We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Salthouse Eaterie

1 Neptune Quay | Ipswich, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
+44 1473 226789
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good28%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (30 reviews)
“steak” (36 reviews)
“pork” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Neptune Quay | Ipswich, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Wonderful location on marina this is an eye catching restaurant-quirky decor- check out the wall art/decor ! An Interesting menu- not particularly extensive but never the less, something for everyone. Quality fresh ingredients, food very well presented on plate - this also means portions on...More

Thank Paulsmithcasty
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate here as a family on Father's Day, I was a bit disappointed that there was no special menu for Father's Day, which surprised me. We ate here as a group of 5 adults and 1 teenager. The restaurant used to be "somewhere special"...More

1  Thank willmoac
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The salt house is one of only two or three better quality restaurants in ipswich and it's Position on the waterfront is very attractive. Prices are expensive but the food is good and the wine list is okay. Staff do their best but are often...More

Thank Andrew S
LynnCowan, Manager at The Salthouse Eaterie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your feedback Andrew it is always good to receive constructive criticism and I shall certainly be looking into your comment with regards to staff.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This restaurant has a lovely ambience, friendly service and quality food and drinks. The menu is not huge - and favours fish a lot - but we found enough options to select from. The staff were all very efficient and the drinks list excellent to...More

1  Thank MichCL
LynnCowan, Manager at The Salthouse Eaterie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening and thank you for the lovely feedback

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Table for 4 people at 7pm... we did it get our pre dinner drinks until 7:30pm, there was no Bacardi and the waitress was unable to open a bottle of fizzy wine, so lack of training there a possible health and safety issue. The young...More

Thank KenziEuro
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Salthouse Eaterie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

I hope you will try us again as I am sure you will not be disappointed as i am extremely concerned about your review. Best wishes

Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

The restaraunt decor is very quirky indeed, with a mind blowing collection of quirky odd items including a Unicorns head mounted on the wall. The dining area is very comfortable, with good furniture and sensible lighting. The menu was not huge, but never the less,...More

1  Thank dtaussie
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Salthouse Eaterie, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

I think your description is perfect! Many thanks

Reviewed 29 May 2017

We sat in the garden thinking we would just have a refreshing drink but the menu and sight of the food others were eating lured us to order food and we were so pleased we did, it was delicious. Rui our waiter was amazing, polite...More

Thank Margaret S
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Salthouse Eaterie, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Visited three times now and enjoy sitting outside across the marina with a cool lasting drink. The staff have always made me feel welcome with politeness hospitality and honesty. My visits have never been time critical I have never been rushed thus I have always...More

Thank Ian K W
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Salthouse Eaterie, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Our position on the Waterfront makes us the perfect spot for a drink and meal enjoying the view. best wishes

Reviewed 28 May 2017

Wonderful location and great service but food was overpriced and lacked flavour. Steak served was very fatty and chips undercooked. Beetroot risotto was a flavourless and underwhelming, didn't begrudge paying service charge as staff were so pleasant. But I would not consider eating here again.

Thank noswad1969
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Salthouse Eaterie, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

I am sorry to read your review which doesn't match the normally excellent feedback we receive. With best wishes

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Good menu, all dishes we had were very good with one excellent being the Lamb Sweetbreads. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

Thank grumpyjb
LynnCowan, General Manager at The Salthouse Eaterie, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Delighted to read your review - many thanks.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mariners Restaurant of Ipswich
542 reviews
.15 km away
Bistro on the Quay
685 reviews
.14 km away
Mahzen Barbeque Restaurant & Meze Bar
363 reviews
.20 km away
The Waterfront
497 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ipswich Waterfront
515 reviews
.10 km away
DanceEast
40 reviews
.47 km away
The Dove Street Brewery
20 reviews
.46 km away
Snakes & Ladders
32 reviews
.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
dodsonjp
6 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Stephen B | Reviewed this property |
No response and the irony was that the complimentary desert sticky toffee pudding was a tray baked cake with a watery sauce and they placed a dollop of ice cream on the hot cake which was nearly melted when it reached the... More
-1
Votes
libby_wragg
16 November 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Steve H | Reviewed this property |
no sorry
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$18 - US$78
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 22:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Neptune Quay | Ipswich, Ipswich IP4 1AX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Ipswich
  • Phone Number: +44 1473 226789
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing