We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Axe & Cleaver

School Lane, Altrincham WA14 4SE, England
+44 161 928 3391
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good25%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (54 reviews)
“pulled pork” (10 reviews)
“roast dinner” (11 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
School Lane, Altrincham WA14 4SE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 915 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Recent meal for two...... Expected so much more after reading reviews,would not recommend as run down and dirty ,especially outside,The food was below average (we have eaten at various other establishments in this chain), overpriced,a shame as lovely building in a great location with nice...More

Thank MerseysideSamo
AxeandCleaver, Team leader at Axe & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review I will pass your comments on the the team. I’m sorry that you didn’t enjoy your visit. Hope to see you again soon Thanks Caitlin Team leader

Reviewed 1 week ago

We popped in to this pup for a pint after dropping our daughter off at Guides. There was plenty of parking available and the grounds were very well kept. Plenty of tables meant we could sit out doors and there was a very nice touch...More

Thank CSUK72
AxeandCleaver, Team leader at Axe & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thank you for your comments I will pass them on to the team. I’m glad you liked our personal touches. See you again soon Thanks Caitlin Team leader

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went for lunch yesterday, nice day so why not sit outside, only to be told "we are only serving roast dinner outside". We thought that was strange, as that would mean if only serving a really roast dinner then no food would be served outside...More

Thank blueboywrighty
AxeandCleaver, Team leader at Axe & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Thank you for your comments I will pass them onto the team. I'm sorry that there was a lack of communication with you on the day I will have a word with the team that were working that day, so this doesn't happen again....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited with my husband and 3 year old daughter the day before father’s day. The location is lovely, really close to Dunham Massey so perfectly if you’ve been there for the day... The staff were really friendly and with our daughter, giving her colouring...More

Thank Sarah W
AxeandCleaver, Team leader at Axe & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I will pass your comments on to the team. I'm sorry that your food wasn't up to expectations, we do encourage our guests to let us know if something isn't up to our usual...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After being told over the phone they have availability and serve up until 9pm to then drive 15 miles to be turned away as they had no tables, pathetic I seriously wouldn’t bother

Thank Natalie G
AxeandCleaver, Team leader at Axe & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for your comments, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't receive the correct information over the phone, I will give the team more training over the next couple of days to stop this happening again. Thanks Caitlin Team leader

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner & I visited on a Friday evening, we were quickly seated and given dirty food stained menus, table was also sticky to touch and floor was dirty, so first impression already felt bad, sadly the food was no better, poorly cooked, bad presentation...More

Thank John M
AxeandCleaver, Team leader at Axe & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for your comments, I will pass them on to the team, So that we can improve our service. Thanks Caitlin Team leader

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They have plenty of parking at this pub friendly and efficient staff, I was not taken by the cleanness of the inside, the floor was dirty and had food, cutlery and crayons on it, the toilets were due for a good clean as well toilet...More

Thank WanderingCarefree
AxeandCleaver, Team leader at Axe & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for leaving your review, I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience. I will pass your comments on to the team so we can improve the dining experience for everyone. Hope to see you again Caitlin Team leader

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We highly recommend the Axe and Cleaver having eaten here before with great service. Caitlin was polite and friendly, making us feel very welcome on the first visit so we booked to go again. We arranged to meet a friend a few nights later and...More

Thank colandden
AxeandCleaver, Team leader at Axe & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for taking the time to leave such an amazing review, I will pass your comments on to the team. Our team pride themselves on the great service and food that we deliver so I'm glad to hear that you received it. Hope...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went in with my mum for a treat and everything was amazing from the welcome to the food. Nothing was too much for the staff, and everyone was laughing and smiling even though it was quite busy. I will definitely be recommending the axe and...More

Thank Jill M
AxeandCleaver, Team leader at Axe & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review. I will pass your amazing comments on to the team. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks Caitlin Team leader

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just arrived back from Germany wanted good pub grub and the axe and clever delivered. Good food great service will be back 😀

Thank lbrooker2018
AxeandCleaver, Team leader at Axe & Cleaver, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thanks for your great review I will pass your comments on to the team. Thanks Caitlin Team leader

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Altrincham
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
445 reviews
2.70 km away
Travelodge Altrincham Central
726 reviews
2.71 km away
Best Western Cresta Court Hotel
1,114 reviews
2.80 km away
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
1,012 reviews
2.92 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Swan with Two Nicks
897 reviews
1.48 km away
Rope & Anchor
519 reviews
1.46 km away
White Cottage Tea-room
35 reviews
1.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dunham Massey Hall & Gardens
1,849 reviews
.92 km away
Lymm Dam
229 reviews
3.40 km away
Altrincham Market
750 reviews
2.66 km away
Hogans of Hale
33 reviews
3.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
MrsMoose2015
27 January 2018|
Answer
Response from junet640 | Reviewed this property |
No idea, sorry
0
Votes
Jules2022
10 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Gillian L |
Hi We don’t have one on our lunch menu but on our main menu we have a chefs garden bowl with stuffed aubergine and on our pudding menu we have a Chocolate coconut torte. I hope that helps
0
Votes
Ann A
26 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Colleen J | Reviewed this property |
yes.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: School Lane, Altrincham WA14 4SE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Trafford  >  Altrincham
  • Phone Number: +44 161 928 3391
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing