We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Brook Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Street | Washbrook, Ipswich IP8 3HR, England
+44 1473 730531
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 148: English reviews
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely first rate! Have been a coeliac for 25 years and have never come across a pub like this for such a wide variety of great gluten free food. In fact it is an exception for there to be a meal on the menu that isn't g-free. The staff were very friendly too. The head cook had clearly worked out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Canterburytraveller
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hello there - thank you for the kind words...hopefully we'll see you again soon when you're back in Suffolk, Ian Evans More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a family meal on Saturday evening, was not very busy, which was good, we chose here because there was a lot to choose from on the menu that was gluten free, as my wife in gluten intolerance, think there was only 1 meal she could not have as it contained gluten, happy days, even the deserts menu was all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy1651
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Andy - thanks for the thumbs up, do come again soon Ian Evans More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

I organised a 70th birthday meal for 26 people for a Sunday lunchtime. Nigel, the cook saw us beforehand to go over the details of the meal and seating arrangements. I supplied party balloons and flowers the day before and when we all arrived on Sunday - the restaurant look lovely, nicely laid out for everyone to chat and move... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lindaipswich2016
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Linda - thanks for your complimentary message, really pleased you enjoyed your trip to the Brook Inn. See you soon! Ian Evans More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016

My father and I went to have lunch yesterday at the Brook, we have eaten here before. When we arrived there was only two tables seated, quite a few with reserve on but otherwise the place was empty. We stood at the bar for several minutes and a young lady called her mum to let her know people where waiting.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda P
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi Linda and thanks for taking the time to write this report. Firstly I'd like to apologise to you and your father for the poor service you received. It should not happen to any customers, let alone an elderly patron like your father. I'm not sure why the young lady did not show you to a table and hand you... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
950 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016

Three of us had dinner at this pub and we found the service to be friendly and efficient. All of us opted to have the salmon which was really delicious, and the desserts were equally good. The only slight criticism is that there were some unruly children on a nearby table, but that is not the fault of the pub,... More 

Helpful?
Thank mjc404
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi there - thanks for taking time to write your review...sorry about the unruly kids but hopefully they won't be visiting next time you come! Cheers Ian Evans More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2016

Stopped by for a light lunch. My friend had a tuna and baked potato which was ok. I had a tomato penne pasta dish with cheese which was more than 'al dente' As my friend was paying I decided not to complain . The young man serving was very pleasant and helpful. Sadly will not be returning as nothing special... More 

Helpful?
Thank mary S
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hello Mary - sorry to read that you were very disappointed with your visit to our community-owned pub. Also disappointed that you weren't able to raise your complaint at the time as that is always the best opportunity to highlight a problem, rather than after the event. We try and learn from the negatives as well as the positives and... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

One of the best pub Sunday lunches for a long time. Plenty of good roast beef, nice roast potatoes and good selection of veg. Great family pub with friendly staff

Helpful?
1 Thank Dogdancer007
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to write your review - you're very much welcome every Sunday! Ian Evans More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Was a bit worried as the menu was a little basic. However when the food arrived it was amazing. Had the tempura prawns and best I have ever tasted hubby had the gammon not over cooked and not salty, was also good that there was not a mountain of chips. Also nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Thanks... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Happy belated birthday Helen and we're pleased you enjoyed your big day meal at the Brook Inn - do come again soon, Ian Evans More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Eat here at least twice a week love Monday and Tuesday night food is awesome also enjoy the food when we eat on other nights great little pub dog friendly in the bar and great staff

Helpful?
3 Thank Sue F
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the trouble to write this review - do come again soon...maybe three times a week?!? Ian Evans More 

Brighton, Sussex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2016

I was told this Inn served good food - I did not find this the case. The menu was a little bland, serving up the usual, unexciting fayre. I went for the home made steak pie, it was OK, but not particularly tasty. The veg that came with it was well cooked, nicely "Al dente". Unfortunately, there was insufficient gravy... More 

Helpful?
Thank curzonsparks
Ian E, Director at The Brook Inn, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for taking the time to write about us. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the pub - being a community-owned pub is no excuse for your disappointment. As a director I'm interested to know how the staff/manager dealt with your complaints on the night? Did they bring more gravy when you brought it... More 

Travellers who viewed The Brook Inn also viewed

 
Tuddenham, Ipswich
Ipswich, Suffolk
 

Been to The Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$18
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street | Washbrook, Ipswich IP8 3HR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 730531
Description
Community-owned pub serving British and foreign food, specialising in gluten-free meals. Recently renovated, the free house has an extensive menu, wine and real ales with garden space, free parking and dog-friendly environment. Surrounded by beautiful Suffolk countryside and accessible to main roads

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Brook Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?