We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hind

285 East Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4EP, England
+44 1709 532490
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“roast beef” (4 reviews)
“apple pie” (6 reviews)
“local pub” (8 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
285 East Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4EP, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Called in today for a light lunch but unfortunately the mince beef and ale pie was not up to the usual good standard. 3 of us were dining and both of the other meals were fine. We’ve eaten here many times before this occasion was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Craig10413
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding our guest care,my apologises that you were not happy with the mince pie on this Occasion i shall pass your comments on to our supplier and also my Kitchen Manager. We look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great to find The Hind still,doing food on a Sunday evening! Staff were welcoming and friendly, service was good and timely. Good prices on wine. However food was disappointing, I had pie and the pastry was tough and it was not well filled.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Anna C
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback and four star review Anne i have passed your comments on to my kitchen manager and also the pie supplier.We hope you will return and see us again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are coming over to visit family in December and can’t believe how difficult it is to book a table here. We have tried to book on line no luck we have spoken to several different people over the phone and keep getting different advice....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank sue b
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Apologises for the mix up with your booking having read back through the emails i can see that the original email from my duty manager may not have explained the deposit needed for particular festive menus.I wish you well and hope you have an enjoyable...More

Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Called here for tea one evening fairly busy waited about 45 .inutes for our food hubby had rack ribs was cooked to perfection definitely recommend them came with a lovely side salad

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Jean S
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us and look forward to you visiting us again soon

Reviewed 20 October 2018

We had booked a table for 6 for a lunchtime treat. A lovely warm welcome into very pleasant surroundings. A very good range of dishes to choose from on the menu and we were soon sorted out. Prompt service and good hot and tasty food...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mary A
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

Thank you Mary for your feedback we are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to us and hope to see you all again soon We do sometimes have a problem with our new potatoes and have notified our supplier and taken on board your...More

Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

5:30 on a busy Saturday afternoon and one member of staff serving!!!! I’m a regular and the staff are great but let down by bad management Thursday night, ten minute wait to be served, yesterday afternoon was the same It’s a joke and people are...More

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Doug M
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thank you for your comments however i myself was working on Saturday and don't understand why at the time you went to be served there was only one person on the bar as there was definatley at least 2 members of the team supposed to...More

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Whilst the majority of staff were pleasant and helpful this was not a good experience, won't be visiting again. Ordered Sunday lunch...Roast Beef was as tough as boot leather as were the Yorkshire Puddings. Vegetables were barely passable...all mixed up so if there was a...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank holimaniaRotherham
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hello ramblinsid, Thank you for taking a bit of time to let us know about your recent visit with us. I'd like to extend my apologies for the service you received, I assure you it is not our aim nor a frequent experience for our...More

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

I am a regular in the hind and visit every weekend at least. The staff are always friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Therefore I am a bit confused about the previous review as the staff member in question is never anything...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank lisa d
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you so much for your comments i have to say that i am proud of all of my Team and i personally haven't witnessed any rudeness from team members as i wouldn't allow it.

Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Extremely rude bar man with blonde hair and glasses. Every time I come in he’s so rude to his bar staff and rude when he serves. He needs to learn some manners.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Sophie06022000
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

Thank you for your comments Sophie i shall be speaking to our front of house team member Gabrial as this is unacceptable My apologises

Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Called in on Thursday 20th September having cancelled our regular walk around Thrybergh country park due to the bad weather. We’re glad we did as the dining experience was very good. Great range of beers too as well as the extensive pub menu. The minced...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Craig10413
GeneralManagerA765, Manager at The Hind, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2018

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us thank you for your kind review Craig we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Hind!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Rotherham
Premier Inn Rotherham East (M18/M1) Hotel
418 reviews
1.44 km away
The Brentwood Hotel
333 reviews
1.66 km away
Carlton Park Hotel
915 reviews
1.78 km away
Holiday Inn Rotherham-Sheffield M1, Jct. 33
823 reviews
2.01 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La Pondicherry
250 reviews
.73 km away
Cuccinis
151 reviews
.71 km away
Beefeater Brecks
507 reviews
1.37 km away
The Branded Burger
55 reviews
1.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
Clifton Park
678 reviews
2.68 km away
Clifton Park and Museum
217 reviews
2.48 km away
Rotherham Minster Church
62 reviews
3.06 km away
Aesseal New York Stadium
69 reviews
3.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
annatkinson123
2 August 2015|
Answer
Response from eileenanddavid2015 |
Got to say we had a nice Sunday lunch there.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 285 East Bawtry Road, Rotherham S60 4EP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  South Yorkshire  >  Rotherham
  • Phone Number: +44 1709 532490
Description
This stunning pub is set on the hill with a beautiful spacious beer garden for summer and a roaring fire for the winter. Food is served from 12pm-10pm Monday to Friday and we serve a lovley brunch bettween 10am-12pm Saturday and Sunday with the full menu starting at 12pm. So if its just a coffee and a muffin or a full blown meal, come in an see what treats we have to offer. We also have a full bar stocking Wines, Spirits, Beers and our very own Ember Ale.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing