We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

OakWheel Pub

17-19 Coastal Road | Burniston, Scarborough YO13 0HR, England
+44 1723 870230
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (8 reviews)
“potatoes” (8 reviews)
“pie” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
17-19 Coastal Road | Burniston, Scarborough YO13 0HR, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately we only found this gem on the last night of our holiday. After almost a week of average chain type food, it was a real treat to have a proper fresh cooked meal. We enjoyed it so much that we asked if we could...More

Thank Carol T
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this review

Dear Carol T, Many Thanks for you review, We take pride of given all our customers the best serves and where possible to buy all fresh products from local supplier's. We where more than happy to accommodate you for breakfast and we are glad you...More

Reviewed 15 April 2017

Visited Scarborough for work last Thursday / Friday. Decided to stay out of the town and choose the Oakwheel where I had stayed a few times last year. It was a wise choice. Stayed in a large room which was simply furnished, but was spotlessly...More

Thank Richard J
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this review

Dear Richard Thank you for your comment, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay Yours Sincerely Shaun Hull Owner

Reviewed 7 April 2017

What a drop in culinary standard since recent take over ! Sad Dried chicken, Pavlova need d a hammer and chisel to crack AND a cancellation made three hours earlier failed to credit recompense! Not to be repeated In fact to be avoided Sad decline...More

1  Thank George M
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this review

Dear George M, Thank you for your feedback, we are disappointed that you did not bring this to our attention on the night of the 6th April, myself and my senior staff both checked through out your meals if every thing was satisfactory and every...More

Reviewed 21 March 2017

Cosy pub with open fire. Unfortunately the fire was only lit as we arrived and soon went out. Owner saw it was out but did not relight it. Good selection of food available on the menu and specials board. The home made steak and ale...More

Thank Brianthelad
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Not the best place i have ever stayed And the stairs definitely not for the faint hearted, they are v steep and winding Room was ok but i was cold Resturant abit of a let down food could certainly have been much better

Thank draggonfly
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this review

Dear Draggonfly, Thank you for your feedback but due to the old building there is nothing we can do about the steepness of the steps to the bedrooms. Appolgies if the food was not to your satisfactory. Yours faithfully, Shaun Hull

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

A long walk up the cinder track for a couple of pints and Sunday lunch. A limited menu but we were after the Sunday lunch anyway. The beef was excellent, although the veg was a bit disappointing. Mrs BB looked enviously at the next table...More

Thank StephBB1210
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this review

Dear Steph, Thank you for your feedback, applogies for your disappointment of no parsnips. Look forward to seeing you again in the future, Best Wishes, Shaun Hull

Reviewed 2 March 2017

After having excellent food over many years ,we went with friends to celebrate my husband's birthday.only one other table with three patrons .Soon started to realise that something had changed ,as previously always very busy Ordered two steak pies and two salmon with dill sauce...More

3  Thank David I
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Two meals this week. Very good quick and friendly service.Food excellent and good choice of beers. Highly reccomend. Roast Beef and Yorkshire pudding, best I have had eating out.

1  Thank Bryan A
Reviewed 31 December 2016

My family and I went for the first time to this pub. Our first impressions were really good, its a lovely warm cosy friendly place. We had a meal, I had breast of chicken in cream, mushroom and brandy sauce which was amazing. My other...More

Thank lovetoeatout28
oakwhee, Owner at OakWheel Pub, responded to this review

Dear lovetoeatout28, Thank you for your lovely feedback, its great to hear! Look forward to seeing you again in the future, Best Wishes, Shaun Hull

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Found this absolute treasure, after a very long day with 3 hungry children, 1 of which is dairy intolerant. The staff were friendly, and nothing was a problem, and the food was simply amazing, yes there was a wait, but when the food is being...More

Thank Ben S
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Three Jolly Sailors
553 reviews
.14 km away
The Barn Cafe Bistro
244 reviews
.44 km away
Coast Gallery & Tea Room
57 reviews
1.14 km away
The Blacksmiths Arms Inn
89 reviews
1.55 km away
Nearby Attractions
Blacksmith Arms Cloughton
25 reviews
1.68 km away
Peasholm Park
3,410 reviews
4.05 km away
North Bay Railway
761 reviews
3.02 km away
Freddie Gilroy and the Belsen Stragglers
100 reviews
4.33 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
George M
I would suggest you invite Dave back as your head chef and comptroller OR close the Restaurant and diversify to generate a living. Even your vegetables were served up in a deep pool of warm water ...Yugh !!
10 April 2017|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Maureen D
can I book a table/
10 January 2015|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17-19 Coastal Road | Burniston, Scarborough YO13 0HR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough District  >  Scarborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1723 870230
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional Family run Inn situated in the village of Burniston, 4 miles north of Scarborough and 16 miles south of Whitby, Offering a well stocked bar with real ales, Homecooked Meals with special Boards, Open log Fire, Garden Seating, Undercover Smoking area, 5 En-suite bedrooms (bed and Breakfast),Free Wi-Fi and Free Parking.