We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterfront

Key Street, Ipswich IP4 1FH, England
+44 1473 226082
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Opens in 16 min
Hours
CUISINES
European, British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Key Street, Ipswich IP4 1FH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What can I say. Not coming from the area and wanting to treat my mum to lunch before the theatre I booked this restaurant. A brilliant move! My Sea Bass was delicious and my mum's fish cake and salad was great. Even better was the...More

Thank nonnajfw
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you, it was an absolute pleasure serving you, I'm sorry we didn't mention about the upstairs on the phone but glad we had a nice table downstairs for you instead and I'm very glad you enjoyed your meal, we have a great team in...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love this place! It is on the waterfront and during the summer is one of my favourite place! I recommend it to everybody because it is not so expensive and you can have a great service and good food! 😎 ps. Amazing view!

Thank The_best_reviwer
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your kind words, we love it too. I hope you had an opportunity to try our new light lunches, there's some great dishes on the menu and perfect for hot lazy days!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve eaten at Waterfront Bar Bistro on many occasions, it is always a winner and the 3 course Saturday lunch we had this time delivered yet again. The service was friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. We had intended to have just one...More

1  Thank FoodTravelFun81
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

What great feedback thank you! I'm so glad we could tempt you with some extra courses and I hope you tried our new baked cheesecake, it is amazing! We've made a few changes to our a la carte menu this weekend too, so some more...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here early, 6pm Friday evening. We had a beautiful table overlooking the quay. It was torrential outside! The atmosphere was lovely. No candles on tablespoon add extra charm but the place was beautifully presented, very chic! I had the lamb with mushroom risotto and...More

Thank carrie w
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you very much for your feedback, I'll make sure those candles are lit for you for your next visit and we loook forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Waterfront Bistro and Bar and will not be our last ! The entrance way is unassuming and leads through to a modern ,friendly bar where you wait to be escorted upstairs to your table. The restaurant is modern,...More

Thank Elaine B
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow, what a glowing review, thank you so much. I have been working closely with the front of house staff recently to really improve our customer service skills and our kitchen team are constantly working hard to ensure you receive fresh, well cooked food. I'm...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Only been once but the food I had was first class, service was great staff very friendly and helpful. And reasonably priced well worth a visit.

Thank westham16
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Great to see we have been able to show a new customer what we are all about. We look forward to seeing you again sometime and hope that your next visit is just as good as the first, if not better!

A TripAdvisor Member
237
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Had a family get together for a special occasion. I've eaten here before and was pleased with the quality of the food previously. You should as these are prices to expect quality food. My in laws had serloin steak which was by all accounts pretty...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry your meal was not up to our usual standard! I'm glad it has not put your off coming again and very much appreciate your gracious take on things. I look forward to welcoming you back and please...More

Reviewed 28 February 2018

I ate here with a group of 12 customers and colleagues last week. It's a lovely restaurant with a nice ambience. The staff are friendly and quite switched on. However, there perhaps weren't enough of them. The meal took over three hours in all for...More

Thank John M
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, thank you for your thoughts. I'm very glad my staff were friendly but am sorry about the waiting time, three hours is not what we would usually expect for you all to enjoy a three course meal, large group or not. I will...More

Reviewed 22 February 2018

Met here with a client for dinner. Drinks in the bar then dinner upstairs. Location is great - short walk from Premier Inn Service and food was very good. Considering all of us had three courses, all different, we all enjoyed our choices. Prices are...More

1  Thank read_review_first
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You're welcome back any time! Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others about your thoughts regarding your visit with us recently. There's still plenty more food to try an enjoy!

A TripAdvisor Member
Ipswich, United Kingdom
32
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

I used to be a regular of this restaurant a few years ago for the set menu, but I stopped going as I found the menu lacking in variety and the contents of it really didn’t change much. However was excited to return with work...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Lianne_Willis, Manager at The Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

This is lovely to hear thank you, made all the more special being written by an 'ex regular' ;). I hope the changes that our new Head Chef have made are enough to keep you coming back for a while!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Ipswich
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
842 reviews
.09 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
1,462 reviews
.23 km away
Novotel Ipswich
926 reviews
.36 km away
Travelodge Ipswich Hotel
325 reviews
.49 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Takayama
119 reviews
.25 km away
Bistro on the Quay
791 reviews
.16 km away
Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich
587 reviews
.13 km away
A Passage to India
324 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ipswich Waterfront
577 reviews
.28 km away
DanceEast
41 reviews
.18 km away
The Old Custom House
10 reviews
.11 km away
Wolsey's Gate
11 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Willyk
7 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LabrettaMod | Reviewed this property |
Lunch only 12 until 2
0
Votes
mikehelen327
26 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Claire P | Reviewed this property |
Next to Anytime Fitness
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Key Street, Ipswich IP4 1FH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 226082
  • E-mail
Description
Restaurant with stunning Waterfront location serving locally sourced fresh products. Fixed price menus available from Sunday to Thursday with an A La Carte menu on offer all week.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing