We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Gloucester Road | HR9 5BS, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5BS, England
01989760920
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 180: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to Birmingham for the st pat ricks day parade and called in to the mailroom up and down.the first visit was lunch and the pub was bursting, tbh there was a lot of families in there, we ordered and were so surprised when our food was delivered in ten mins..it was hot and delicious.. On the way back... More 

Helpful?
Thank james k
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for taking the time to give us a review, were really happy to see that you enjoyed both of your visits with us and we hope to see you again in the near future, and I will pass this review on to him he will be very happy to see this! Regards, Duty Manager, Chris More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to Ross as we usually go to the King's Head in Monmouth, which is shut for repairs. We found the food and drink was very good, the equal of Monmouth, which I rate very highly. The staff were very nice as well. We were asked if everything was okay about 4 times! Will go back there.

Helpful?
Thank RW31950
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

hi, we are very happy that we have met your expectations to your local pub in Monmouth, we hope to see you again soon, and hopefully Monmouth wont be closed for much longer but I am sure it will be worth the wait! Regards, Duty Manager, Chris More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I visited here on bank holiday Tuesday while taking a day trip into Ross on Wye Service was nothing to write home about server was friendly but stopped serving me when someone interrupted to complain. I ordered the chicken and rib combo while my partner chose a burger. Food took a while to arrive considering it wasn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

hi there, I'm really sorry to here about this poor visit you've had with us back in December, I've spoken to the team to make sure this doesn't happen again, we try our best to give 100% at all times but this day we did not, I would like to invite you back for compliantly meals for you and your... More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had nice 1 full breakfast and porridge with honey and banana very enjoyable all clean and tidy staff are all nice to speak to

Helpful?
Thank Steve P
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

hello, Thank you for taking time to give us some feedback, its really appreciated and I'm very happy to see you've enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again soon :) Thanks Chris, Duty Manager More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We found a table suitable for five, even though it was busy the staff seemed on top of things! We ordered our food and drinks at the bar, sat down and waited and waited....we were expecting a 20 min wait but as it was busy we thought ok just wait a bit longer. 45 mins later finally we caught the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Misspicky77
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

Hi, I am really sorry that your food did not come through to our kitchen, this was down to a technical fault on our end with our kitchen screen system, we have looked in to it and hopefully this does not happen again, this is a rare case and was a shock to us to find your ticket did not... More 

Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2017

Whilst its not the most atmospheric of places it is what it is and it appeared clean and tidy and no plates left all over the place as you often find in Wetherspoons. Food came out pretty promptly, however what was sent out was a disgrace. There were a grand total of 12 chips on my plate, 14 on my... More 

Helpful?
Thank venkmanuk
MailRooms R, Manager at The Mail Rooms, responded to this review

hi there, I am sorry to here about this poor visit you have had with us, I have taken your feedback on and have passed it on to my team & the kitchen manager to make sure this doesn't happen again, I would be more than happy to offer you and your wife complimentary meals on us as an apology,... More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017

Set off the main st it is your typical Weatherspoon pub big and warm ,set on level ground so wheel chair friendly ,plenty of room .clean tidy and good staff although busy still got served quite quickly ,parking is ad hoc as it is on the main st but plenty of parks about ,Good beer ciders and wines all at... More 

Helpful?
Thank William T
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2017

I have visited several Wetherspoon establishments and would certainly recommend this one. Food is good and hot. Staff seem to be a higher standard than some I have visited.

Helpful?
Thank Morgankane1
Hereford
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

Doom Bar and cheesecake, fab. Comfortable chair, great beer and good food, served with a smile what more could you ask for

Helpful?
Thank John C
Bristol
Level Contributor
152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Still one of the better spoons friendly staff good drinks and good value food . It is a quite more relaxing spoons and always worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G

Travellers who viewed The Mail Rooms also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Mail Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gloucester Road | HR9 5BS, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5BS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Ross-on-Wye
  • Phone Number: 01989760920

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Mail Rooms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?