We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thatched Inn

) #9 of 105 Restaurants in Bideford $$ - $$$ , British,
Abbotsham, Bideford EX39 5BA, England
+44 1237 471321
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (42 reviews)
“pie” (12 reviews)
“mixed grill” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Abbotsham, Bideford EX39 5BA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a meal here in July. The place was OK and the staff helpful providing good service.Food was OK but seemed to differ from the web site. Our main complaint is that it is a series of small rooms and we were pitched in with...More

1  Thank Inforep
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here for a family get together evening meal. Having read the good reviews I was quite disappointed. Staff were nice & friendly but got 2 of our orders wrong. For what we had I thought it was fairly pricey. I had a burger &...More

Thank Elaine G
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lunch time Meal for two 🍲 Fish curry and scampi 👍 Beautiful food, vert attentive and friendly staff 👍Well recommended 👍

Thank garyrigg62
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This pubs interior and exterior are amazing. The people and the service is brilliant. Dont pass this place without trying it. The food defeated me which is a hard job too do as im a big eater. It was really delicious and relaxing.

Thank Jamie G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have been thatched many times nd refuse to go now until they update the menu it's boring nd bland now need something new and fresh it's always a pleasure eating there just the food is now nothing special

1  Thank Corey J
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are so lucky to have this pub nearby. Staff are lovely, there is a great selection of drinks, and a beautifully done garden. The restaurant is usually busy so best to book!

Thank Abi M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a lovely meal last summer our party of six revisited the Thatched Inn. We didn't book but were accommodated. We had a lovely spacious table and the service was excellent. We all had great main meals and most went for a dessert too. The...More

Thank wendy_biddle
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Decided to follow the brown road signs one night expecting some old thached inn in the middle of nowhere , instead it was in the middle of the village surrouded by modern day houses . The greeting was ok but just did not feel welcome...More

Thank JohneMK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live in Bideford and had been to the Thatched Inn for leisurely drinks and food. We asked Mark if we could have our wedding reception here. In June 2017 Mark and the staff made our wedding day perfect. Nothing was too much trouble, everything...More

Thank Ray R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

10 of us had an evening meal at The Thatched Inn, I had the fish pie which was very nice, others enjoyed the fish curry, scampi & halloumi burger, the service was good, I would definitely go back if visiting the area again.

Thank Deborah C
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pig on the Hill
805 reviews
1.60 km away
Crealock Arms
104 reviews
1.25 km away
The Cornish Bakery
72 reviews
1.34 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Big Sheep.
1,931 reviews
.35 km away
Atlantic Village Outlet Shopping
280 reviews
1.30 km away
The Ultimate Adventure Centre
351 reviews
.76 km away
North Devon Wake Park
38 reviews
.96 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Clare B
23 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Wurzelm | Reviewed this property |
Not sure. Sorry
0
Votes
jhicks198
27 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Jannerbloke |
Do you have disabled access? Do you have free wifi? Do you allow children and or well behaved dogs? What are your opening days and hours? Do you bake all your own food? Do you take part in the 'suspended coffee... More
-1
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Abbotsham, Bideford EX39 5BA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Torridge  >  Bideford
  • Phone Number: +44 1237 471321
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing