We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Original Pasty House

Bedford House Bedford Square | Bedford House, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AE, England
+44 1822 616003
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good29%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pastries” (115 reviews)
“pastie” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Fast food, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bedford House Bedford Square | Bedford House, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I make it to Tavistock once a month and always like to treat myself to a lovely lunch at the pasty house. The service is always great, super friendly staff and the pasties are delicious! Also, in this weather I couldn’t recommend the milkshakes, made...More

Thank JessicaMarr88
Nigel E, General Manager at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Kate, What fantastic remarks to read! Thank you for taking the time to review us, we truly appreciate it and we hope to see you again the next time you are back in Tavistock.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have worked in tavistock for 20 years, and I have to say the pasty house was always a treat... This last year I have been so disappointed pretty much every time I order.. today I ordered a ham salad sandwich, normally amazing, yet today...More

Thank Sharon H
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Sharon Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to the Pasty House today. Our ham comes from Howells our local butcher and our sandwiches are known to be very generous in their portion sizes. I apologise if todays sandwich was not...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I guess I shouldn’t have expected too much from a pasty shop not in Cornwall, but was a bit disappointed in these. We had the medium steak and a steak and ale. The pastry was doughy and too thick on the crusts, the steak and...More

Thank 132emilyk101
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Emily As The Original Pasty House we do pride ourselves on our awarding winning pasties, so I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your pasties. I hope you return to Tavistock and try our pasties again I am sure you will...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here with my family. A few issues with the menus and food. But overall was lovely. Recommend the carrot cake! Yum!More

Thank rachelalafferty
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Rachel The carrot cake is popular choice - I am so pleased to read you enjoyed it and had a pleasant experience overall. Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts, feedback is essential to us and helps us improve the business....More

Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Right on the corner, this is a larger establishment than it first looks, because it goes a long way back. A door at the side allows a double buggie to get in (we saw someone ask). However, we felt it was a bit claustrophobic towards...More

Thank DartfordLynn
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lynn, Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your feedback. We do like to introduce new, exciting fillings along with keeping the traditional pasties for our customers to have choice. Excellent service and a good price point is also key for us, so...More

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Visited today while passing through Tavistock.. we ordered drinks which arrived quickly.. Then after some discussion we ordered food.. No problems, the food arrived quickly and was hot and tasty.. well worth the visit..More

Thank Paul S
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Paul, I am so pleased to read your comments about your experience with us a few days ago. We strive to offer a quick service without compromising taste - so I am delighted to read your comments. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

What a buzzing, friendly, gem of a place! Milkshakes were amazing, breakfast wraps wonderful and even a simple sandwich was fab. The staff were plentiful and totally accommodating and there was a great atmosphere. Totally recommend a visit.More

Thank Slipfree
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you - what amazing comments to read! I am delighted you enjoyed everything you mentioned. We really want to create a welcoming atmosphere as well so I am very pleased to hear about your experience. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Our breakfast of scrambled egg on toast, Danish pastry and a doughnut, went down a treat. The food was inexpensive and the service was friendly. Shame it wasn't lunchtime as the pasties looked great!More

Thank FR02JDR
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

What great comments to read! Our Breakfast menu is something we have focused on recently and I am so pleased to see you enjoyed it. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you in again soon over lunchtime...More

Reviewed 3 April 2018

My family often visit this establishment in the last few years. We always receive a good level of service and the food is also consistently good. As a business owner myself, i understand the importance of customer service, and this clearly a big part of...More

Thank Liam C
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Liam, All of our customers opinions matter to us, and I am so pleased to read about your positive experiences with us. As you well know, customer service is so important to business and we constantly try to keep this ethos in the heart...More

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Good choice of fillings from the traditional steak to mushroom & cheese, vegetable, chicken etc. Nice pastry - not greasy or too flaky and a good crust, not too thick. Always buy to take away but the cafe offers scones, cakes, coffee etc. Clean and...More

Thank Shirley61281
Janet E, Owner at The Original Pasty House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you so much for your positive review Shirley! I am so pleased you enjoy the pasties. We love to offer our customers variety, and recently just added a spicy vegetable and chicken/mango as specials. Looking forward to having you back with us soon.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Tavistock
The Queen's Head Hotel
202 reviews
.10 km away
The Bedford Hotel
563 reviews
.12 km away
The Duke of Tavistock
271 reviews
.48 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
399 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cornish Arms
1,119 reviews
.15 km away
Taylors
859 reviews
.05 km away
Robertson's
318 reviews
.09 km away
Bob's East End Cafe
165 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tavistock Pannier Market
444 reviews
.08 km away
Tavistock Farmers Market
92 reviews
.07 km away
The Wharf
141 reviews
.33 km away
Stannary Brewing Company
27 reviews
.74 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Original Pasty House staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Saturday
7:30 AM - 6:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bedford House Bedford Square | Bedford House, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmoor National Park  >  Tavistock
  • Phone Number: +44 1822 616003
  • E-mail
Description
The Original Pasty House is a cafe & takeaway restaurant in Tavistock Devon, offering friendly eat in table service and fast takeaway. We serve a great selection of traditional West Country pasties, freshly made baguettes & sandwiches, toasted wraps & paninis, homemade cakes and oven baked jacket potatoes as well as fair-trade barista coffee, fruit smoothies and ice cream milkshakes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing