We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
+44 1233 840011
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 188: English reviews
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our party of seven walkers was given a warm welcome when we entered the bar, but it was obvious that there wasn't room for us all to sit together, so the barmaid suggested that we move to the restaurant. We asked if we had to remove our muddy boots, and were quickly reassured that that wouldn't be necessary. There was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Horleylad
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited The swan for the second time and I'm pleased to say they have maintianed the same high standard has before, warm welcome, good beer, great food and it is spotlessly clean. We enjoyed it so much we have booked a table for Valentine's night.

Helpful?
1 Thank leonard b
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We try and frequent the Gem that is the Swan in little Chart as often as we can The food hits the spot after a big walk with the dogs , As does a lovely pint of fine cask ale, the atmosphere is homely and the service is outstanding . I would recommend this pub as the perfect venue for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carmel Q
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review, we are pleased that you enjoy frequenting our pub. We certainly look forward to you coming back to visit us for another Sunday Roast and a pint of real ale very soon. More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely meal on Saturday evening. Generous portions , beautifully cooked and friendly welcoming staff. Best steak I've had in a long time. Very reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to respond, I am pleased that you enjoyed your evening and that the steak was to your liking. We hope that you will come and visit us again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Such a typical friendly Kentish Pub. Fires roaring, bustle of locals, friendly bar staff and great Landlords. The Spanish burger is just the best!

Helpful?
Thank Tracey F
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am pleased that you enjoy visiting our pub and that you enjoy the Spanish Burger, which I have to say is a favourite of mine. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Swan Inn provided a lovely plentiful buffet for after a family funeral. The staff were very kind and were ensured we had everything we needed.

Helpful?
Thank dave151dts
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for review, it is always pleasing to read that we were able to accommodate your party and that everything was to your satisfaction. I am sorry that it was not under better circumstances and I hope that we will see you in the near future for a drink or a bite to eat. Once again thank you, from... More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My self and 8 friends had Sunday lunch on the 30 th January and the food was just fantastic... those people who said they come on the same day and wasn't happy with their meal ... you sure you was in the same pub!!!!

Helpful?
Thank mariecp
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and that you found the experience fantastic. Thank you also for standing up for us even though people are entitled to their opinion, hopefully we will see you again sometime soon. More 

Smarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went on a Sunday as we had heard fairly good things about it. There was a set roast menu of pork, beef, lamb or turkey, which was fine in theory. However, it was really not very good. The cuts of meat were cheap, the Yorkshire pudding burnt and, all in all, it was very uninspiring. The vegetables were about... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Nidnod
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for finding the time to write a review. It is very difficult for me to respond in a way without feeling extremely disappointed and saddened by the comments. We always receive positive feedback on our Sunday Roasts, as we did the Sunday that you came to dine at our establishment. We always have repeat business from our regulars... More 

Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We had first visited the Black Horse, but they weren't serving food as no chef. They told us about The Swan Inn so we though we would give it a try. We were not disappointed, the staff were attentive and made us very welcome. We both ordered the Cod Fish Goujons which were delicious in a light batter. We are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, I remember serving you both myself and I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. I really hope that you will come and visit us again soon. More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016

Myself and 4 friends booked a table for 7.30pm. We arrived a little before time and had placed our orders by 7.40pm. The first disappointment was that there were 12 options which included either meat or fish but just 1 vegetarian option ( risotto) for vegetarians. After some toing and froing the chef agreed to make a mushroom omelette. Our... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank hlindsaysturrock
Roy O, Manager at The Swan Inn, responded to this review

We have been waiting for you to write this review as you made it very clear that you did not enjoy your meal on the evening. After hearing that you did not want the Risotto due to it having mushrooms, you then proceeded to order a mushroom omelette? We do cater for vegetarians and if you had maybe been polite... More 

Travellers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Bar Scene, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Swan Lane | Little Chart, Ashford TN27 0QB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Ashford
  • Phone Number: +44 1233 840011
Description
A traditional country pub featuring a wealth of beams and open fires with a simple, unspoilt front bar and cosy restaurant bar.Set in the historic village of Little Chart in the heart of the Kent countryside, we have a lovely riverside garden and offer delicious home made food using only the finest local produce.We specialise in traditional English cuisine with a wide variety of dishes on offer from both our main menu and our ever changing specials boards. We'd much prefer to see you in person but for details of our latest offers and upcoming events, please visit our website. We are now open all day on Monday 12:00pm - 11:00pm, Lunch is served on this day 12:00 - 2:00pm (No evening meals served on a Monday) We serve food Tuesday - Saturday 12:00pm to 2:00pm & 6:00pm to 9:00pm. On Sundays we provide Roast Dinners & Roast Meat Baguettes, with a selection of Starters & Desserts from 12:00pm to 4:00pm (No evening meals served on a Sunday)

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Swan Inn and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?