We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

No 7 Bistro

7 The Square | Grantown-On-Spey, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HG, Scotland
+44 1479 872087
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good32%
  • Average17%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“seafood platter” (13 reviews)
“steak” (18 reviews)
“pate” (7 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Seafood, British, Scottish, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 The Square | Grantown-On-Spey, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HG, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us had a meal here. While there was nothing actually wrong with the food, there wasn't anything that was particularly memorable about it either!!

Thank Drew186305
Reviewed 1 week ago

Slick and friendly service in pleasant if a little dark surroundings. Portion sizes were perfect for us and the food was fresh and well cooked. Only one wine by the glass offered, but can recommend the white.

Thank bramble40
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I went to No 7 while staying in the area. They were able to accommodate 6 of us w/ relatively short notice. Service was great. Food was FANTASTIC! Some of the best fish and chips I've ever had. Ingredients were fresh, food...More

Thank Kristi J
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing food and service in this small but energy filled restaurant right on the square. Friendly and accommodating— but primarily serves visiting tourists to town

Thank exBostonian
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled across no 7 in passing and were so impressed with our lunch that we came back for supper. Food was spot on, especially the Thai and fish dishes. Service top notch. Cannot praise more highly

Thank emsbrook
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff & very efficient. Great seafood chowder, lamb and wonderful desserts. Nice wines by the glass as well.

Thank Tom T
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Brilliant place to eat, food and serice were both excellent on main street so within easy walking distance from B&B

Thank Nodrog3559
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went expecting a good range of fish dishes, plus a vegetarian choice and were not disappointed. The seafood platter was a delight. The wine list was ok, but not wide-ranging (and possibly a little overpriced). Nice service too.

Thank Azalea55
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having dined in "No 7" many times and having always received excellent quality food which has been prepared and presented to the highest levels, having always been served by very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient waiting staff we were stunned to read the review by "Nick6277"...More

6  Thank nessy22121
Suzanne W, Owner at No 7 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind words - much appreciated by all of us at No7. Regards, Suzanne

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The food was overpriced, tasted like it was ready meals from Sainsbury’s, the mashed potatoes tasted like they came from a box, the steak was thin cheap and grey as well as over cooked. the servers were slow and rude the atmosphere was poor and...More

1  Thank Nick6277
Suzanne W, Owner at No 7 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us. We did offer to replace both meals but you didn't want to do that.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Grant Arms Hotel
817 reviews
.10 km away
Ravenscourt House
51 reviews
.14 km away
Ben Mhor Hotel
140 reviews
.22 km away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
347 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Restaurants
High St. Merchants
146 reviews
.30 km away
The Craig Bar
785 reviews
.30 km away
The Wee Puffin
373 reviews
.12 km away
Macleans Bakery
250 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Bookmark Bookshop
82 reviews
.16 km away
Anagach Woods
278 reviews
.19 km away
The High St. Merchants
56 reviews
.30 km away
Grantown Museum
88 reviews
.23 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ashley G
31 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Suzanne W | Property representative |
If we are quiet and have one of the corner tables free, we sometimes accept a small dog. Otherwise - no - as some of our guests are not keen on dogs, others can have an allergy and some just don't like dogs in a restaurant.
1
Vote
teethonaledge
10 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TiaJaney | Reviewed this property |
I don't know...try phoning them! I would imagine so.
0
Votes
Nicola M
13 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Suzanne W |
Yes we do - £10 or £20 vouchers available from Bistro
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$33
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 2:30 PM
5:15 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 2:30 PM
5:15 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 2:30 PM
5:15 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 2:30 PM
5:15 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 2:30 PM
5:15 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 The Square | Grantown-On-Spey, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3HG, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Badenoch and Strathspey  >  Grantown-on-Spey
  • Phone Number: +44 1479 872087
  • E-mail
Description
We offer a range of meals from breakfast to dinner using the best of local produce when possible - fresh fish and shellfish from Sutherlands of Portsoy, beef from Grant's of Speyside and game from local estates - cooked in a comfortable atmosphere at an affordable price. Free WiFi and disabled friendly.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing