We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Harry Ramsden's

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
11-12 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DU, England
+44 1493 330444
Website
Today
09:00 - 20:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 09:00 - 20:00
Fri - Sat 09:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

581 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 580: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my wife popped in for fish and chips Friday eve, was very quiet as the weather was horrible. The staff were friendly and very welcoming. The food was quick to arrive and was very good.. We will be back next time we visit great Yarmouth..

Helpful?
Thank Adam G
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this review

Dear Adam G Thank you for a great review! We look forward to you visiting us again soon!! The Harry's Team - Great Yarmouth More 

Norwich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

M25 South Mimms services. Very good fish and chips meal. Fast, pleasant service. Ideal when you don't want to wait a long time for service.

Helpful?
Thank Ron P
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review! Look forward to seeing you again soon. Harrys Team More 

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just passing so called in for a piece of cod.Took about seven minutes.Staff were quite pleasant but the fish was nothing special.Rather expensive I thought but maybe I,m old fashioned.

Helpful?
Thank Goron58
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this review

Dear Goron58 Thanks for your review, we do like to cook our fish to order to ensure the best quality at all times. The Team- Great Yarmouth More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

staff really good but food tasteless and half frozen been here before same results so will not be comigagain

Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this review

Dear Ian M Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. My appologies we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit. I will look in to what went wrong on your visit. Kind Regards The Harrys Team- Great Yarmouth More 

Wymondham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Not just a fish'n chip Restaurant! Lots of variety, delicious food, quick service with a smile. and a glass of Pimms with lemonade. We three Seniors enjoyed our first visit to Harry Ramsden's in Great Yarmouth. There may be an abundance of chippy's in this seaside town, however; I guarantee you they will not give you the quality that we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wymondhamchicita
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this review

Dear Wymondhamchicita, Thank you so much for your awsome review! Look forward to seeing you again soon. The Harrys Team- Great Yarmouth More 

Irthlingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Fantastic- they couldn't do enough for us and amended my dinner to fit my dietary needs. Absolutely fab service and so welcoming; great atmosphere and so friendly. Will be back, thanks so much for your welcoming attitude; it was so appreciated.

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie C
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this review

Dear Charlie C Thank you so much for your fabulous review! Im glad we were able to help you. We look forward to seeing you agin soon! The Harrys Team- Great Yarmouth More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Fish and chips on the seafront on a bright autumn afternoon should be idyllic but it was all spoilt by the quality / price and quantity of a meal from Harry Ramsden's the fish was minuscule, the chips tasted of lard and the batter was half cooked leaving a floury taste on the fish. Spent just over £27 and about... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlanDavison59
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this review

Hi there thank you for your feebback. i am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit. Perhaps you would like to contact me to give me some more info at kyle.miller@bvlretail.com Many Thanks The Harrys Team - Great Yarmouth More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016

Popped in for lunch today to see what all the fuss was about. It was sure busy at the time we arrived a few people complaining about the wait. We sat in the window and ordered our drinks which came along soon enough. We placed our food and to be honest it did not seem to take all that long... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cords8
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this review

Dear Cords8 Thanks you for your recent feedback. Both our regular and large portions of fish are cut to weight daily, but due to the nature of the fish the appearance of size can vary. I am glad you enjoyed the extra bread and butter that we do not charge for and also appreciate your comments on the efficient service.... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We both had Cod and chips The fish was not the best batter leathery The chips were very poor not what we expected from Harry's as we had eaten there before, 2 med cod chips peas and 1 slice of bread and butter,2 teas and a glass of 7 up just under £28 not good and very expensive.

Helpful?
Thank stephen c
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this review

Dear Stephen C, My absolute apologies that your meal did not live up to our usual high standards. I will be sure to fully investigate what went wrong on your visit and make and necessary changes. Your feedback is incredibly valuable to us. Warm Regards The Harry's Team - Great Yarmouth More 

Felsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016

As it was out of season it was very quite. Although very pleasant atmosphere. waitresses were efficient and friendly. The food arrived very quickly. This fish ,cod, as always was very white and the batter very crisp.

Helpful?
Thank delboy2525
Harry R, Manager at Harry Ramsden's, responded to this review

Hi delboy2525, Thanks for such an awesome review! Hopefully you will come and visit us again soon. The Harry's Team - Great Yarmouth More 

Travellers who viewed Harry Ramsden's also viewed

Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk
 

Been to Harry Ramsden's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, British
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 20:00
Monday
09:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 20:00
Thursday
09:00 - 20:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11-12 Marine Parade, Great Yarmouth NR31 6DU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  Great Yarmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1493 330444
Description
Harry Ramsden's serve the same great quality fish and chips today that they have been since 1928. The brand was established 80 years ago, when Harry Ramsden opened his first takeaway store in a hut in Guiseley. His top-quality fish and chips brought people from near and far and it wasn't long before Harry's became the most famous fish and chip shop brand in the world. The fish is freshly prepared in Harry's kitchens daily and has that distinctive flavour revered the world over. The menu includes the world-famous battered fish with its closely guarded secret recipe, as well as an extensive choice of mouth-watering options and a fantastic children's menu, to satisfy all the family. There are 13 Harry's restaurants across the United Kingdom, from seaside locations such as Blackpool and Bournemouth to high street restaurants and Southampton city centres, so you're never far from a Harry's.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harry Ramsden's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?