We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant at The Salty Monk

Church Street | Sidford, Sidmouth EX10 9QP, England
+44 1395 513174
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good14%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (13 reviews)
“terrine” (2 reviews)
“fillet steak” (2 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 17:00All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Street | Sidford, Sidmouth EX10 9QP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Return visit and we like the look of the less formal dinning rooms. Another great meal. These guys are consistently good and we particularly like the fish dishes. Looking forward to going back now we are more locally placed to visit them. Top marks again!More

Thank hulford
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We are very glad that you like the improvements we have made recently, the changes and our new style menu have been very well received by new and regular customers alike, and the bonus of a new bedroom suite overlooking the garden has also been...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Excellent selection of starters and mains. Local meat and fish. All very well presented. Very good wines, and a reasonable mark-up on them. Recommended, but book early!

Thank DorsetTedwood
Reviewed 1 week ago

Delicious Afternoon Tea - highly recommended. The sandwiches were so fresh and fillings were a selection of chicken, egg and mushroom & pepper on really soft bread - all really delicious! Then came the amazing Scones - savoury with smoked salmon and plain with cream...More

Thank devonfamily2017
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review we are a happy team, we take a pride in making absolutely everything ourselves including the Summer Berry Jam so we love that you enjoyed it all. We are looking forward to your next visit too

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely wonderful afternoon tea. Beautiful selection of sandwiches, small cakes and fresh scones. Each of us had a different favourite. A very special treat.

Thank cathyperree
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to post them for others to read, we are delighted that you enjoyed our Tea so much, and as it's always different there will be new favourites next time!

Reviewed 22 July 2017

Our party of four dined at the Salty Monk and had a wonderful experience. The staff greeting us were very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu, its preparation and the source of the ingredients. I had the terrine starter which was very tasty followed by...More

Thank johnstor
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Wow what more can I say, we are so happy that you all loved your dinners and true that Chocolate tart is to die for.... We look forward to your next visit soon.

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

We had afternoon tea here on a rainy afternoon. Very warm welcome! Delicious afternoon tea, far more than we could eat. The best thing was that they prepared a separate gluten free afternoon tea for our son, which tasted just as fantastic as the 'normal'...More

Thank Janneke M
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Afternoon Tea is such a lovely treat, lots of tastes and so quintessentially English, dietary requirements are no problem at all ( with a little advanced notice) as we make everything ourselves. I am very happy that your son enjoyed his individual tea, it is...More

Reviewed 20 July 2017

Didn't get much for your money..Afternoon tea was very disappointing small portions and not much to share with others didn't think it was very good value for moneyMore

Thank Rowland B
6556, General Manager at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

This is a perturbing review, we are sorry that you didn't seem to have enough to eat. Our afternoon tea is generally too big and we pack the remainder to go. We give per person 3 types of sandwich, savoury scones with Cream Cheese &...More

Reviewed 16 July 2017

From arrival to departure the staff at The Salty Monk couldn't do enough for us.. welcoming, thoughtful and attentive. We were seated in the inner area and had the place nearly to ourselves so it felt like our own private dining room. There was a...More

Thank LCAS04
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Fantastic we are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and your dinners, maybe next time a dessert or two!! We hope to see you both very soon.

Reviewed 10 July 2017

Although not overly busy we were isolated in a different part of the restaurant. The atmosphere was sadly lacking - especially as an additional bedroom was under construction immediately adjacent to our table. No work was being done at the time but the rear view...More

Thank Simon B
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

We are so saddened by this review, yes we are improving our facilities and have worked so hard not to allow any disruption to the day to day running of the business. So considering that you chose to sit where you did which was right...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017

Never disappointing, another superb meal with good recommendation on wine. Reassuringly safe for gluten free diets and what a delight to have their own made gluten free bread rolls with a choice of herb flavoured butter.. Service excellent as is the menu choice. They are...More

Thank hulford
6556, Owner at Restaurant at The Salty Monk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and what a lovely one it was. We are very happy when our dietary needs customers to feel safe and reassured about their menu choices, an advantage of making everything on the premises, we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Neil's Restaurant
553 reviews
2.44 km away
The Chattery
239 reviews
2.59 km away
Becketts Coffee House
205 reviews
2.69 km away
Sidmouth Tandoori
254 reviews
2.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Red Lion Inn, Sidbury
12 reviews
1.81 km away
The Donkey Sanctuary
2,344 reviews
2.64 km away
Oak Mead Golf Course
15 reviews
3.15 km away
The Byes Riverside Park
113 reviews
2.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jenny B
6 June 2016|
Answer
Response from 6,556 | Property representative |
Hello we run a Pud club evening in the spring & autumn, a light main course and 6 desserts washed down with custard & cream! Numbers can be low for this event sometimes and we need at minimum of 14 to run the event. Check... More
0
Votes
ginga84
6 November 2015|
Answer
Response from 6,556 | Property representative |
Hello thank you for your enquiry, we have an extensive bar with local ales, english lager and lots of artisan local juices and non alcoholic drinks.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$22 - US$54
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 17:00
18:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
18:30 - 21:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
18:30 - 21:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
18:30 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
18:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Street | Sidford, Sidmouth EX10 9QP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Sidmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1395 513174
  • E-mail
Description
Award winning boutique Restaurant with Rooms just outside Sidmouth in East Devon.
6 Ensuite Bedrooms, Spa, fitness room, Private Car park & award winning gardens. Restaurant with an A la Carte Menu made from a strong ethos to local produce
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing