We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Harvester Langdon Hills

$$ - $$$
British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Road | Langdon Hills, Basildon SS16 6HU, England
+44 1268 544714
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 175: English reviews
Basildon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food not bad. Selection of decent draft beers - NONE! Bottled ales - yes = VERY expensive. In fact dearer than London prices. Now apparently going to be Miller & Carter. What a stupid move. Considering in the summer main clientele are people coming from walking in Langdon Hills Country park & most of them dog walkers. Can see this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nioclik
LangdonHills, General Manager at Harvester Langdon Hills, responded to this review

Hello sir, I'm sorry you were disappointed by your visit to the Langdon hills harvester, as you have mentioned it has now closed down. I see by the date you've put on your review you probably visited us on our last trading day, I'm sorry that some items were out of stock due to this, unfortunately we have never stocked... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Having been to a number of other Harvester establishments, I had high expectations. Sadly, I was disappointed. It took 10 minutes to be seated, even though three different people told us they would just be a minute. And it's not as if there was a massive client base. Once seated, it took far too long to get our drinks glasses... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheEpee
LangdonHills, General Manager at Harvester Langdon Hills, responded to this review

We're sorry we let you down, thank you for your kind words regarding food and your servers. Although they wasn't able to sit you immediately for various reasons I'm glad my team acknowledged your presence. Johanna @langdonhills More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

The front-of-house welcome was friendly and prompt. We were seated quickly and the serving staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. The food tasted great and my parents and I enjoyed our evening.

Helpful?
Thank StevieG1984
LangdonHills, General Manager at Harvester Langdon Hills, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review. More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Reasonable food Good value Ok if you are looking for a quick bite out because you can't be bothered to cook! I like the unlimited soda and salad Good to fill up on Does what it says on the tin!

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
LangdonHills, General Manager at Harvester Langdon Hills, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback Paul. Jo@langdonhills More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Arrived and seated straight away. Waitress friendly and helpful, salad bar plentiful and clean (no mixed food in other pots) Main course tasty and hot, refill drinks. No desserts Surroundings very Christmases, looking a bit dated and tired, but comfortable. Also read this branch is changing Hands to Miller and Carter which will be nice to visit too. Nice place... More 

Helpful?
Thank wendy D
LangdonHills, General Manager at Harvester Langdon Hills, responded to this review

Merry Christmas Wendy, thanks for such a nice review. jo@langdonhills More 

Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

Our Christmas meal was organised by the team at Harvester with a lot of planning and assistance. The Meal was due from 15:00 to 18:00. many of us got there about 14:30. We were shown to our tables by 14:45. Always with a smile, as Nichole who was our server and our group consisted of young Air Cadets to very... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidY4495BQ
LangdonHills, General Manager at Harvester Langdon Hills, responded to this review

Thank you for such kind words! It was our privilege to Host your Christmas meal and my team loved spending time with you all. jo@langdonhills More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016

Nice family meal out, cheap but value for money. Staff friendly, we went about 5pm was quiet so food was out pretty quick. Only improvement id like to see is that you get time to eat the salad before the meal is out. Quite annoying to be honest.

Helpful?
Thank MrJohnBoy82
LangdonHills, General Manager at Harvester Langdon Hills, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave a kind review, jo@langdonhills More 

Thorrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Had an awful waitress , gave her a birthday cake discreetly for my brother. In a loud voice she says ' oh is it a birthday cake ? Who's it for and when do you want it ?" Orders for food and drinks were taken , salad bar fine but our one starter took over 30 minutes ,when it finally... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank janer18
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

One person at salad bar. All tables empty. Sorry not taking walk ins, only bookings. Well they just lost out money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol A
LangdonHills, General Manager at Harvester Langdon Hills, responded to this review

Hello Carol. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Unfortunately on Sunday we were plagued with issues, all day from 9am we struggled to maintain power in the business and at any one point only had 1/4 of the restaurant and kitchen facilities available. Due to a volume of pre-booked tables through the day and to allow... More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

Family of 5 attended food is fine salad bar topped up ...drinks serverd quick waitresses are all good ..food of menu all good ........main problem is over the past year we've noticed that it's getting dirtyer .....salad bar sauce handles ,around edges of bar .....lights above tables ...wall s by windows marked up....if you look closely you'll see I'm 2min... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tapey2016
LangdonHills, Manager at Harvester Langdon Hills, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to write this. Can I start by saying a huge thank you for all the positives you have listed regarding the staff, food and service. I agree with you regarding the deterioration of the Crown, as you know its been a long while since any refurbishment works have happened and its becoming quite... More 

Travellers who viewed Harvester Langdon Hills also viewed

 

Been to Harvester Langdon Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Cuisine
British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Road | Langdon Hills, Basildon SS16 6HU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Basildon
  • Phone Number: +44 1268 544714
Description
At Harvester Langdon Hills in Basildon food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill or mouth watering slow cooked ribs and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like. Why not liven up your refillable soft drink with a splash of Variety? At the Langdon Hills Harvester we have Cherry, Strawberry, Lime or Vanilla sugar free flavour shots to add to your favourite Pepsi, Tango or Lemonade.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harvester Langdon Hills staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?