We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gourmet

And 37 HIGH Street 5-7 the Shambles, Wetherby LS22 6NG, England
+44 1937 586031
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good26%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
And 37 HIGH Street 5-7 the Shambles, Wetherby LS22 6NG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Nothing was any trouble, the staff were really helpful and friendly. The food was excellent and good value for money... Will be telling all my friends about this excellent cafe...

1  Thank Chris B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very tasty stop off en-route north. Very friendly staff even offered a bowl of water for our dog. Lovely fresh coffee (even Mums latte was spot on, she is very particular). The home made fruit cake and Wensleydale was amazing!! Worth a try, very...More

2  Thank TG2912
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant cafe for cyclists to stop for a bite to eat. The only place we choose when calling in Wetherby. Can highly recommend the cheese on toast

2  Thank Julian C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All the food is freshly made and served quickly and efficiently by very friendly staff. They make everyone feel very welcome. There are tables and chairs outside for hot days and the inside is very clean and the decor is very tasteful.

2  Thank weekender16
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

4 of us stopped for breakfast and found The Gourmet by Chance. Very friendly helpful staff and a full gluten free breakfast for my wife Excellent breakfast highly recommended

2  Thank Trevor W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent cafe with helpful efficient staff. The food is freshly prepared with many homemade items including chutney. The portions were generous for our lunch items.

2  Thank joseph850
Reviewed 1 June 2017

The breakfast was good and fresh tasting and the service from staff was very good and they were friendly and sociable. Good place to eat if you're out in Wetherby

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 7 Stub App Tablet
1  Thank JTGaming
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Caught with time on my hands I had a wander around Wetherby. Found a really nice cafe with good non costa coffee (hard to find someone who hasn't given in to the franchise) and had a full English breakfast sat on the cobbles street outside....More

2  Thank Jonnieb1701
Reviewed 27 April 2017

The coffee was good and hot and the waitress was friendly. The place was busy indoors, so I sat outside but four of the five tables were dirty and remained cluttered with the leftovers of previous customers for the duration of my stay.More

Thank zamackie
Karen B, Owner at The Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Hello and thank you for your review. When you arrived at the Gourmet, we were particularly busy and had had a large group of cyclists outside. I'm sorry that we didn't get to clear the outside tables as quickly as we would normally hope to....More

Reviewed 16 April 2017

On Saturday 15 April I visited le Gormet in Wetherby. The milk jug for the tea was filthy with a dark yellow dried sediment on the inside. Quite off putting. Will think twice before going again.More

Thank tonyae778
Karen B, Owner at The Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Thank you very much for your review. I am so sorry that your milk was served in a dirty jug. I was shocked when I read your review and I immediately checked all of our milk jugs. I found that two of our jugs had...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Wetherby Whaler
654 reviews
.06 km away
Sir Dukes Wetherby
810 reviews
.07 km away
Mango
405 reviews
.08 km away
Sant Angelo
1,415 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stockeld Park
1,138 reviews
3.09 km away
Spofforth Castle
50 reviews
5.14 km away
Tockwith Karting
7 reviews
6.31 km away
Real Simulation
22 reviews
7.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Deborah M
16 June 2017|
Answer
Response from d M | Property representative |
a choice of ham, cheese or egg mayo sandwich, an oven warmed fruit scone with jam and cream and a pot of Yorkshire gold tea or cup of freshly ground coffee.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$9
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 16:00
Thursday
09:00 - 16:00
Friday
09:00 - 16:00
Saturday
09:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: And 37 HIGH Street 5-7 the Shambles, Wetherby LS22 6NG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  West Yorkshire  >  Wetherby
  • Phone Number: +44 1937 586031
Description
Every Dish Is Cooked To Order From Locally Sourced Ingredients. Full English Breakfast Served All Day. Homemade Soups Freshly Made Daily. Sandwiches Freshly Made To Order Using Fresh Bread Delivered Daily. Daily Specials Board. Freshly Ground Coffees. Leaf Teas. Smoothies.and Milk Shakes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing