We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beagle Pub

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
+44 1473 730607
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 410: English reviews
Great Wakering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited here recently for a meal for 2 on a Friday evening. It was very busy and fully booked. Fortunately we had reserved a table as some people were being turned away. We were seated straight away. In fact we arrived about 15 minutes early but were still seated. Drinks order was taken promptly and food order soon after. No... More 

Helpful?
Thank CherylandDavid1994
Hadleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good value, good food and friendly staff, but the garden can be very noisy, as it's next to the busy A14. On busy days it can be noisy indoors too, which can be a problem for people like me, with hearing aids, so I try to avoid peak times. I'm a regular visitor.

Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We decided on going to the beagle to celebrate 3 birthdays and we probably won't go back, the food was of a reasonable standard but the service just lacked something! The young man that served us was polite enough but didn't seem very experienced and it felt like he was just muddling through ( that may just be down to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin T
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I don't like leaving bad reviews but in this case I will make an exception. I admit that when we arrived it was slightly busy (Friday lunchtime.) We sat and waited....and waited. A waitress came and took our drinks order and we waited....and waited. 20 minutes later we had our drinks. We waited and waited.....10 minutes later our food order... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick0506
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Thank you, Nick0506, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. Unfortunately that Friday we were let down by a member of the team without warning leaving us unable to cover. We were also training a new member of the team which did make things a lot harder. I do hope in future... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have been using the Beagle since it was converted from cottages in the 1980's. On the last few occasions that we have visited with friends and family the service has been extremely poor, in fact the worst we have experienced in 30 years. As we waited to be greeted and escorted to our table several staff were going in and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Hi Mary B, we appreciate you taking the time to respond. The staff at The Beagle take our reviews very seriously. I am sorry that you have felt that the service has become poor here at the Beagle in the time you have been visiting. I wish you had chosen to speak to one of the management team on one... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dinner with a friend and we had a nice evening. The service was friendly and helpful and the food was freshly cooked and very tasty, although the chicken was a little dry. they take gourmet club cards too!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
David C, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Sarah H. You really made our day today and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards David Chandler General Manager More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I hadn't booked a table as it was a Monday night. I had to wait around 10 minutes before someone could take allocate me a seat - they were rushing past all the time - then another 15 minutes to take the order - 7 minutes before the drink arrived and so on throughout the night. Its not the waitresses... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yorkshirebird27
David C, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Yorkshirebird27. We are sorry that you felt we were short staffed on Monday but we are glad that you enjoy our cider and ale selection. Best wishes David Chandler General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were staying in Ipswich staying at the Premier Inn - next door to The Beagle where we had stayed before, so we naturally booked a table in The Beagle in which we have also eaten before and had been really pleased with, so this time we invited our family to join us as a treat.There were six of us,... More 

Helpful?
Thank APips1
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Apips1, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your meals when you dined with us and wish that you had brought this to our attention when you visited and we could have replaced the dishes. I am sorry that... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Soggy batter on the fish, really inedible Cold sweet potato fries Luke warm steak A few desserts missing from the menu Waited an hour, so half hour longer than told for table All in all, a bit of a wash out. Won't rush back. Didn't complain to staff but did tell them it wasn't good - as they already had... More 

Helpful?
Thank JojoBall
David C, General Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us your feedback it is much appreciated. I am sorry that your meal quality was not up to the standard it should be. Heather who looked after you that evening was disappointed that you had assured her that your meals were fine when she checked on you as she would have happily replaced them. I spoke... More 

Kesgrave, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely evening at The Beagle last night, delicious food, warm welcome, the managers in their first year are brilliant, definitely now on my list for future meals out.

Helpful?
Thank REEVEB702013
General Manager A, Manager at Beagle Pub, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. They are much appreciated and it was a pleasure to meet you and look forward to seeing you soon. Best wishes Heather chandler Manager More 

Travellers who viewed Beagle Pub also viewed

 

Been to Beagle Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hadleigh Road | Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 730607

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Beagle Pub and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Beagle Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?