We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sproughton Wild Man

$$ - $$$, British,
Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3DA, England
+44 1473 742102
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good17%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“pot roast” (5 reviews)
“pudding” (7 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3DA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Well if this is English carvery I'll never eat it again, well not at The Wild Man. It was awful ,the beef was almost all fat and gristle, no flavour completely inedible. The vegetables were ok and that is all. . Then the brown water...More

Thank Lorna G
Reviewed 1 week ago

booked a table for 1,30 and was told it was not ready and was asked to go to the bar area, bought some drinks and after waiting for a while were asked if we would mind eating in the bar area, we agreed to this...More

Thank pollard1959
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a super time at the wild man with my wife . Food is fantastic and the service is superb and they will make you experience one to remember .

Thank Craig D
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called in as we’d been stuck in traffic for hours. We had a dog and a 3 month old baby. We were given a friendly warm welcome. Swift service. Great menu choice we opted for a carvery. It would have been perfect at it been...More

2  Thank nicolaann44
Reviewed 21 September 2017

This is a proper family business that has tried to embed itself within the community. As a rule I am not a lover of carveries due to the fact that the overcooked food is often a disappointment. What a pleasant surprise to find succulent meat...More

1  Thank jamespeter10
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We haven't been to the sproughton wild man for years, and decided we would give it a go, and they were so friendly from the moment we walked in the door, the carvery had a good selection, we won't be leaving it so long next...More

1  Thank Alison T
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Took my dad out for lunch today, we haven't been to the Wild Man for probably 15yrs, so thought we would give it a whirl. The Lady that served us was very good, the young fella that served us was polite but slow in attendance,...More

1  Thank Linda P
Wild M, Owner at The Sproughton Wild Man, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Hope you do come again and I was glad you felt able to comment on the day so that we may better address the problems Yes we did discuss the onion soup and as I said on the day, our soups do vary, but are...More

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

We went to the Wild Man this evening for a quick unplanned meal unfortunately we were left feeling slightly underwhelmed. When we first arrived we waited at the 'please wait to be seated sign' and no one came over so we went to the bar...More

Thank Emma B
Wild M, Owner at The Sproughton Wild Man, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

I was the person who met you and perhaps you didn't realise that I thought you were one party with the people in front of you. When I realised I asked you were you would like to sit, but you wanted drinks from the bar,...More

Reviewed 30 July 2017

My first ever restaurant review was for the Wild Man at Sproughton it was excellent, went back today and didn't even bother to try the food, we were shown to our table and left for 10 mins while the busy single waiter dealt with other...More

3  Thank Britgran
Wild M, Owner at The Sproughton Wild Man, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

I am very sorry your experience was so negative. In our defence we had had a very busy day. On Sundays, because we serve right through to 7pm, we like to totally refresh the counter. Your order coincided with this. The understanding in the kitchen...More

Reviewed 28 July 2017

Visited for an early dinner and we were the only customers. When we left at around 6.30 there were only three other customers. Such a shame as there is real potential here. We had the turkey curry which was a little disappointing - the curry...More

Thank Richard C
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bramford Cock
76 reviews
2.94 km away
Wolsey Restaurant
33 reviews
3.39 km away
The George
101 reviews
1.67 km away
Bridge Farm Barn Restaurant & Tea Room
51 reviews
4.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Shed
8 reviews
2.09 km away
Riverhills
195 reviews
3.34 km away
New Wolsey Theatre
671 reviews
5.65 km away
Wolves Wood RSPB Reserve
12 reviews
5.38 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bellesbeauty
23 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Wild M | Property representative |
We have two vegetarian options on our set menus and 3 options on our a la carte menu
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sproughton, Ipswich IP8 3DA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 742102
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing