We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lysley Arms

London Road | Pewsham, Chippenham SN15 3RU, England
+44 1249 652864
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good27%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (11 reviews)
“sunday roast” (11 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
London Road | Pewsham, Chippenham SN15 3RU, England
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The food is normal English food in a pub. Roast beef, Yorkshire pudding, roast potatoes, ham, fried eggs, scampi were all cooked nicely. The portions were quite satisfying. Service was attentive and very pleasant. Prices were good too: 3 plates and 3 drinks for just...More

Thank Supershape
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Found this pub by accident, and glad I did. The waiting staff were VERY good. Attentive, helpful and all with a pleasant smile. The food is VERY good and worth finding this pub as the prices are reasonable and there are deals on some menu...More

Thank Bilbo B
Jean P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and recommendation of our team and menu following your recent chance visit to The Lysley Arms.

Reviewed 3 days ago

Had a meal with my partner,and a drink i had a cajun style chicken burger with chips and salad,my good lady had a salad,we both had a drink aswell,lovely staff and an enjoyable meal

Thank marc_witten
Jean P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and so pleased to hear your appreciation for the Lysley team and an enjoyable meal with us.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having passed the Lesley Arms on many occasions we decided to try it out. Massive if not a bit muddy carpark. A quaint olde worlde feeling inside. What a warm, genuine and attentive welcome as soon as we walked in the door. It's a pity...More

Thank lavabread
Jean P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

We are glad to know you appreciated a warm welcome on your recent visit to Lysley, but so sorry to hear that your request for a portion of new potatoes was not met. The front of house staff are generally appreciated for an attentive cheerful...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Returned again with a large group of friends. Service was friendly and attentive. Great choice on the menu. Some of the group taking up the £12 for two courses offer. There was also a great choice on the specials board. Loved the new editions to...More

Thank pieeyedjoker
Jean P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and, as always, we look forward to welcoming you back. Glad you appreciated the recent additions to the gin shelf......!!!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We popped in here for a drink on the way back from visiting elsewhere having spotted it on the way past. It was very welcoming and we will definitely be returning next time we are in the area to try out their food.

Thank Elaine P
Jean P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to know you found The Lysley so welcoming and we look forward to your return when you are next in the area.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After visiting in January and finding the food mediocre and service poor, we decided to give the Lysley Arms a second chance. What a difference. Waitresses very attentive from start to finish and food very well cooked and well presented Reasonably priced at £113 for...More

Thank geoffgrannon
Jean P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review and we are indeed sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction when you made a previous visit in January. Unfortunately, we are unable to trace any problems encountered four months back, and would, of course, always hope to put right...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

2nd time here to eat since new owners. The food is proper home cooked and prices reasonable for a non chain pub. Nice country pub atmosphere and good range of beers too. Would rather spend a little more for a nice meal here than a...More

Thank DarthGolf
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

We much appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to The Lysley.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family an I visited the Lesley arms this afternoon for lunch. We had a couple of issues with our food, nothing which wasn't to be expected due to how busy they were and how hard the two waitress were working. One issue meant my...More

2  Thank megben0915
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The food here is excellent and the staff very friendly but it is a bit pricey. We would definitely visit again in the futureMore

1  Thank sarahbV2359IS
Richard P, Owner at The Lysley Arms, responded to this review

Your review and time given is much appreciated by the Team here at Lysley and we look forward to welcoming you back. In view of your comments on price, I wonder if you have taken into account our popular Two Course £12 Special Menu? Do...More

Nearby Restaurants
Bowood Treehouse Cafe
48 reviews
2.47 km away
The Gladstone Arms
696 reviews
3.39 km away
The Dumb Post Inn
301 reviews
3.12 km away
Rising Sun
262 reviews
3.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bowood House and Gardens
348 reviews
2.89 km away
Lacock Abbey
933 reviews
4.02 km away
11th Hour Escape Rooms Limited
62 reviews
5.10 km away
Fox Talbot Museum at Lacock Abbey
469 reviews
4.05 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Joy R
Has the landlord changed in the last 6 months?
14 December 2016|
Response from Jean P | Property representative |
Yes I am the new landlord, I have been here 3 months.
Debbie F
Has the evening menu changed since the new management took over??
10 April 2016|
Response from MKO1948 | Reviewed this property |
It's similar to the old menu but worth noting hat the service has "Dropped Off" a bit so don't go there if you are tight on time
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$13 - US$15
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 - 22:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: London Road | Pewsham, Chippenham SN15 3RU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Wiltshire  >  Chippenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1249 652864
  • E-mail
Family run Pub Restaurant serving homemade British Food with Vegetarian and Gluton Free options.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing