We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bickley Mill Inn

Stoneycombe, Newton Abbot Tq125ln, England
+44 1803 873201
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“fish cakes” (12 reviews)
“chicken pie” (3 reviews)
“scallops” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stoneycombe, Newton Abbot Tq125ln, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We attended a 60th Birthday party at Bickley Mill Inn, as we live quite close in Shaldon we still decided to make it special and book a room for the night, and we were not disappointed in any aspect. The restaurant was nice, the function...More

Thank Alan R
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the party that you were attending. We hope to welcome you back soon for another peaceful stay.

Reviewed 3 January 2018

My first visit here & I was really impressed! First rate service & amazing food! It didn't just look good, it tasted fantastic. The staff were on the ball, no hanging around between courses. I would definitely eat there again.

Thank Jacks1961
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review. It's great that you really enjoyed your first visit to us, we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 14 December 2017

We really enjoyed staying at the hotel, so it was such a pity that our dinner was a bit disappointing. I asked if it was possible to have my fish without the chorizo. They checked it with the chef and said yes. When it arrived...More

Thank rickrover
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. It is very unfortunate that our chef got this dish wrong for you in the first instance. I am glad that this matter was fixed for you. I am sorry to hear about the vegetables, I'm sure the team member...More

Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

We have only been here a few times. We loved it before. We where shown to our table. It then took over 30 minuted for a waitress to take our order. We then had to wait a further 30 minutes for the meal to arrive....More

Thank Ianbbest48
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us. It is very odd that you had to wait 30 minutes for a waitress to see you as we always have designated staff...More

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We had the delight to be at our friends son wedding in July at The Bickley Mill Inn. Night before the wedding we all had a delicious pre wedding meal in the restaurant and then on the Saturday we were there for the post wedding...More

Thank ChrisThorne66
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed all the food and festivities of the wedding and days surrounding. We are glad that you had such a wonderful time.

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Delicious food and good service. My Husbands cheesecake was especially tasty as was my apple pie. I would have liked to have had more space in the restaurant as I felt everyone was slightly squashed in! But a lovely meal, will visit again.

Thank TravelNewbieee
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the desserts! We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed 18 October 2017

We held our wedding here on September 15th and from the moment we booked, Louise could not have been more helpful and friendly when guiding us through the maze that is planning a wedding! On the actual day, the staff took wonderful care of us...More

Thank Louise W
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are so glad that you had such a great time at the wedding. It was wonderful to host such a lovely wedding and we hope you will return for us so we can...More

Reviewed 17 October 2017

Lovely weekend spent at The Bickley Mill Inn to celebrate my Godson and his new Bride's perfect day. The whole experience was really enjoyable. Food, delicious and served hot ( always a plus for me), staff very friendly and accommodation very stylish and spotlessly clean....More

1  Thank Ian H
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your time at the wedding at the weekend. We hope to see you again some time in the future.

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Having eaten at the Bickley mill several times we were really disappointed this evening with the poor quality of food and service. we were a party of 9 adults and 3 children and due to the number in our party we were asked to pre...More

Thank Idealdave
James W, Manager at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We will take all of your feedback into consideration. Firstly I would just like to say that it is a shame that you felt that you needed to write a poor review when you had made your complaint to us...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017

We tried Sunday Lunch before attempting an evening meal. Its a historic old building, tile floors and corniced ceilings but our table was more scruffy than quaint.Though both meals were piping hot when they arrived, we did seem to wait quite a while for them....More

Thank SusieBaby_10
James W, Owner at Bickley Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for your review. Thank you for your feedback. If possible, I would like to know which table you were sat at so I can ensure that none of our table are 'scruffy'. I feel all of our tables are well kept and cannot...More

PreviousNext
12345628
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Newton Abbot
Bulleigh Park Farm
35 reviews
2.61 km away
Fairmount House Hotel
1 review
5.48 km away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Hotel
755 reviews
5.58 km away
Travelodge Torquay
637 reviews
5.70 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wellington Inn
160 reviews
1.82 km away
Poppies Restaurant and Shop
10 reviews
2.77 km away
The Union Inn
132 reviews
3.25 km away
The Church House Inn
262 reviews
3.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Andrew, Ipplepen
5 reviews
1.98 km away
Decoy Country Park
125 reviews
3.48 km away
Prickly Ball Farm
227 reviews
2.30 km away
Newton Abbot Town & GWR Museum
59 reviews
4.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Glynis1953
28 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Hughcoram | Reviewed this property |
Yes if they are kept on a lead
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Validated Parking
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stoneycombe, Newton Abbot Tq125ln, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Newton Abbot
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 873201
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing