We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dukes

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AR, England
+44 1395 513320
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

571 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 565: English reviews
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Dukes is a busy and sometimes noisy pub, but the food we enjoyed was excellently prepared. Staff are busy, but you get their attention and they are helpful and polite. This is pub food, plus, plus, plus. Just look at the menu for seafood.

Helpful?
Thank PTRaggett
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a very enjoyable evening here at Dukes. There is a nice bar area and the restaurant is comfortable, cosy and has a good atmosphere. It was busy so worth booking. The menu was varied, well executed with good quality ingredients. Some interesting dishes, the lamb with dumplings was excellent as was the fish. Service was friendly and upbeat.... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheRedLobsterPot
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We ate an evening meal at Dukes and were delighted with the service and the food was delicious. The wine was reasonably priced and the atmosphere was very good. We would highly recommend Dukes.

Helpful?
Thank BusPassHolders
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked late morning on the off chance of a table - able to book for a late lunch, All food ordered was excellent, Whole plaice was well cooked and good flavour, All chose different types of food from burgers, daily specials and favourites, none disappointed. All staff attentive and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank SidmouthP
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect location right on the beachside In sidmouth, food was fairly priced and good quality the fish pie was very tasty and you could tell it's all freshly cooked lovely atmosphere inside we visit again

Helpful?
1 Thank em0901
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped into dukes for a cuppa and some cake after most of the little cafes were closed, All 10 of us found a lovely window seat and ordered at the bar. I opted for a cream tea a bargain at £4.95 for two homemade scones and a pot of tea. The friendly barman prepared the smaller orders and then brought... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Loved the scallops to start and Brixham gurnard was so tasty. the choice at breakfast was also impressive.

Helpful?
Thank Ralph G
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked 3 days in advance as I remembered how busy it was 3 years ago. It remains busy -my experience as before. Starters disappointing, part of my starter had been forgotten to be put on the plate and my partners arracnia balls lacked taste. He had fish and chips which was a good size and very fresh, my... More 

Helpful?
Thank ruthlet60
Joanna w, General Manager at Dukes, responded to this review

We were disappointed to read you review, thank you for coming into Dukes again. We are always happy to swap meals or offer alternative dishes if you are not happy with your meal. We never like anyone leaving us disappointed. We would happily speak to you in person if you would like to get in touch. More 

Leatherhead, Surrey
Level Contributor
156 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stopped by early saturday evening , as a couple. Table available, seated in the conservatory type front extension. Food was somewhat disappointing. Fish & Chips... the fish had not been cooked in hot enough fat, was soggie. Chips were good. large portions. Other meal was roast pork... the crackling was soft, chewy....not cracking as you would hope for ..hard &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
Joanna w, General Manager at Dukes, responded to this review

We are disappointed to read your review, our fish & chips is one of our best sellers and the most loved! Would like to speak to you in person if you would like to get in touch. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I turned up at the restaurant with no booking, but the staff managed to find us a table despite it being an obviously busy period. Food was excellend as was the service. We would definitely go there again.

Helpful?
Thank Paul H

Travellers who viewed Dukes also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to Dukes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$19
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Sidmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1395 513320
Description
Situated at the heart of Sidmouth town centre and Esplanade, Dukes is a family friendly inn offering relaxed dining, drinks and accommodation all year round.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dukes and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Porlock, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dukes staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?