so much for the positive feedback, we hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Terrible food, cold and very little of it. Very slow service with waitress having no idea of table etiquette. So sad that what was once a lovely restaurant, has gone so badly down hill, we were wondering when we arrived, why, on a Saturday evening...More

1  Thank womanman
Caroline H, Owner at Arlingtons, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Sir/Madam, I'm ever so sorry that you have left our restaurant so disappointed, it's disheartening to me to hear that the standards we fight so hard to meet have fallen short on this occasion. If you could please give me a call on 01473...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Biryani Hut
171 reviews
.16 km away
Aqua Eight
690 reviews
.10 km away
Love Thy Burger
69 reviews
.12 km away
Mizu Noodle Bar
312 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
New Wolsey Theatre
649 reviews
.20 km away
The Giles Statue
91 reviews
.12 km away
The Willis Building
55 reviews
.24 km away
Unitarian Meeting House
19 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Arlingtons staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$27
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Buffet, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 17:00
Monday
08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 13 Museum Street, Ipswich IP1 1HE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 230293
  • E-mail
Description
Arlingtons Brasserie is set in a Grade II listed building, formerly known as the Ipswich Museum Building. The menu is peppered with a combination of French and British dishes, including the likes of steak frites, spiced Scottish salmon fillet, and a slow-cooked free range Duck Breast Confit, Thai style grilled Snapper fillet and Roast Pork Tenderloin medallions and corn-fed chicken supreme chasseur. A range of wines are available to accompany meals, or alternatively customers can dine on cake and coffee with an afternoon tea. Arlingtons Brasserie also offers private dining, conference hire, events and can also make the ideal setting for your wedding reception.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing