We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
137 Bartholomew Street | Newbury, Newbury RG14 5HB, England
+44 1635 49000
Website
Today
12:00 - 01:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 00:00 - 06:00
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 00:00
Sat 12:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 530: English reviews
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed with a friend in Newbury and she told us about this great pub that she had been going to so we went along for a late lunch. We were greeted by really friendly bar staff who were eager to please and made my friend and I a lovely Bloody Mary. We then moved to a different table and ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjpiggy68
TheNewbury, General Manager at The Newbury, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a fantastic Tripadvisor review! It really meant a lot to me that you found the feel of the place to be of happy and relaxed staff as that is one of my primary focuses managing the business and I am privileged to have such a positive... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent quality food and excellent service from Sophie who is lovely. Had the sharing roast and could not fault it. Not cheap but good value.

Helpful?
Thank GChugg
TheNewbury, General Manager at The Newbury, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing us such a great review on Tripadvisor! Sophie was so chuffed to see it! We hope to welcome you back to The Newbury again soon! Kind Regards, Hannah More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Despite the fact that The Newbury have a great localisation and the place is quite good itself I think that the service is very poor as the staff is never around and when you happen to see them they are always talking with themselves having fun while you the costumer is having a hard time trying to order or call... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheBestGourmand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As myself and my friends live across the country, we agreed on a pub/restaurant halfway between us, After some research The Newbury was chosen. We got served straight away, with drinks arriving quickly after, and the Chef came round with his humble assistant with the fresh fish board, This was something I never seen before and was a lovely touch,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
TheNewbury, General Manager at The Newbury, responded to this review

Hi Glenn, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such an excellent review on Tripadvisor. So pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and thank you for mentioning Darren our Head Chef who always goes out of his way to go and chat with the guests about the food :) We hope to welcome you back... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Throughly enjoyed our meal with friends last night at The Newbury. Impressed with the way the fish was brought to the table and explained and discussed by the chef. The service was equally as good as the food. Only criticism is that the ladies toilets are in desperate need of a refurb. Still recommended.

Helpful?
Thank hellsbells2helen
TheNewbury, General Manager at The Newbury, responded to this review

Hi Helen, Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review on Tripadvisor. Sorry you felt the ladies are not up to scratch- we are going to improve them this year along with the corridor area leading up to them :) We hope to welcome you back to The Newbury again soon, Kind Regards, Hannah More 

Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
256 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Me and a mate came for a Friday lunch having booked a table through their on-line facility.Pleasant environment in a trendy stripped-down 'bistro' kind of style - bare wood floors, assorted tables & chairs, modern beaten copper bar etc. We received a nice welcome from the lady on duty and, although we chose to stand at the bar for 10... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dakles
TheNewbury, General Manager at The Newbury, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such an Excellent review on Tripadvisor following your lunch on friday. We hope to welcome back to The Newbury again soon, Kind Regards, Hannah More 

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I went there with some friends as we heard they have good food, and it was very good but it took forever for the waiters to get the orders. They were very friendly but still so slow. Good drinks and very fresh and well cooked food. I will go again but nag on my orders 😃

Helpful?
Thank Jasmine E
TheNewbury, General Manager at The Newbury, responded to this review

Hi Jasmine, Thank you for your review- I can only apologise you felt service front of house was slow when you dined. This is something I am fully prepared to hold my hands up to, and apologise for- We have had unforeseen staffing issues this week leaving the team 2 members of staff down, which unfortunately, really could not be... More 

Ferryside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Research thoroughly done, I arrived at the Newbury full of optimism. However, the frosty greeting was matched by the cold draught which came through the windows next to our table. Roasts ordered they then strangely arrived immediately. The meat was adequate but the potatoes- supposedly cooked in goose fat- were like bullets and the vegetables had been cooked some time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philferry
TheNewbury, General Manager at The Newbury, responded to this review

Hi Phil, Thank you for your review. I notice from your other reviews you have yet to give a rating above a three star so a difficult man to please it would appear! It is a shame you did not vocalise any of this to me at the time as I was in the building and thus could have responded... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hired upstairs function room. Buffet for 100. Few staff issues when/after we booked that were resolved with a change of staff. Accommodation of our vegan menu was excellent and food was excellent/highly praised by our guests both vegan & non. Support & staff on the night were excellent, esp. Tom (thank you Tom) - nothing was too much trouble. Bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mos38
TheNewbury, General Manager at The Newbury, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such an Excellent Review on Tripadvisor- Tom was really chuffed to see him name mentioned! Hope to welcome you back again soon, Kind Regards, Hannah More 

uk
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I had lunch here with friends, a smart gastropub in a good location, lively and busy, quite noisy. Menu was okay, but was lacking in choice, I felt. I had a steak sandwich, nice meat, but was served on bread which went soggy. The place is popular, I went on recommendation, but I think they need to increase the lunch... More 

Helpful?
Thank molly21
TheNewbury, General Manager at The Newbury, responded to this review

Hi Molly, Thank you for your feedback and sorry you felt there was not much choice on the lunch menu- this is not a comment we have received previously. I really hope your experience does not deter you from returning- We would love to welcome you back. If you do fancy giving us another try... our new menu launches from... More 

Travellers who viewed The Newbury also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to The Newbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$19 - US$75
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 06:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 137 Bartholomew Street | Newbury, Newbury RG14 5HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Newbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1635 49000
Description
The Newbury is a stylish and unique Gastropub in the heart of Newbury town centre. The food is made fresh on site from locally sourced artisan produce. The drinks offering features a carefully selected wine list through to local real ales, lagers and high end spirits.

Open seven days a week for lunch and dinner as well as a great brunch menu at the weekend, The Newbury caters for those looking for a real dining experience as well as for customers who just fancy a light bite - with the open kitchen as the focal point of the establishment.

The pub has a warm welcoming feel with a spacious bar area, relaxing lounge area, separate dining area, private dinning rooms, state of the art multimedia meeting rooms, upstairs cocktail bar and also a spacious roof terrace where we can cater for parties of all sizes. Have a walk round, absorb the vibrant atmosphere. Discover our chef's table and our deli dresser with homemade piccalilli, sauces and bread baked fresh daily.

You'll also notice all of the recipe books that Head Chef Clarke has learnt from over the years.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Newbury and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Newbury staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?