We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Inn

Sandy Lane, Chippenham SN15 2PY, England
+44 1380 850403
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good17%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pigs head” (2 reviews)
“trout” (4 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
Sandy Lane, Chippenham SN15 2PY, England
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Our friends had been meaning to visit this pub restaurant for a while and asked us to join them. So glad we did as we were not disappointed. There was a great selection of food to choose from on the menu and we all had...More

Thank NettieSpagettie
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Came here for our anniversary as we liked the food last time we were here. We had the cod cheeks and soup to start- pea and garlic and lamb chops and pork tenderloin for main. Finished with lemon and honey posset . Personally I felt...More

Thank julie B
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My wife and I dropped into the George for lunch one Saturday. It was busy and only booked on route 30 mins before. However, we were greeted by the manager (after she had rightly served others ahead of us). The food was excellent and innovative....More

Thank PTandAL
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Dear customer thank you so very much for your post, you have echoed my sentiments exactly with regards to customers that prefer to post before speaking to the team should things not be completely to their satisfaction. we welcome the opportunity to correct as we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had family visiting and were doing the sightseeing thing... driving through Sandy Lane, we spotted The George (where we've been for drinks only in the past)...it was 1:30 and we had 6 hungry adults...no reservations, but a 10 minute wait while...More

Thank Christina R
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Dear Christina thank you for such a lovely review and taking the time to post. it is not very often that customers feel they should congratulate but it is so very welcome for all the tam to hear what a great job they do We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We've just returned from lunch at the George and could not be happier with the meal or service. All three courses were of an excellent standard. It's our third visit and everything has always been perfect. Can't wait to visit again.More

Thank Finlays_folks
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Finley _Folks It is a compete pleasure to welcome you to the George Inn, Sandy Lane. Your comments are very much appreciated by both myself and the team. They all work really hard to make each guest feel welcome and strive for perfect service and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'm not an active trip-advisor user.. in fact, I had to create an account on here to rate this place as I was beyond disappointed with tonight's experience. Begrudgingly.. I'm writing a negative review... I've been in the hospitality and customer service industry for ten...More

8  Thank FrancescaEmma44
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Travelling from a day in Bath to a weekend in London and looking for interesting places on the way. Came to Sandy Lane over 30 years ago and remembered The George. Needless to say it had changed but it's recent refurbishment is nicely done. We...More

Thank Paul R
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Hi Paul thank you so much for the review, it was very nice to meet you and your family. I do hope the journey to London wasn't too painful. We are pleased you like the changes and trust you will come and visit again Kind...More

Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

A disappointing visit, despite good reviews. It must've changed hands or lost a good chef or two. Lovely setting, beautiful old building. We sat in the bar with the dog which lacked much atmosphere on a Thursday afternoon, bad music, and sitting at a table...More

1  Thank Ruby C
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for the time you have taken to post your comments. I am truly disappointed that your did not enjoy your visit to the George as we we work hard to deliver great food and service to all our guests. I understand that...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017

We walked 10 miles to reward ourselves with Sunday lunch and a couple of pints on 09/04/2017. I am awarding the 1 star for the location only. At £14:00 at head this is what you get - a modest lunch comprising of 2 small slices...More

6  Thank ShelleyBarnes
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Shelly forgive the late response, however we have been as usual very busy here at the George Inn. Sunday Lunch is famed here and we are often fully booked on Sunday so well done for getting a table post walk. Your time taken to post...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We drive by this pub on a regular basis and finally decided to stop in for a quick bite to eat. We were barely even greeted by the bar staff who continued to lack any sort of personality, not only with us, but other visitors....More

1  Thank clpps2012
Helen D, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments. We have a wide range of dishes on the menu from small light bar bites, beef and ale pie, ham, eggs and hand cut chips to more seasonal dishes on the restaurant menu such as pork tenderloin, fish, burgers....More

Nearby Restaurants
Bowood Treehouse Cafe
48 reviews
2.07 km away
The Greyhound
314 reviews
2.96 km away
Fay's Bistro
211 reviews
4.39 km away
The Coconut
212 reviews
3.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
11th Hour Escape Rooms Limited
62 reviews
1.82 km away
Bowood House and Gardens
343 reviews
2.00 km away
Cherhill White Horse and Monument
72 reviews
4.26 km away
Lacock Abbey
930 reviews
4.49 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
jo w
The landlords name
23 February 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Helen D | Property representative |
Hi The owners name is Helen Kind regards Team George
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$31
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
00:00 - 23:00
00:00 - 23:00
00:00 - 23:00
00:00 - 23:00
00:00 - 23:00
00:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sandy Lane, Chippenham SN15 2PY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Chippenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1380 850403
  • E-mail
The George Inn is a lovely little pub/restaurant nestled in Sandy Lane amonst the most beautiful little thatched cottages. The Pub has views across the Bowood Estate from the recently refurbished dining room with log fires there is always a warm welcome from the New Owners. the cuisine is classic British with a modern twist.