We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephants Nest Inn

Horndon | Mary Tavy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 9NQ, England
+44 1822 810273
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good32%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Horndon | Mary Tavy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 9NQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

I was very excited about returning to The Elephant's Nest. However, it was not as I remember it. It is a beautiful little inn but there were a number of things which I felt could have been better. It is very expensive so, for example...More

Thank kernowgirl17
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We always serve 3 types of seasonal vegetables with each dish that is required to have veg, currently butternut squash, red cabbage and cavelo nero/ curly kale. Traditionally Sausage and mash doesn’t come with veg, but if you had asked we could have brought out...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been to this pub every time we holiday in the area (usually 4 times per year) and you will see from my previous reviews we have never had anything but praise for this country pub. After our last visit in September, we were...More

Thank Sophie B
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We apologise completely and will review the size of our dishes. The king prawns have been on the menu for many years and have always been served in this fashion but unfortunately the cost of fresh prawns has increased. The service clearly was not good...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I did not think the food was worth what they charged. £16.95 for Fish and Chips which was nice but nothing special. The starters were extremely expensive. If the food had been 20% less it might have been worth it.

Thank 719BarbaraS
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Been here a few times now in the last few weeks and have to say in terms of review writing The Elephants Nest is a tricky proposition. The positives of the place are so strong, going on them alone it would be hard not to...More

1  Thank SirBeefy
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Firstly I’d like to apologise for your poor experience on the main meal front. The gravy is usually served in large jugs so can only assume they ran out, in which case you should have been offered more. Next the potatoes have been changed so...More

Reviewed 22 November 2017

Called the Elephants nest because a earlier Land Lord, was very big and sitting behind the bar was said to look like an elephant on a nest? Very good food, though not a large meal, expensive, and good outside eating in the good weather, easy...More

Thank Brian G
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Many thanks for the review, yes it got its name from the landlord.

Reviewed 18 November 2017

We saw the sign from the main road & decided to take a look & were really glad that we did. This is a lovely atmospheric "olde" pub with a roaring fire, interesting varied menu to suit all tastes including veggie, gluten free & unusual...More

Thank CindySlrs
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Many thanks for the review, friendly dogs are super welcome and hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Jenny and I️ first visited this cosy traditional Devonshire pub, three years ago with my father, for a pre-Christmas Lunch pint (or two). Have been since for a quiet drink. Today, we arrived for a pre-booked lunch. Nice greeting on arrival from the lovely lady...More

Thank sisie007
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Many thanks for the review, really glad you enjoyed your visit. We have fish delivered daily and the best steaks from the local butcher in Tavistock.

Reviewed 6 November 2017

We went to the Elephants Nest for lunch. The Inn is a lovely old building and is set with a wonderful view over Dartmoor. We chose to sit inside, a very traditional pub atmosphere, but there were tables outside as well. There was lots of...More

1  Thank pbodolai
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We have visited this pub a few times over the years and each time it has been different. The last visit was disappointing as we were served raw fish so visited again with slight trepidation but we wanted a lovely garden to sit out in...More

Thank Helen H
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Thanks for the review, glad you were able to enjoy our garden in November.

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Wow! How does a place truly in the middle of nowhere offer such a variety of wonderful food for lunch? My wife, her cousin and I stopped in on a Monday at the end of October - not exactly high season. The place was deserted,...More

Thank rod_perry
dartmoorman, Manager at Elephants Nest Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thanks for taking the time to leave a positive review. The fish pie is a firm favourite among our customers and glad you enjoyed your visit.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Tavistock
The Bedford Hotel
536 reviews
6.69 km away
The Queen's Head Hotel
182 reviews
6.69 km away
The Duke of Tavistock
231 reviews
7.09 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
358 reviews
7.11 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Peter Tavy Inn
24 reviews
2.28 km away
The Castle Inn
237 reviews
4.84 km away
Dartmoor Inn
72 reviews
5.77 km away
Peter Tavy Inn
575 reviews
2.28 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cholwell Riding Stables
153 reviews
1.60 km away
Lydford Gorge
756 reviews
4.47 km away
St Michael de Rupe Church
99 reviews
4.65 km away
Tavistock Pannier Market
413 reviews
6.56 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jannerbloke
9 January 2016|
Answer
Response from dartmoorman | Property representative |
Yes we have ramps we use over the stairs, just let us know. And yes both children and dogs are welcome. Look forward to seeing you.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$19
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Horndon | Mary Tavy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 9NQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Tavistock
  • Phone Number: +44 1822 810273
  • E-mail
Description
We pride ourselves on producing the highest quality food from the finest ingredients - beef, from local herds that has had a minimum of 21 days maturing; lamb and pork also from local farms; fish that is delivered fresh - never frozen - from St Ives daily; marvellous and varied English cheeses from Tavistock and fruit and vegetables from Helston. All our food is prepared and cooked from these fresh ingredients in our kitchen; no bought-in already prepared frozen food is ever used. Our menu and specials are ever changing and offer a wide selection to choose from including a number of vegetarian dishes. On Sunday lunchtimes we have a choice of two roasts (one of which is always sirloin of South Devon beef), steak and kidney pudding, haddock and chips together with a selection of dishes from the specials board.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing