We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moon & Sixpence

Main Street | Hanwell, Banbury OX17 1HW, England
+44 1295 730544
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pollock” (5 reviews)
“suet pudding” (5 reviews)
“terrine” (6 reviews)
Closed
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Grill, Healthy, Soups, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street | Hanwell, Banbury OX17 1HW, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We eat here regularly and have always had good food. whether it be mum and I sneaking in for a cheeky lunch or taking the whole family for dinner, Hylton and his team have never disappointed. Wonderful food and wonderful front of house staff. Even...More

Thank Sally H
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely Sunday roast here yesterday. We visit here often as we always get excellent service and good quality delicious food. And yesterday was as good as ever. The staff are very friendly and quick. I have to say I have never had...More

Thank 980Panama
Reviewed 1 week ago

Today my wife and I plus two friends met at the Moon and Sixpence for Sunday lunch. This was only our second Sunday lunch visit. My wife and I drive over 50 mikes which we would not do if the lunch was not of a...More

Thank Alan D
Reviewed 1 week ago

The meal was excellent and the staff just wonderful, we could not have been looked after better and enjoyed ourselves more anywhere that I know of.

Thank OldMezz
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for drinks with friends and decided to eat and asked for menus we waited over an hour for someone to take our order. We asked 3 times if someone could take our order so after an hour we left. We wrote a review...More

6  Thank ChrisChristopheUK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I choose to eat here as it has a very wide menu meaning I could eat off the a la carte and my husband and daughter could eat from the pub classics or grill parts of the menu. My rack of lamb and accompanying sauce...More

Thank Sleepysue29
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If I could give less than 1* then I would. I very rarely choose to negatively review businesses but due to the way I was treated tonight I feel it needs to be said. We visited tonight arriving just after 6 pm. A table of...More

4  Thank dannibanbury1984
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came for a family meal, with two young children. The service was incredibly slow, especially as we asked for the children’s meals to come with the starters and still the children’s meals were the last things to arrive. Other people came in after us,...More

3  Thank nycuk69
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A large group of 'family members', many of whom had not seen each other for many years had a sit-down lunch at the Moon & Sixpence. The only disappointment for me was that the 30 of us could not mingle as the meal was a...More

Thank kenbaines
Hylton B, Owner at Moon & Sixpence, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we only do keep 1 ale on at a time as we find we serve it as fresh as possible for the customers so glad you enjoyed your experience kind regards Hylton

Reviewed 17 March 2018

In the past we've found service here a bit lacking but on this occasion everything was spot on. We were a large family group and our excellent Sunday lunch began with a warm welcome and drinks by the fire. We had the set Sunday lunch...More

2  Thank Polyolbion A
Hylton B, Owner at Moon & Sixpence, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So glad you and your family enjoyed there Sunday lunch. we will look forward to seeing you in the future.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Banbury
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
954 reviews
2.65 km away
Cromwell Lodge
605 reviews
3.61 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
959 reviews
3.71 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
609 reviews
3.91 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Purple Mango
475 reviews
1.79 km away
The Three Pigeons Inn
507 reviews
3.49 km away
The Roebuck Inn
113 reviews
2.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
The National Herb Centre
104 reviews
4.09 km away
Banbury Museum
176 reviews
3.70 km away
St. Mary's Church
29 reviews
3.68 km away
Peoples Park
64 reviews
3.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sheila321
6 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Hylton B | Property representative |
Great, look forward to hearing from you.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$39
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street | Hanwell, Banbury OX17 1HW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Banbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1295 730544
  • E-mail
Description
Situated on the outskirts of Banbury in the beautiful North Oxfordshire village of Hanwell, The Moon & Sixpence is a very popular destination.Run by chef Hylton Bradley, the pub's highly trained brigade of cooks and equally trained waiting staff work together to give customers a meal experience second to none.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing