We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Exchange

) #84 of 158 Restaurants in Banbury $ , British,
49-50 High Street, Banbury OX16 5LA, England
+44 1295 259035
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good31%
  • Average18%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“hash browns” (3 reviews)
“steak” (8 reviews)
“coleslaw” (2 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
49-50 High Street, Banbury OX16 5LA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Went hear for a breakfast and it is very cheap. Had a bagel with avo and bacon and it was good you get what you pay for. Very quick service

Thank charliebyne
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Typical Whetherspoon's pub with good value for money but since the last renovation, even better. I think it's more family friendly now. It's a must if you live in or visit Banbury.

Thank W1LLY
Chelsea L, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a kind review. We're gad to hear that you like the improvements we have made and we hope to see you again in the future

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been in a few times now and never had any problems with the food or service and it a cheap place to go

Thank sally54321xxx
Chelsea L, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello Sally, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an review. We're glad to here that you enjoy your experiences and we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited in July 2017 and had the sharer starter combo for 2 and a tuna baguette for a main meal. Its a good job we like our food well cooked because everything was overcooked crunchy and burned. It was disappointing and not up to...More

Thank Mark G
Chelsea L, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi mark, We're sorry to hear that your experience here was not up to our usual standard, we hope that your next visit will be better

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Wetherspoons brand is always consistent but nit in this case. We visited for lunch and it was the usual select what you want along with your table number and then order at the bar. There was no system for who to serve next and...More

Thank Lynne F
Chelsea L, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lynne. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience here. We are always happy to hear feedback about how we can improve. I hope that next time we can do better

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We waited at the bar for what seemed a long time, only one member of staff poor girl rushed off her feet. We finally ordered the food which came swiftly it was palatable and reasonably priced. A nice pub in a good location, it was...More

Thank Kevin M
Chelsea L, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi kevin, Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit on Sunday. I hope that next time you come in you will have a better experience

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in for coffee (the machine was not working so we decided as we were in to have a breakfast anyway. They do a whole gluten free option which was g okay. You know what you are getting.

Thank helstravels
Chelsea L, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, We're sorry to hear that the coffee machine was not working when you came in. Thank you for taking he time to leave us a review. We hope to see you soon

Reviewed 14 June 2017

We ate here on a Tuesday night and the food was well cooked and there was a good choice of mostly English traditional meals. There were plenty of tables and the bar service was friendly and efficient. It was located near Banbury Cross and the...More

Thank Colin D
Chelsea L, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Colin Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review. We're glad to have that you enjoyed you meals. And we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 12 June 2017

We are on a small budget even for week-ends away so found this very good value for evening meals. Where else could you get two good main courses, one with a pint and the other with a glass of wine and still get change from...More

1  Thank sherae2017
Chelsea L, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 12 June 2017

Good food, great wine, friendly staff! Only possible grumble is that the fried eggs came with hard yolks.

Thank DaveTrump
Chelsea L, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Dave, Thank you for your feedback, we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch and we hope to see you again soon

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pizza Calzone
311 reviews
.16 km away
The Coach and Horses
283 reviews
.16 km away
Thai Orchid - Banbury
483 reviews
.14 km away
Jool
81 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Banbury Museum
160 reviews
.56 km away
Peoples Park
57 reviews
.38 km away
St. Mary's Church
25 reviews
.11 km away
Castle Quay Shopping Centre
30 reviews
.34 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Exchange staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$13
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 49-50 High Street, Banbury OX16 5LA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Banbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1295 259035
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing