We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

No55

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
55 Fore Street, Salcombe TQ8 8JE, England
+44 7484 064209
Website
Today
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 299: English reviews
Clutton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After visiting here a few years ago we were eager to return. We met with the same friendly greeting but not all of the food met the same standards. In particular my daughter felt most short changed, not being able to have her favourite drink from the menu and then on receiving her carbonara being disappointed firstly with the portion... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate W
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decided to try this relatively new restaurant in Salcombe as a walk-in. We were the first customers of the evening and were able to select our own table, which was nice and chose a table for two upstairs. The hostess was very welcoming and attentive. We browsed the extensive menu and made our selections and sat back to enjoy the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Basmantravels
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Then starter of mussels arrived without a bowl for the shells, without bread and without a finger bowl. All had to be asked for. The mains - the fish was lovely but the vegetables were cold for both of us. There was no ambience, the waiter appeared to be 14 and not sure the way things should be done. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zilh3645
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Visited here with friends and had a great meal, probably best to book as I'd imagine it gets busy! Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Chris L
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We had been recommended to this restaurant. It might have been the fact that we visited in December that we didn't agree with their recommendation. The food and wine were average and not a lot of atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank frenchtraveller43
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this review

Hello frenchtraveller43, You will struggle to find atmosphere in early December where ever you visit in Salcombe. Unfortunately its not something that we can assist with, however we do pride ourselves on serving good complimented with a nice selection of wines. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit but hopefully should you return the area we may see you... More 

London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We had a great evening here, the food was fantastic and the atmosphere very welcoming. Really good range of food and wine. I would highly recommend this restaurant will definitely be returning the next time I visit Salcombe.

Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this review

Hi Emma B What a wonderful review of your visit to No55, we are so glad that you enjoyed the food & wine and look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Best Regards Phil & Jane Greaves and the hard working team at No55! More 

St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Had a lovely meal here several years ago with the family, but had been put off on recent visits to Salcombe as the menu would not have catered to the whole family. I am not sure if there has been a recent change in management but we saw an extended and improved menu, backed up by TripAdvisor, so decided to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave N
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this review

Hi Dave Many thanks for taking the time to post a review we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit. Our menu does change with the seasons but we do try to cater for most tastes and always have a daily specials board that adds to the varied... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Lovely little restaurant, probably need reservation because only small. Excellent Fish Pie! Good Choice on Menu and Delicious Lemon Posset Dessert. Also have a set 2 or 3 course meal, good value.

Helpful?
Thank Delphine J
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this review

Hi Delphine J Thanks for your review and for suggesting that booking in the busy periods is a good idea, it certainly is best to book in advance. Ever so glad you enjoyed the atmosphere and food, the team at No55 really pride themselves on this and we do enjoy seeing happy customers. :-) Best Regards Phil & Jane Greaves... More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We were staying at the Habour Hotel but wanted to try an independant restaurant. We chose No 55 as it had an interesting menu. The staff managed to fit us in even though we hadn't booked. I had seafood pie for main and it was very good. Presentation was great. We had very good service and love the experience

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this review

Hi Sarah P We are really glad that you made the short walk down to us from the Harbour Hotel and that you found the visit to your liking. Feel free to spread the word and don't hesitate to call back soon. Best Regards Phil & Jane Greaves and the hard working team at No55! More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We had nice starters. Everyone enjoyed their mains, but my mushroom linguine wasn't overly flavoursome and was very oily. We had a very long wait between our starters and mains. We didn't eat until 10pm and had arrived just after 8:30pm! We were all getting rather irritable waiting. We didn't have desserts as it was bedtime! We also weren't offered... More 

Helpful?
Thank emluca123
Phil G, Owner at No55, responded to this review

Hi Emluca123 Many thanks for taking the time to review your visit, although the whole experience wasn't as enjoyable as you would have liked. Unfortunately the cooking of fresh food on a busy half term week does take time and while I wasn't aware of such a delay if you had of asked at the time I'm sure you would... More 

Travellers who viewed No55 also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to No55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$45
Cuisine
British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 55 Fore Street, Salcombe TQ8 8JE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Salcombe
  • Phone Number: +44 7484 064209
Description
Funky relaxing atmosphere with a modern twist to the decoration colours and fixtures, a welcome warm place to come and eat relax and have a good experience.
Open for both Lunch and Dinner with well behaved dogs welcome...

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of No55 and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Nottingham, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from No55 staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?