We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Williams Bar & Restaurant

Hertford Road | Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0JB, England
+44 1438 717793
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good27%
  • Average19%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (13 reviews)
“petit fours” (3 reviews)
“scallops” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hertford Road | Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0JB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

80th birthday party w0nderful service and lovley food. on 28- 8 - 2017 I WOULD LIKE TO THANK ALL THOSE WHO MADE MY DAY.

Thank Pauline F
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I got engaged at Tewin Bury Farm a few years ago, so we were really looking forward to returning to the restaurant to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Instead we left really quite sad and deflated that it had not been in...More

1  Thank swenglish2017
tewinburyfarm, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear swenglish2017, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed that we do not serve our normal A la Carte menu on a Sunday. I have passed your feedback on to our Restaurant Manager with regards to the atmosphere on this date and I...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

4 of us visited this restaurant at 12:30pm on 20th Sept 2017. We ordered from their 2 course option at £17.50 per person including glass of wine. Two of us chose 2 starters and 2 main course and 2 of us main course and dessert...More

1  Thank 43dbp
tewinburyfarm, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 43dbp, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I am sorry to hear that on this particular visit our service was slower than normal and that the fish cakes did not meet your expectations. I will ensure...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came to tewinbury for afternoon tea and were generally pleased. Nice setting and excellent scones. Expensive and probably not value for money, the cakes were a little on the tacky side. However the cups of tea and the service were very good!More

Thank Ellie J
tewinburyfarm, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ellie J, I am pleased to hear that you found our scones excellent and that you thought our tea and service were very good. I have passed your feedback with regards to the cakes onto our Executive Head Chef. We hope you will visit...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was very surprised by the amount of food we had for afternoon tea. Lots of different things. We ask for pastries instead of cake and that was provided. I regularly go for coffee on a Saturday morning and the staff are very helpful and...More

Thank DinahC516
tewinburyfarm, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear DinahC516, Thank you so much for our 5* review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and that our team always give you a warm welcome. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having been before and sampled their Lunch offer of two courses and a glass of wine for £17.50 was again expecting a pleasant meal. Sadly not the case on this occasion as starters took a long time to come even, though only two were ordered,...More

1  Thank Arthur C
tewinburyfarm, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Arthur C, I am pleased to hear that you have visited previously and had enjoyed our 2-course offer with a glass of wine for £17.50. I am sorry to hear that on your most recent visit that service was slower than on your previous...More

Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

OK, dessert delay isn't really a legitimate reason for 4 stars; however, there was a delay for our 3 course meal. Overall, great food and excellent staff. Always there to top up the drinks, and the food was delicious! Enjoy!More

Thank Jnero82
tewinburyfarm, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jnero82, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I am delighted to hear that you would consider your visit to have “great food and excellent staff”, I am however sorry to hear that there was a slight...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017

The setting is full of old world charm with many of the original farm buildings having been renovated into what is now Tewin Bury Farm Hotel and wedding complex. We were attending a wedding. We stayed overnight in Muntjac room, which was quality, spacious and...More

Thank Branko V
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Very nice surroundings, pleasant service. Food, chosen from the specials menu- excellent and delicious. Good wine. Menu was interesting and not too extensive. Only the mineral water and jazz let the experience down- very bland.

Thank ChrisBangs
tewinburyfarm, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ChrisBangs, Thank you for our 5* review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our Williams Bar & Restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 7 September 2017

I ate here last night for my wife's birthday. It has a good choice and a 'specials' board. My wife chose the crab starter and I had the cured mackerel starter (specials). They were both very tasty. My wife had the belly pork and I...More

Thank Roy-Bowdery
tewinburyfarm, Front Office Manager at Williams Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Roy-Bowdery, Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent visit. I am so pleased to hear that your wife enjoyed her birthday with us. Our glazed lemon tart is a firm favourite with our guests. We hope to see...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Plume of Feathers
380 reviews
1.40 km away
Rose and Crown
104 reviews
.93 km away
Lees Fish And Chips
54 reviews
1.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Welwyn Roman Baths
88 reviews
3.65 km away
Stanborough Park
190 reviews
4.38 km away
Mardleybury Gallery
26 reviews
4.42 km away
Tulip Clinic
42 reviews
2.98 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Williams Bar & Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$49
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hertford Road | Tewin Bury Farm Hotel, Welwyn Garden City AL6 0JB, England (Formerly Tewin Bury Farm)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Welwyn Garden City
  • Phone Number: +44 1438 717793
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing