We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spice Island Restaurant

9 Market Place, Barnard Castle DL12 8NF, England
+44 1833 630575
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good15%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (36 reviews)
“poppadoms” (21 reviews)
“rice” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Market Place, Barnard Castle DL12 8NF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

No surprise that the chef is scooping numerous awards. Excellent food and great to see authentic dishes rather than generic sugary , salty food a lot of curry houses offer. Looking forward to next visit!

Thank Ciaran R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided on a last minute meal and went to this great restaurant. Not the first visit but this confirmed our last impression of superb spices and fresh tastes. Obviously freshly prepared. Great service too.

Thank Silversurfer020
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have been to Spice Island in Barnard Castle many times, each experience has been constantly good, the staff are attentative and alert, the food is fresh and cooked to a high standard and is delicious. The portions are a good size.

Thank GARY M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been a big fan of this restaurant for a good few years as dinning customers, we got a take away last Thursday after returning from holiday and craving spice, can honestly say it was best take away curry we have ever had, one...More

Thank Adrian B
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Decided to change venue for a takeaway curry, went to Barney Castle for a change. Good exciting menu, had a lovely hot rice dish, and one of the best Tarka dhal dishes Ive tasted in a long time. Only downside was I had to wait...More

Thank Bruce J
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely meal excellent service and not over priced definitely go back staff brilliant lovely clean restaurant

Thank Mandy O
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Arrived fri evening for dinner. Table for 4 no problem. Excellent choice of interesting house dishes. We had 2 mild and 2 really good and hot. Good service. Good food. Reasonable price wine. Spent £100 for 4 inc drinks Great

Thank David B
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Phoned for a take away very disappointed. Korma tasteless yellow puke and why put g on garlic nan when couldn't taste or smell it. Tikka masala was so week even the dogs ate it, fit only for animals horrid meal

6  Thank Caroline T
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

The service was really slow the orders were incorrect when finally arrived The food came and was cold meat was very chewy would not return seems to be worst Indian I have had in a while Disappointed

6  Thank burnsy1981
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

After having spent a full day out with the family,castle visiting and shopping we were starving so asked a local shop owner where they would recommend,they gave us two choices,an Italian or spice island,we chose Spice island and by god was it good,we were advised...More

Thank Beergoggles1971
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
498 reviews
.26 km away
Fish and Chips 149
283 reviews
.34 km away
Bengal Merchant
457 reviews
.08 km away
Valentine's Restaurant
343 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Bowes Museum
1,312 reviews
.54 km away
Barnard Castle
565 reviews
.21 km away
Cross Lanes Organic Farm
191 reviews
.90 km away
St Mary's Church
13 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
granieannie
7 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Zak A | Property representative |
Hi thank you for your enquiry. it depends on what items you order, we use local lamb which comes from local butchers so it is not. Our Chicken is halal
0
Votes
REDJT
26 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Zak A | Property representative |
I'm afraid we don't have any kids meals, however our meals come in dishes so are very easily shareable. We also have an extensive starter range which many people opt for. Many thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$31
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Market Place, Barnard Castle DL12 8NF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Barnard Castle
  • Phone Number: +44 1833 630575
Description
There is no doubt that most visitors to Spice Island return again and again to sample its outstanding cuisine. Fine food is one of life's most exquisite pleasures - for you to enjoy and savour whenever possible. Such is the philosophy of the Spice Island restaurant, with Head Chef Babul Miah taking great care, pride and satisfaction in creating the finest cuisine.The Menu takes you on a journey across the different regions of Indian Subcontinent to present a superb combination of vibrant dishes. And from the many regional variations of Indian cooking that provide a wide choice of cooking styles, Babul has matched each dish with a style to bring out the distinct flavours and fragrances of the dish to tantalise the senses.Spice Island is situated in the heart of Barnard Castle and was established in 1995. The site was completely transformed in May 2006, the designer interior strikes the right balance between contemporary and informal, overall the effect is tranquil and completely relaxing.Spice Island Manager Zak Ahmed and his staff are passionate about their work. Their knowledge and experience combine to create a unique establishment.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing